We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, service was nothing to brag about” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Ashland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Quality Inn Ashland
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, service was nothing to brag about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed here for a wedding in early October. The location is great with beautiful views right on the lake. The wedding reception was at the restaurant right across the parking lot, so it was very convenient, we could walk there and back. We had asked to get an early check in on Saturday, and were even willing to pay extra for it, so we would have time to change before the wedding. However, they refused to help in any way and were not particularily friendly about it. Since we were coming from 6 hours away we decided just to book it for an extra night the Friday before. The rooms were fine, a pretty standard Best Western. They had a nice indoor pool area, if you have children or are interested in that. If you aren't interested in the pool, I would suggest requesting a room on the outside of the building, as all the rooms that opened to the pool area were incredibly hot and humid.

Room Tip: If you aren't interested in the pool request a room that is on the outside of the building. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nbtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    44
    32
    31
    12
See reviews for
46
64
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

The room was spacious and comfortable. The amenities were very nice and the view was stunning. This place has a lot of potential to be an excellent hotel. My husband and I enjoyed the hospitality of the 2 young ladies that were working the evening we checked in, but not real impressed with the rather cranky young lady that worked the next morning. Grounds could use a little clean up after a wedding reception that was held the Saturday night before we checked in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WannaGo2Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The motel is in a nice location with beautiful views and a very nice pool facility. However, the staff and management is terrible! They promised a discount room rate and did not honor it. They were simply rude when it came to customer interaction as though the customer was a pain to them. We had continual problems with the card keys. We continually couldn't get in the room and had to have the keys reprogrammed a couple time per day. I've never had this much trouble with card keys at any other motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harppy30341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Not the first time in ashland and this hotel is far superior to the hotel listed number 1 in ashland on this site, if you want great views and food STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westmc9th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison WI
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

Having driven by here many times on previous trips to the area, I was expecting something a little nicer on the inside at what appears to be a cozy lodge. But the service and rooms were a disappointment. It has a convenient location, especially for travel up the peninsula to Bayfield or points west, and it has great views of the bay from most rooms.

Staff we encountered seemed indifferent and untrained; I got a general sense of the facility being run by people inexperienced with this industry who perhaps have never stayed at a hotel themselves. We arrived early --1pm -- and the person at the desk simply said to come back at 2pm since that is when check in started; no apology or attempt at accommodation. So we returned at 2:30 and the room still wasn't ready, but same desk clerk had to be summoned from the adjacent lounge, and seemed to have no idea what to do. Here's a suggestion: offer to call the customer when their room is ready, if you send them away in this situation. Or check them in but have them return at a specific time to pick up the key.

The reservation process wasn't terribly reassuring either. You have to call by phone to book a room; there is no option to book online and their web site doesn't show any prices (we paid $80/night). There was no written confirmation sent, so take it on faith that they have your reservation set up.

I was also offended by the religious literature prominently displayed on the counter. Another strange thing was a lobby full of displays of more than a dozen varieties of smoked sausage sticks, but oddly, none of it was local. Or even from the midwest.

We had a second floor room with a nice view of the lake. The interior was very plain and well, boring. The floor was very uneven, and even had a spot that was slightly depressed such that I feared stepping there for fear of falling through the ceiling. Seriously. There was lots of highway noise coming through the front door. The bed didn't compare to the quality of higher-end hotels like Westin, but it was adequate. Free internet is advertised but I didn't use it.

The bathroom was average size, had great lighting and good water pressure. The exhaust fan was noisy to the point of being annoying. Fortunately, there was a second light over the mirror you could use without turning the fan on.

There is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel but we didn't get a chance to eat there: it was closed for a private event, on a Saturday night. We drove into town and had a great meal at Second Street Bistro.

Room Tip: Request Lake view, but not on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
7.5 km away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
2.7 km away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
26.5 km away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
26.2 km away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Ashland? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Ashland

Property: Quality Inn Ashland
Address: 30600 US Highway 2, Box 24, Ashland, WI 54806 (Formerly Ashland Lake Superior Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Ashland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ashland
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,085 - ₹ 12,125
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Ashland 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashland Lake Superior Lodge is nestled in the beautiful northwoods of Wisconsin where you will find one of the most scenic, relaxing, year round vacation pleasures in Apostle Island Country. The lodge was completely rebuilt and newly refurnished in 2006. Experience our distinctive accommodations, new facilities, and excellent food. This is snow country in the winter for skiers, snowmobilers and other winter sport enthusiasts. In the summer enjoy boating, fishing, the Apostle Islands, golfing, tennis and other summer activities. The Ashland Lake Superior Lodge is located on US Highway 2, one mile west of Ashland, Wisconsin, The Lake Superior shoreline is only 100 feet from many of our guest rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Ashland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Superior Hotel Ashland
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing