We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room, but a few issues with reception staff and restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Brasil Tropical
Ranked #20 of 96 Hotels in Fortaleza
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good room, but a few issues with reception staff and restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The room was great, very efficient air-conditioning units, great refrigerator, 2 full bathrooms, and excellent partial ocean view.

I had a few problems with reception staff who tried to charge my credit card in advance even though the reservation stated that the credit card would be charged in case of no-show (but I checked in around 9:30pm).

The hotel restaurant was a huge disappointment. They had a dinner buffet special running all week days known as "Festival do Camarao", or "Shrimp Festival". What an expensive joke! Next time I will bring loupes with me to be able to find the shrimp. Out of over 12 dishes only one had medium-sized shrimp, all the other were made with a kind of minuscule tasteless shrimp, probably purchased frozen in bulk. All servers were great and helpful, but the restaurant cashier was not a very happy person.....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nontroppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    386
    103
    19
    27
See reviews for
292
212
44
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a great hotel! The rooms have awesome views of the beach and ocean, have a tv/couch area, kitchen, bedroom with a very comfortable bed and a balcony. Staff were very friendly. Roof top pool was a good place to enjoy the heat. The hotel is 1 block from the beach. Anything you need is close by. Fortaleza felt very safe compared to other cities we visited in Brazil. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ApoL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location does not get much better within Fortaleza. It seems everyroom offers an ocean view. The rooms are spacious, and include a small pull out couch/tv area, kitchenette, bedroom and patio. Our room was extremely clean, no musty smells from the AC. The views of the beach and city were just awesome! There was a roof top pool and comfortable chairs to lay in. Breakfast was included when we booked and was one of the best spreads we recieved in Brasil. Staff were very friendly and accomadating. I would highly recommend and would stay again if I ever return. The hotel and beach area in Fortaleza felt extremely safe, the safest we have felt so far in Brasil.

Room Tip: make sure breakfast is included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApoL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caxias do Sul - RS - Brazil
Level Contributor
270 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

The hotel is very well located on Av. Abolição at Meireles area. It is not on Av. Beira Mar but it is a block from the beach, or the flea market that happens everyday from 6 to 9 pm, a handy craft market with a lot of souvenirs to buy, and a place to see.
The service is very good, the staff always helpful. The breakfast is excellent with a great variety of fruits. There is a omelet island that you can also have a tapioca pancake. Breads, cheeses, ham and other good things. The room is nice, nothing fancy, but very practical. A kitchen and a small living room. The living room sofa, that can be converted into a bad, is not so comfortable, but we stay most of the time enjoying the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D'Arrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

Great hotel, everyone tried very hard to make our stay great. Clean, great breakfast, and onsite dining. Pool is a little small but who needs it with so many great beaches near by.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kctravellers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fortaleza hotels
1.0 km away
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
Carmel Magna Praia Hotel
#4 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.9 km away
Comfort Hotel Fortaleza
Comfort Hotel Fortaleza
#11 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Fortaleza Meireles
Mercure Fortaleza Meireles
#29 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Luzeiros
Hotel Luzeiros
#3 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Beira Mar
Hotel Beira Mar
#15 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
2.2 km away
Carmel Express Hotel
Carmel Express Hotel
#24 of 96 in Fortaleza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brasil Tropical? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brasil Tropical

Property: Hotel Brasil Tropical
Address: Avenida da Abolicao 2323 | Meireles, Fortaleza, State of Ceara 60165-075, Brazil (Formerly Nobile Suites Brasil Tropical)
Region: Brazil > State of Ceara > Fortaleza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fortaleza
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fortaleza
#19 Family Hotel in Fortaleza
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,305 - ₹ 7,838
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brasil Tropical 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best in Meireles Beach, Brasil Tropical Hotel is the one chosen by the city's cultural place for productions, such as film and dance festivals and artists coming to perform in Fortaleza. The restaurant has its own attraction and charm. A traditional self-service services for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Location: Located at Meireles Beach, just only one block from the Handicraft Market and meters away from the Metal Bridge and the Dragão do Mar Cultural Centre, a colorful and amazing place full of bars, restaurants, cinemas and theater. Brazil Tropical Hotel hosts a versatile convention centre in a privilegie area for all kind of event that includes 03 meeting rooms that can be divided foa a 200 people capacity. The meeting and conference center also has a support room for secretary and just amazing for small and reserved meetings. Stylish restaurant serving brazilian and internacional cuisine. Our Chefs are award winners and quite prepared to serve the best brazilian and international cuisine in an amazing enviroment, rocked with live music in the dinning time. Breakfast: 06:30am to 10:00am - Sliced bread with butter/jam/honey, cheese, meat, croissants, sandwiches, pastries, rolls, fruit juice and various hot beverages and gourmet show cooking omelette and tapioca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brasil Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nobile Suites Brasil Tropical Hotel Fortaleza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing