We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pousada Villa Carmo
Ranked #83 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We liked this place. The breakfast was very nice, typical brazilian (I think) and the staff was very friendly. They kept my luggage for three weeks when I was travelling around without charge. The room we got was a bit boring without windows, but clean. The view from the breakfast terrace was so nice. the locaion is good in the old part of the town.

Room Tip: maybe ask for room with window?
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Villa Carmo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Last October we spent four days in Salvador at this Pousada. We really recomend it to everybody. The room was very comfortable with fantastic view on the bay, the breakfast delicious and the staff very friendly and helpful especially the owner Luca who gave us a lot of advice about city. Position is good, only 5 minutes from Pelourinho.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VittorioGiuffrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

The pousada is well located and very well decorated
The owner are very nice & helpful. we would not have discover the city & nightlife this way without all their tips.
The breakfast that stays available until noon is perfect for those that like to spend the night out

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plancheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Pousada Villa Carmo is very well located in the centre of the Pelorinho. It is safe and supervised 24/7. We stayed here in August 2011 and paid R$150 for a double room and breakfast which is pretty good for Salvador. Staff is very friendly and helpful! The breakfast area is on a balcony overlooking the baía de Todos os Santos, its beautiful to sit there drinking your juice and overlooking the bay. the room was not the cleanest, there was a layer of dust covering everything. rooms are very small, we didnt have a window and the bathroom was tiny. it was hard to even turn around in the bathroom and after i had a shower the entire bathroom was under water.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I found this pousada on venere when I was having trouble getting a room last minute. The owner was quick to respond to my questions and when our flight was delayed out of Recife the night concierge handled our airport transfer changes and our driver was there to meet us at 5am.

We stayed in room 1 overlooking the cobblestone street, with a view up to a spectacular church. Super high ceilings and lots of space, we regretted that our stay in Salvador was brief. Breakfast on the back terrace with sweeping views of Salvador and the sea was unforgettable.

But Salvador is quite intense, we felt it was more dangerous than either Sao Paolo or Rio. It's too bad, it is a special place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calamityjaneNY_BsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Hotel Villa Santo Antonio
#82 of 110 in Salvador
65 reviews
Pousada Colonial
#48 of 110 in Salvador
217 reviews
Pousada do Pilar
#59 of 110 in Salvador
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Antonio
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
Pousada Casa Vila Bela
#19 of 110 in Salvador
559 reviews
Pousada Solar Dos Deuses
#28 of 110 in Salvador
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Villa Carmo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Villa Carmo

Address: Rua do Carmo, 58 | Historic Center - Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Price Range: ₹ 2,800 - ₹ 5,860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Villa Carmo 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location: The Pousada Villa Carmo is located In the heart of Salvador's Historical Center, where tourists and local residents are immersed in culture, tradition, leisure and fun. The atmosphere is cozy: the environment is family-like and offers comfort and safety, uniting antique and modern elements. The lobby area is welcoming and warming: nothing more natural coming from Pousada Villa Carmo owners, Ana Luz, Brazilian and Gianluca, Italian. Dating from the XIX century, the Inn occupies a colonial building at the traditional Rua do Carmo and neighbors a rich colonial architectural compound preserved since Brazil's colonial time. Leaning over the sea of Todos os Santos Bay, Pousada Villa Carmo is at a few steps from some of the most important architectural monuments of the city, such as the religious compound formed by Nossa Senhora do Carmo and Ordem Terceira do Carmo churches, including the Cruz do Pascoal Oratory. It's in this historic environment, joyful and strong cultural scenery, that Pousada Villa Carmo guests find the perfect environment to enjoy the best of Salvador, making good use of the coziness, culture and pleasures of Brazil's happiness capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pousada Villa Carmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Hotel Carmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing