We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location but very old rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Victoria Marina
Ranked #88 of 110 Hotels in Salvador
Reviewed 19 February 2011

It is a pitty that this hotel is so old and that they did not renew it. The rooms are old, the air-conditioning makes a lot of noise and almost everything looks like it did not get any maintenance for over 20 years. But, it has the perfect location, the rooms (seaside only) have the most incredible few you can imagine and you can take a little (old and scary) tram to the sea and jump into the clean ocean (Careful, there is no lifeguard at the seaside. ). I don’t know if I would stay there again, but on the other hand I will never forget this hotel because of the wonderful view and the swimming in the sea. So, it’s up to you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colorfotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

The Sol Victoria Marina was recommended to me for a five-day-stay in Salvador from a travel agent in Rio. Despite the negative reviews here I booked the hotel and was looking forward to some relaxed days at the poolside.

The disappointment started when I checked in: No word of welcome, a grumpy female receptionist just asked for "Passport?", then slammed the key on the desk without any further explanation, and a porter showed me the lift.

One lift not working, I made my way up through the gloomy, hot and noisy corridor to my room. In the room I found old bills from the previous guest, a large sticky stain on the desk, an overall old and very worn room. The switch for the a/c didn't work, so I was on my way back to reception.

Another grumpy male receptionist took the key, and with no words of excuse, or any other words, slammed another key on the desk.

Back in the lift, to a higher floor, another dark, hot and noisy corridor, and into the room. Still old and worn, with stains on the bedcover, the a/c switch non-existing. A call to reception (at least this person understood and spoke some words in english to me) revealed that the a/c can be switched on with the large unmarked switch on the old radio-panel next to the ned. Right. So it was either "On" or "Off".

I decided to stay for the night, since it was already late, despite a general feeling of unease.

Next morning I had a closer look around and found that the room in general was in a poor and not very clean state. At 8:30 am massive noises from a drillhamer came from next door, I found that I couldn't flush the toilet, so I started packing the few items I unpacked the night before.

I gave the breakfast a chance, and was not really disappointed, but it was clear: Not another night in this poor place. Upon checkout the key was taken from me and immediately given to a porter to check the minibar - an open mistrust I never ever experienced before, but already reported in numerous reviews. I asked for the manager, since no-one else had any more english skills than required for the most basic questions.

I explained all the points that made me leave after just one night. He apologised for the behaviour of the two receptionists, but not for anything else. He even screwed me with the invoice, which was supposed to be without service charge, as agreed with the travel agent I booked with, but he insisted on this additional 10% charge.

I was completely fed-up with this worst ever hotel I had to stay at, never again. Unless they do some massive refurbishements of the whole place, and train the staff properly, I cannot recommend this hotel at all. There are much nicer places in Salvador, so there is no need to endure this.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doc_dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. The room was OK and clean when I arrived although the refrigerator hadn't been defrosted for quite a while and some lamps were not working. I arrived at the hotel at noon time, filled out the registration and got the key to the room 3 hours later. Only the management and girls at the reception were able to communicate in English. The staff in restaurant, room service and house keeping did not speak any English. Ordering room service had to be done via reception. The internet was not working very well the first two days and it finally broke down completely and management was unable restore the service before I left. When approaching the reception one was never greeted with a smile and once the welcome was a "what now".
The breakfast buffet in the coffee shop was OK.
The insulation between rooms is very poor and it was possible to hear conversations etc. from adjacent rooms. The hotel is a high rising building but there is no safeguard in front of the windows.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chieflaunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Probably Salvador doesn't have too many high level hotels with avarage precises, so I would say that in this range of precise is quite good. The rooms, altough clean, are old as the whole hotel. As in other hotels in Brasil, this hotel seemed to be very good in middle 80's, but i freezed there. Breakfast is acceptable. The position is good in the sense that you are half way between Pelourinho and Barra (so that makes it a short ride in taxi for both places), but you are 20-30 minutes walk from Pelourinho and 15-20 from Barra.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faber2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2010

The hotels is duty and the service is terrible. I do not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2009
Thank FernandaCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
Hotel Bahia Do Sol
#33 of 110 in Salvador
418 reviews
1.5 km away
Hit Hotel
Hit Hotel
#24 of 110 in Salvador
404 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Sol Barra
Hotel Sol Barra
#48 of 110 in Salvador
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 km away
Hotel Cocoon
Hotel Cocoon
#72 of 110 in Salvador
305 reviews
1.4 km away
Grande Hotel Da Barra
Grande Hotel Da Barra
#27 of 110 in Salvador
866 reviews
1.5 km away
Village Novo
Village Novo
#67 of 110 in Salvador
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Victoria Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Victoria Marina

Address: Avenida Sete de Setembro 2068, Salvador, State of Bahia 40080-004, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Salvador
Price Range: ₹ 3,096 - ₹ 13,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Victoria Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Victoria Marina Hotel category 4 stars, located in the center of the city of Salvador in one of the most noble, the Corredor da Victoria. It is located only 2 km from Porto da Barra beach and 3.5 km from the Pelourinho (Historical Center). It has a beautiful view of the Baía de Todos os Santos, and floating dock for boats to Jet Ski. It is very near to the principal teather of Salvador, Teather Castro Alves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Victoria Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Victoria Marina Hotel Salvador
Sol Victoria Marina Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing