We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
335
248
48
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
248
48
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room top floor priced hotels hot water hotel wifi rooftop pool staff was very friendly and helpful loved this hotel recommend this hotel great hotel fruit gym noise ac bahia
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We stayed at the Sotero for two weeks. The room was large, comfortable and impeccably clean. All of the staff from front desk, to porters restaurant workers and maids were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel does not have a restaurant but does provide a daily breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enzo_stewartee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

We had to stay here more out of necessity having had to move out of our previous hotel - the mercure pituba - as it was full and we were adding extra days on to our trip before medical repatriation.
We chose this for its proximity to the Hospital da Bahia, which it does look close on the map and from looking at it from the hospital, what you don’t realise is there is a river between and a major highway to navigate.
The area outside the hotel is not great. A very nice supermarket about 5 mins walk, plenty of pharmacies and that’s about it, other than office buildings and apartment blocks.
The hotel inside is nicely furnished - it’s a fairly new hotel though the building is older. We were in a superior room on the top floor 19th - room spacious but strangely decorated, the windows were very dirty but gave fabulous views over the hospital and pituba. Shower head needed limescale remover or replaced - not at all powerful. A/c was adequate.
The pool on the roof was a big disappointment - water had an oily film covering it and green algae on the tiles at the bottom where the sun hit it - we didn’t dare go in. To get any sunbathing you had to squash yourself into one of the 2 sides of the pool next to the glass walls, there was 1 sun bed - so you had to put a towel (collected from reception) on the concrete and sunbathe in a 4ft wide ledge, and then only until about 3pm when the sun moved to the other side where even less space was available.
We had the evening buffet again out of necessity as we were confined to the hotel. Food was actually very nice and well presented, about £11 each including unlimited soft drinks.
Breakfast too was nicely presented and eggs made to order along with other local dishes.
Staff were all helpful and friendly.
Location and the pool let this hotel down.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ast1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Loved this hotel so much! All the staff here showed great service, were so helpful and were always smiling! We stayed here during Carnaval and whilst far it was only a £3/4 uber away. There aren't many restaurants nearby but its very close  (10min walk) to the incredible Salvador Shopping Mall which has tonnes of great restaurants!

We loved the rooftop pool which served food and drinks and played great music - a great way to spend a hot Salvador day! The only thing was there wasnt much space to sunbathe so it was always a bit of competition as to who could get those seats first!

The rooms are lovely - spacious and with good TV channels. Lovely hot and powerful shower too! We loved breakfast here too for which the buffet included omelettes, eggs, taipocas, wide range of fruits, different types of bread, cakes, oatd, granola, meats, fresh juices, tea and coffee.

A great hotel and highly recommended to stay here!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GP2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

I have stayed with my partner for 2 nights, and everything was perfect. They have put us on the last floor, with great views from the city and ocean.
The room seems bigger when you see it than on the photos. It has a great big bed as well.
The breakfast is great too, with a huge variety of bahian and brazilian delights.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hungaro007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotero H, Gerente at Sotero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Sir, Good evening!

Thank you for choosing Sotero Hotel and for taking the time to tell us about your stay!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to reaffirm that guest satisfaction is our great commitment.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Recently stayed there after a long gap.

The Positives :-

1. Front desk is super nice. When I was checking out, it was raining heavily. The lady at front desk came out with a large umbrella to put me in the taxi. Highly appreciated and for this reason alone, the hotel deserves 5 star.

2. The superior room is really well laid out and looks pretty nice.. Also the bathroom, bed etc are all very well laid out.

3. The Ac system/hot water work very well.

4. Location is OK..There is a subway nearby. I ate my meals there.

5. The hotel is noise free and its a deal breaker for me.

Negatives.

1. The hotel wi fi is better than 2 years ago but still not the best and is really my only complaint.

2. The hotel does not have a fancy restaurant .

Overall, I recommend this hotel and much better ( 10 times better) than many over priced hotels in Salvador.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotero H, Gerente at Sotero Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Dear Mr. Sally, good afternoon!

Thank you for choosing Sotero Hotel and for taking the time to rate us!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again to reaffirm that guest satisfaction is our great commitment.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews