We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveller rating
426
509
149
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
509
149
26
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

After losing my purse in a hotel at Iguazu Falls, I was frantic to cancel my credit cards. The desk clerk at Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador (Carolina) spoke perfect English and helped me contact Visa and American Express. She could not have been more helpful! Many thanks!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ChristyRx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio L, General Manager at Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hello Ms. Christy,
We are grateful for the recognition of Carolina's professionalism. We'll tell her about your comment.
We look forward to your return to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We arrive to the hotel to realize that the staff do not speak English. We managed to communicate with them somehow and received our first room out of three. Since the air-conditioning was licking water like a waterfall, we requested for another room. We were transferred to another room which was much bigger but it turned out to be in deplorable conditions where the window could not be properly closed and thus the strong winds bursted into the room the whole night sick not allowing us to sleep. In addition to that the bathroom was filthy and the wallpapers of the room where the peeling up due to the humidity in the room - in front of the sea.
The next day we were transferred to a third room which was very tiny.
When we arrived to the hotel we delivered the credit card as a warranty for the final payment on the check out day and we specifically requested to pay cash at the end of our stay. The check out day we requested to pay cash and we were informed that they completely ignored our request and already charged our credit card and are not willing to cancel the payment leaving us with no other choice.
Not recommended at all
Not more than 2 star hotel

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank DavidA201204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio L, Gerente geral at Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Hello Mr. David,
We're sorry for what happened. Accept our sincere apologies! Your observations were forwarded to the responsible sectors for immediate solution.
Our concern about quality care is so paramount that in every apartment the bedside has a display with the contact whatsapp from the hotel director to attendance.
We hope to serve you at an opportunity soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

The rooms are run-down and not clean. The linens are in need of replacing too. I gave my laundry and was promised it would be returned in time but it never came back! I called them repeatedly and was promised it would be couriered to me, but its been two weeks and it has still not reached!

Many of those at the reception do not speak English at all, making it hard for international travellers.

The location of this hotel is the only plus point. That said, it is by the beach and not in the old city.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean facing rooms
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAP2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio L, Gerente geral at Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hello Mr.
The factor regarding the state of conservation of the apartment does not proceed, because our apartments were all recently renovated including furniture exchange.
We regret that the other services mentioned have not pleased you. Your review helps us look for improvements. Let's reinforce these issues with the team to offer even more efficient service.
Our concern about quality care is so paramount that in every apartment the bedside has a display with the contact whats of the hotel director's call for care.
We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

At the time I booked the hotel accommodations I wasn't sure as to which of three hotel located in the Barra area of Salvador to select. I'm so please that I chose the Monte Pascoal Praia, see my wife is Jamaican and loves to live on the beach. The hotel is located just across the street from a beautiful stretch of beach in which you can surf to sun bath. Multiple restaurants are within a stone's throw, some featuring live entertainment. All the hotel employees were warm and helpful and the room, though somewhat small was quite adequate, clean and well maintained. The breakfast was better than average with sitting inside or outside. My wife love it and said this would be the only place she would stay in Salvador.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Africanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio L, General Manager at Monte Pascoal Praia Hotel Salvador, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017
Google Translation

Muito obrigado! São comentários como esse que motivam a nossa equipe a melhorar a cada dia a experiência dos clientes no Monte Pascoal.
Volte sempre!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The hotel is a 3 star hotel which is fine and staff is friendly, but the management is the worst. I would not recommended it for any international tourist. I booked a stay on Booking.com and I had a family emergency. I need to get back home and no one was willing to help me. I was willing to pay for the nights that I stayed and then get refunded for the rest. I think this is fair, but they kept going back to the reservations contact. The reservations manager was really rude, hung up on me and wasn't willing to help. She would not let me talk to the manager either. The manager was nowhere to be found until now. This was an emergency and no one at the hotel help.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews