We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bahiacafe Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Arthemis Hotel(Salvador)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Solar Dos Deuses(Salvador)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Bahia(Salvador)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Franca(Salvador)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Don Juan(Salvador)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Fera Palace Hotel(Salvador)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
287
281
55
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
281
55
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townmercado modelofruitperfect locationlower cityelevador lacerdano elevatorhistorical centertour guiderooms are spaciousbreakfast is servedspoke englishsmall hotelsquarepelourinhobrazilshutters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

excellent value in the heart of the Pelhourino - very safe and convenient to the old city. The owner and office staff speak english and were very helpful. our room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. the place is still having some restoration done, but the work was only in the day while we were out. we are still longing for the lovely breakfast overlooking the plaza.

Room Tip: we were in room #4 - lovely!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Very noyse hotel... Almost impossible to sleep... There is an anglicane church nearby the hotel with lots of people screeming for jesus all night long!! The owners does not allowed visitors in your room too!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexgoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We booked this last minute online with booking.com. The determining factor was the price, location, and amenities. It turned out to be a good value. Similiar boutique hotels in that area were going for much more. The owner has taken an old historical building and converted it to a comfortable hotel. Rooms were very nice with large bed, balcony, flat panel tv, and room safe.. Bathroom was nicely appointed. Wifi was good in common areas and the breakfast was excellent. If you want to stay in the old historic part of town , this is a really good option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I travelled to the Bahia Cafe Hotel on the 10th and 11th of April and was part of a group of 6 people.

Service: From the first moment to the last we received excellent service, the owner of 12 years, a Belgium guy, seemed to be always there, form checking us in to serving a special early morning breakfast when we left out of hours. The breakfast was one of the best in Bahia that we had seen and provided a massive choice of savoury and sweet items you would experience in Brazil, make sure you try the cake!

Value: This hotel offers great value for money, we booked via booking.com but no reason why you can go direct, is centrally located and no more than a 10 minute walk to the historic centre. In comparison to the popular choices you will find deeper into the centre of Pelourinho, this place was cheaper and think better value for money.

Sleep: The beds were massive and comfortable! As you are in the centre you will expect to have a little noise but as we stayed outside of the main party season we did not experience too much in the way of music keeping us up, nothing one or two of the bargain caiprinhas cant sort anyway!

Cleanliness: The room was very clean and were cleaned daily, absolutely nothing to complain about.

Location: With historic centre just down the road you will have no complaints about the location. If you are arriving from the boat, make sure you don’t take a taxi, the hotel is 2 minutes walk from the top of the lift, just email the owner for directions.

General – Free WIFI

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and it’s one of the best places we stayed in Bahia.

Salvador
If you can get to the capoeira school in the centre it’s well worth a visit, they start at 7pm and go for 1 hour, you even get to do some dancing yourself! It’s the place for Mestre Bimba one of the original teachers of this art. Ask at the hotel for directions, it’s not far. $R15 or 20.

A Word of warning: more of a general update on Salvador rather than Bahia Cafe itself
7am – 11pm: Military and local police are place at the main walkways and intersections on the historic centre. However, we were constantly warned by the taxi drivers that we must not go down quiet lanes of the beaten path as they are not protected by the police. Therefore you do so at your own risk. Stay in the tourists routes and it is very much like every other city just be vigilant, down flash the bling!

After 11pm and before 7am: During this Salvador can be a very dangerous place to walk around. As with 3rd world countries, the divide between rich and poor can be very large and some fall trap into the drugs. Some of those people tend to roam the streets late at night and early morning so ensure that taxi drivers drop you off straight outside the hotel. Again this is a warning to be vigilant of your surrounding and only walk down known streets etc.

Room Tip: The top two room types have pretty much the same view and standard of room so you cant go wrong
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Was there for 3 days with my wife. We really enjoyed the city....visited most of the sites (look for my reviews). The hotel is nice and the room we got was very large and very comfortable. I have read about the noise, but I have to say we did not suffer from it.
Breakfast was very good and the view when having breakfast is very nice.
Location is optimal.........very near the La Cerda elevator and in the Pelourinho........really nice.
Of course there are some nasty places around, but listen to Michel´s advice and you will be fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZorroPlata67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews