We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Great room, Friendly Staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn Appleton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Appleton
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, Great room, Friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This was a very good Fairfield Inn, and the location was very handy to many eating establishments. The Machine Shed next door was in walking distance even.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    51
    32
    11
    2
See reviews for
31
17
10
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The room was comfortable and clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Located within walking distance of mall and a few great restaurants. Only complaint was mold on shower caulk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

I was a bit concerned staying at this hotel based on previous reviews. I'm Marriott Gold and usually stay at Courtyards. This was the only Marriott, other than the Residence Inn which was a ridiculous $229 a night (over what my company will pay) in Appleton.

Room was very clean, cleaner than some of the Courtyards I've stayed at. Staff was friendly. Fresh popped popcorn and lemonade when I walked in. Good location right near the mall. Even found a great sushi place (Katsu-Ya) downtown which is not too far.

My only complaint would be that the bed was very uncomfortable. They definitly need to replace the mattress. The walls are thin so you do hear doors closing and people walking. Also no exercise facility but they do have a pool.

Overall it was definitely acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor not to hear people walkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FemBusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

I am a frequent guest of various Marriott properties around the country and have always been very happy with the quality of hotel and the value with Marriott-this hotel was the first time I was not. It is clearly an older property that is not being well maintained. The furniture looked ancient and banged up. The lamps had holes in the shades. The list goes on. The property was clean, but did not live up to my expectations of a Marriott brand hotel and did not measure up to the rate we paid to stay there.

Strangely, there is a laminated letter in the room stating you are required to give this hotel a "9 or 10" on any surveys. It states anything below that is unacceptable and that you are expected to come to the front desk if you plan to give a lower score. I found this letter rude, especially since this hotel was at best a 4 or 5. A property cannot demand a specific score on a survey or travel site to begin with-but this leads me to believe that they are getting low scores regularly and rather than dealing with the issues causing the scores, they are attempting to require theirs guests to improve the scores. Upon checkout, when asked how our stay was, I answered "mediocre" and the girl did not ask for any elaboration. Sorry management, but you are not a 9 or 10 property.

In addition, the hotel lobby is quite tiny. The weekend we stayed there was a large group of guests who took over the entire lobby all weekend long and loudly talked while eating their own snacks all over the place. When we needed a spoon, the desk clerk pointed and directed us to walk through this crowd of people (some sitting on the floor, it was very, very crowded) to retrieve it. She stated it was "a wedding party of something" but whatever it was, it further added to the overall feel of the hotel being trashy and uninviting. The pool area was also taken over.

If in the area, pay the additional $30 or so to stay at the Residence Inn. The location is equally good, but you get the quality of Marriott at that property and that is NOT the case at the Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WITravelers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

I was here for a 3 day stay recently. I had stayed at this hotel previously towards the end of 2010 but reluctantly booked again as it was the only Marriott close to Green Bay. The staff here is far from friendly.

The reason I didn't want to come back here are listed below:

One reason was due to the noise in the rooms. On my previous stay I could hear everything going on from my neighbors above and next to me on both sides. I had brought this up to the front desk and they told me they didn't have anything on a higher floor. Which was fine until a colleague of mine checked in later that day and was on the top floor without even asking. One of the other reasons I didn't like it previously was the dated rooms. Torn wallpaper, flaking ceiling, dusty fixtures were all reasons not to return. The last was housekeeping not changing a coffee stained sheet on the bed.

As for this stay when I checked it I had to bring it to her attention I had asked for a higher floor based on my last stay here.. She says "oh I didn't see that". And says sorry we don't have any 3rd floor rooms. I politely pointed out it was 2:45 and check in was 3:00PM. I asked if there were any rooms coming available as I could wait. She didn't even check and became rude and said no. I then proceeded to my room and then saw the same horror as before. A dated room with damaged walls, furniture, and ceilings. I proceeded to check out early and will not be back here again. Fool me once shame on you, Fool me twice shame on me.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraverler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Appleton hotels
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Appleton
0.2 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Appleton-Fox River Mall
1.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Appleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Appleton-Fox River Mall Area
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
BEST WESTERN Appleton Inn
#10 of 23 in Appleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.2 km away
Residence Inn Appleton
Residence Inn Appleton
#9 of 23 in Appleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Appleton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Appleton

Property: Fairfield Inn Appleton
Address: 132 N Mall Dr, Appleton, WI 54913-8530
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Appleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Appleton
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,288 - ₹ 13,625
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Appleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn Appleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Appleton
Appleton Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing