We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what it is but adequate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maredomus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maredomus Hotel
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Fortaleza
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it is but adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

Fortaleza is generally I found run down. So the hotels follow. And so you can't really expect too much there generally.
The room is adequate and the hotel is adequate. The internet worked fantastically in the room.
Room is quite small and so is tv. View not very pleasant.
As I said Fortaleza is run down and lacking in hotels and so in tourist season,they can shoot up the price. Supply and demand. Unfortunately they don't have the standard to charge those sort of prices.
If you wanted to bring a lady friend back to your room,you will be charged 250 brazilian reals.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabrieltheangel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    177
    93
    21
    8
See reviews for
107
123
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

location is good. breakfast good. rooms clean but not perfect. staff is not really helpful. they are understaffed and always busy. room was small. mine was 3.6 by 3 meters. first surprise - in my reservation i asked a queen bed and i got... 3 twin bed! i mean 3 in a small room. i went downstairs the staff listened but did nothing to help. 2nd surprise - wifi (5 reais) doesnt work for my bb but also for other customers with netbook who were complaining. im not sure if they cancel the charge - i have to check. 3rd surprise - when my friend came with me to stay up for a few hours they asked me to pay for her 250 reais! incredible! i wouldnt recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
379 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

We stayed here for one night while work was being done on our nearby condo. While the exact surrounding streets are not the nicest in the world (e.g., street kids, some beggars, maybe a druggie or prostitute passing by), and in general I might think twice before walking round really late at night, people certainly do, especially as the nightclubs a few blocks away let out, plus you are within a short walk of an okay beach and a few okay restaurants. I felt quite safe in the room and during the day wouldn't hesitate at all to walk anywhere. There are usually many taxis directly across the street by the church.

The rooms are small, but the beds quite adequate. Rooms facing towards the ocean (overlooking a small praça and church and small supermarket) cost more, but also put you away from a busy street in back. Rooftop pool area is quite small,but is a good place from which to watch sunset over the nearby Ponde de Metalica. The buffet brakfast, included in the price, is okay.

Hotel advertises that rooms have Wi-Fi or cable (you get the cable at the front desk). When I checked out I noticed a 5 Reais phone charge and they said it was for the Internet connection. I said nothing about this had been said to me and they took off the charge. Note that all hotels that I know of add a small (1-3 Reais) tourism authority charge, which you can have deleted if you say so (but you need to ask).

This hotel is nothing fancy, but I think it's probably nicer than the small pousadas in the area. There is one newer hotel, Sonata Iracema, down the street, at a slightly higher cost, with somewhat larger rooms but, curiously, smaller beds.

Room Tip: If you want one bed or two, specify in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2008

The hotel was very clean. There was a nice breakfast each morining. The staff was friendly and quick to help with a road trip we had planned to Jeri. There are good restaurants and shops within walking distance. The beach and market are about 10-15 minute walk but there are plenty cabs if you want to ride.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
0.4 km away
Carmel Express Hotel
Carmel Express Hotel
#22 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Praia Centro
Hotel Praia Centro
#21 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Mayor
Hotel Villa Mayor
#5 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Quality Hotel Fortaleza
Quality Hotel Fortaleza
#24 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
0.8 km away
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
#9 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Sonata De Iracema
Hotel Sonata De Iracema
#4 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maredomus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maredomus Hotel

Property: Maredomus Hotel
Address: Avenida Almirante Barroso 1030 | Praia de Iracema, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60060-440, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 96 Hotels in Fortaleza
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,610 - ₹ 8,514
Hotel Class:3 star — Maredomus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maredomus Hotel Fortaleza offers 80 comfortable rooms distributed in 40 beachfront and 40 standard. The apartments at Maredomus Hotel are decorated in soft tones and designed to receive both those who come to ride and for those conducting business. We have a rooftop pool overlooking the sea, sauna, restaurant, and event structure for Wi - Fi in all environments. Maredomus is 5 minutes away from the best restaurants , bars and the hottest clubs in town. BREAKFAST AND WI-FI INCLUDED FOR FREE IN YOUR DAILY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Maredomus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing