We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this place!”
Review of Bahiacafe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bahiacafe Hotel
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

What a surprise in Historic Salvador. A very modern, trendy hotel in the middle of an old town. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but tastefully decorated. Remember you are staying in the middle of the Historic Center so there is some noise, but I did not find that it disturbed my sleep. When I find myself in Salvador, I will stay here and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    263
    54
    8
    16
See reviews for
80
296
44
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

excellent value in the heart of the Pelhourino - very safe and convenient to the old city. The owner and office staff speak english and were very helpful. our room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. the place is still having some restoration done, but the work was only in the day while we were out. we are still longing for the lovely breakfast overlooking the plaza.

Room Tip: we were in room #4 - lovely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

Very noyse hotel... Almost impossible to sleep... There is an anglicane church nearby the hotel with lots of people screeming for jesus all night long!! The owners does not allowed visitors in your room too!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexgoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel, Mexico
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We booked this last minute online with booking.com. The determining factor was the price, location, and amenities. It turned out to be a good value. Similiar boutique hotels in that area were going for much more. The owner has taken an old historical building and converted it to a comfortable hotel. Rooms were very nice with large bed, balcony, flat panel tv, and room safe.. Bathroom was nicely appointed. Wifi was good in common areas and the breakfast was excellent. If you want to stay in the old historic part of town , this is a really good option.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I travelled to the Bahia Cafe Hotel on the 10th and 11th of April and was part of a group of 6 people.

Service: From the first moment to the last we received excellent service, the owner of 12 years, a Belgium guy, seemed to be always there, form checking us in to serving a special early morning breakfast when we left out of hours. The breakfast was one of the best in Bahia that we had seen and provided a massive choice of savoury and sweet items you would experience in Brazil, make sure you try the cake!

Value: This hotel offers great value for money, we booked via booking.com but no reason why you can go direct, is centrally located and no more than a 10 minute walk to the historic centre. In comparison to the popular choices you will find deeper into the centre of Pelourinho, this place was cheaper and think better value for money.

Sleep: The beds were massive and comfortable! As you are in the centre you will expect to have a little noise but as we stayed outside of the main party season we did not experience too much in the way of music keeping us up, nothing one or two of the bargain caiprinhas cant sort anyway!

Cleanliness: The room was very clean and were cleaned daily, absolutely nothing to complain about.

Location: With historic centre just down the road you will have no complaints about the location. If you are arriving from the boat, make sure you don’t take a taxi, the hotel is 2 minutes walk from the top of the lift, just email the owner for directions.

General – Free WIFI

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and it’s one of the best places we stayed in Bahia.

Salvador
If you can get to the capoeira school in the centre it’s well worth a visit, they start at 7pm and go for 1 hour, you even get to do some dancing yourself! It’s the place for Mestre Bimba one of the original teachers of this art. Ask at the hotel for directions, it’s not far. $R15 or 20.

A Word of warning: more of a general update on Salvador rather than Bahia Cafe itself
7am – 11pm: Military and local police are place at the main walkways and intersections on the historic centre. However, we were constantly warned by the taxi drivers that we must not go down quiet lanes of the beaten path as they are not protected by the police. Therefore you do so at your own risk. Stay in the tourists routes and it is very much like every other city just be vigilant, down flash the bling!

After 11pm and before 7am: During this Salvador can be a very dangerous place to walk around. As with 3rd world countries, the divide between rich and poor can be very large and some fall trap into the drugs. Some of those people tend to roam the streets late at night and early morning so ensure that taxi drivers drop you off straight outside the hotel. Again this is a warning to be vigilant of your surrounding and only walk down known streets etc.

Room Tip: The top two room types have pretty much the same view and standard of room so you cant go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salvador hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
Hotel Casa do Amarelindo
#2 of 111 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Bahia
Villa Bahia
#6 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.0 km away
Sheraton da Bahia - Hotel Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Aram Yami Hotel
Aram Yami Hotel
#1 of 111 in Salvador
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
5.4 km away
Mercure Salvador Rio Vermelho
0.4 km away
A Casa das Portas Velhas
A Casa das Portas Velhas
#17 of 111 in Salvador
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahiacafe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahiacafe Hotel

Property: Bahiacafe Hotel
Address: Praca da Se 22 | Pelourinho, Salvador, State of Bahia 40020-210, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Salvador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Salvador
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,456 - ₹ 7,175
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahiacafe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Bahiacafe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing