We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gorgeous setting - Horrible rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catussaba Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catussaba Resort Hotel
Ranked #37 of 114 Hotels in Salvador
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting - Horrible rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The grounds and setting are amazing! The beach is great to walk at low tide. The rooms, however, are absolutely horrible. The furnishings are very old; the beds are ancient; the rooms are dark and dingy. There is one dim sconce to light the whole bedroom area -- no lights on the nightstands. The fitness center is a joke. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    614
    374
    114
    68
See reviews for
607
395
43
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Arguably a bit friendlier than the nearby Stella Maris, it also is A bit overpriced by the usual NA standard for lower end resort quality. There is nothing within walking distance. Good wifi, OK buffet.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K2Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, MN
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

This hotel is located directly on the beach in Salvador Brasil. The location is a bit outside of the city, which I totally prefer. It is a quiet location and a perfect retreat away from the craziness of urban Brasil. The pools and wait staff are out of this world and make this place so awesome in my mind. Very friendly people and a beautiful well kept land scape make you feel like you have stepped into a oasis. I would highly recommend this place and intend to come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scratchpaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

The disguising and deceiving kindness of the front desk staff it's not enough to compensate the unbelievable poor quality of this place.
An inadeguate air conditioning system makes almost impossible to sleep at night unless you've served a long career as navy officer in a submarine. Never experienced such a noise even during an flight landing during a storm. The quality and variety of the food is close to a russian student hostel canteen whereas the furniture is much worse.
A so called "special-tabellado-taxi-service" ruthlessly rips off residents of the resort, taking advantage of the secluded location, charging guests sometimes even twice more than normal prices.
For a sunbed on the beach I almost had to fight with a "seguranza" representative who did not allow a beach inservient to take a sunbed from the pool area to the beach, although those in the beach were all occupied.
After two days of continous arguments and quarrells with several hotel's representatives I found some dirty clothes knotted around the handle of my room's door.
I dined at the "resort" restaurant only one night because at Catussaba's the staff doesn't bother to clean and set the tables between one customer and the other. As an inevitable consequence, it's very likely to sit at a table and consuming the meal among the leftovers of the previous guest.
The day prior my departure I had arranged a taxi for the airport at 12 am next day, but when I showed up on time at the reception there was not taxi waiting for me. I was told to wait few minutes as the cab was on its way, but the the grinning faces of the guy in charge of the taxi service was not very reassuring. Only the arrival of a taxi deliverying some innocent new guests made possible for me to get my plane on time.
The day prior my departure I went to the reception to settle my room service bill and with shocking surprise I noticed that I had been charged for some phone calls made in San Paulo at 7.30 am same day of my arrival at Catussaba. In fact at the time, that day I was in Foz de Iguatzu (Argentine) as I checked in at Catussaba only in the evening at around 20 pm.
Front desk representatives tried to argue that the system is automated and can't make mistake, although they were the same guys who checked me in the day those phone calls were made, some 10 hours later.
I am filing for compensantion the tour operator who sent me to this disgusting fazenda described as a resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sardinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salvador hotels

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

I stayed here for 5 nights, including the weekend, in September 2010 with a colleague while on business in Brazil. I would not recommend staying at the Catussaba, but I must say that with a disclaimer that I have not stayed at any other hotels in the Salvador area.

Pros: It's on the beach. That's about it...

Cons: The pool area is nice but really loud, the bar service by the pool is not good. There are guys aggresively bothering you to buy stuff right as you walk down the stairs to the beach, which is also really annoying. The restaurant is horrible - I could hardly eat the food after the 3rd day there. It is like cafeteria food with a menu - but at regular price for any hotel. The service at the restaurant is also very poor. The location of the hotel, while nice at the beach - is very far from any other parts of the Salvador or northern beaches areas.

The WORST - the rooms. It was decorated like a hospital room at a Motel 6 quality. For this reason alone - I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Especially for business - there was very poor internet signal - and everything was outdated and dirty. Definintely not a place you could relax after a long day.

Salvador - the Pelourinho is worth checking out, but be careful - it's very seedy. Praia do Forte is nice, but the beach leaves something to be desired. There is a better beach at Guarajuba.

If I ever return to Salvador - I won't be staying at the Catussaba.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPro15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
Itapua
Mar Brasil Hotel
Mar Brasil Hotel
#5 of 114 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Itapua
Hotel Deville Prime Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vila Gale Salvador
#24 of 114 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Catussaba Suites
#66 of 114 in Salvador
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Bahia Othon Palace
#36 of 114 in Salvador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catussaba Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catussaba Resort Hotel

Property: Catussaba Resort Hotel
Address: Alamedas Da Praia, S/N | Itapua, Salvador, State of Bahia 41600-496, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,535 - ₹ 12,183
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catussaba Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Catussaba Resort e o unico hotel em Salvador com acesso direto a areia da praia. Uma escolha perfeita para familias que viajam a lazer ou para executivos que buscam conforto, boa localizacao e vista paradisiaca. Localizado na poetica Praia de Itapua, com 40.000 Metros de area completamente integrada com a natureza, fica situado entre as famosas praias de Itapua e Stella Maris, a cinco minutos do Aeroporto Internacional Deputado Luis Eduardo Magalhaes, e ao lado de pontos turisticos como: o Farol de Itapua, a Lagoa do Abaete e a Praca de Vinicius de Moraes. E possivel desfrutar das quatro piscinas interligadas (adulto e infantil), seis quadras de tenis, sendo duas poliesportivas, campo de futebol gramado, sauna, sala de ginastica, parque infantil, espaco ecologico com animais, baby copa, capela, Lounge Bar, loja de conveniencia, uma surpreendente cascata tudo isso integrado a um ambiente de beleza estrema. As familias poderao aproveitar de momentos inesqueciveis de descontracao e, especialmente, as criancas poderao curtir brincadeiras e atividades acompanhadas pela Equipe de Entretenimento que possui programacao diurna adulta e infantil.Beleza natural e um ambiente aconchegante esperam tambem o casal para Pacotes Romanticos feitos sob medida para comemoracao de momentos e datas especiais. Ja o publico corporativo conta com a facilidade de acesso ao: Polo Petroquimico de Camacari (41km), Polo Automotivo (24km), Simoes Filho (27km), Centro Industrial Aratu/CIA (25km) e Avenida Tancredo Neves (19km).E para aqueles que querem apreciar a culinaria, o Catussaba Resort traz uma refinada gastronomia com pratos tipicos da Bahia e tambem internacionais para agradar a todo tipo de publico. O hotel ainda dispoe de bares, restaurantes, lounge bar e Pub. O atendimento roomservice e 24h. O unico Resort Urbano de Salvador conta com 259 habitacoes, entre apartamentos e suites, todas com completa infraestrutura de conforto com: varanda privativa com rede, wi-fi free, ar condicionado central, cofre individual, frigobar, TV de LCD com canais a cabo e secador de cabelos.O Centro de Eventos do Catussaba Resort Hotel e constituido de lindos saloes com capacidade total para ate 495 pessoas e espaco para Coffee Breaks e recepcao. O Pub e a area verde sao utilizados para realizacao de jantares, coqueteis e outras confraternizacoes. O restaurante panoramico tambem e uma opcao para realizacao de jantares e eventos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Catussaba Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catussaba Hotel Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing