We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 74
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 47
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
Amanda Suites(Manaus)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 33
US$ 30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 25
Expedia.com
View Deal
Ajuricaba Backpackers Hostel(Manaus)(Great Value!)
US$ 26
Priceline
View Deal
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 767
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
7
7
0
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
7
0
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

While we were recently in Brazil for the World Cup, we had reservations to stay at The Jungle Hostel. The arrangement was that we would be taken by River to the stadium the day of the USA vs Portugal game. A day before we left for Manuas we were contacted by Leonardo. He told us that the Navy was closing ports due to World Cup security and he didn't think that we would get to the game. He then told us that we could stay at another one of their hotels in Manaus. Our group was disappointed, as this was what we thought we be a highlight, 3 nights in the Amazon. Once we arrived at the "new" place, we contacted Leonardo to express our extreme disappointment. It was hardly the Jungle experience that we paid a premium for. It was more like a musty smelling apartment building. 3 meals a day were to be included with the Jungle Hostel, here we only received breakfast. After additional emails of disgust to Leonardo, he said he could get us to the Jungle Hostel for night and would pay for a day trip for the 4 of us, to make up for the issues. This sounded like a decent compromise. When we met up with Leonardo the morning of the day trip, he told us that he meant we could do "one or the other", (day trip or go to the Jungle Hostel). Once again, disappointed. We chose the day trip where we were to swim with the pink dolphins, see the meeting of the waters etc. Turns out there was no swimming with the dolphins as promised, but we did see 2 pink dolphins surface for about 3 seconds. Again, disappointed....Sensing a theme. Long story short, if it's possible at this time, Leonardo is a fast talking con artist that will rip you off at every turn. We paid $330.00 USD per night per room for the Jungle Hostel and ended up in what should rent for 50.00 USD a night. We are in the process of disputing these charges with PAY Pal and our credit card company.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Spenmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Amazing Tours in Manaus simply does not provide the services it advertises. My wife and I booked a four-day jungle adventure in June 2011, and included in the itinerary was a visit to see the "Meeting of the Waters," along the Rio Negro. After making the three-hour boat trip to our lodge, we were told by our guide -- not Leonardo de Mendes, the owner of Amazing Tours/Jungle Hostel -- that the meeting of the waters was 13 kilometers up the river the other way. It would not be a part of our adventure, the guide told us.

Seven other people staying at the lodge said they, too, had paid for a visit to see the two rivers, but were told that it was not included. It wasn't until one girl -- the only one who spoke Portuguese -- used the guide's cell phone to call Leonardo to ask him about it. His response? He told her he would arrange an early morning trip for just her. He then told her NOT TO TELL THE REST OF US, as it would lead to all of us wanting to go.

After arriving back in Manaus, I e-mailed Leonardo to ask why the meeting of the waters had not been included. His response was that we had not paid for it. I pressed him for a partial refund (one-half day's worth of the total cost), and he insisted that we had not paid for it and even accused us of organizing a conspiracy among the others at the lodge who we clamoring to see the meeting of the waters. I can assure you that the others at the lodge were expecting to see the meeting of the waters long before we discussed it -- in private -- with our guide.

I provided Leonardo with past e-mails from him showing that the meeting of the waters was, in fact, included on the itinerary we purchased. To no avail. He insisted he, too, had every e-mail we had exchanged. However, he had no response when I forwarded one of his own e-mails that asked us for our arrival information because his computer had crashed and he had lost some information.

Finally, if you do choose to book with Amazing Tours/Jungle Hostel in Manaus, be sure arrange a day-time transfer. Although Amazing Tour's Web site says "free airport transfer," it is only free if it is during the day. When we arrived at 11:30 p.m., we were told we had to pay R$ 50. Leonardo's response?

"Do not you think it is a redilucos [sic] time to give a free airport pick up for any tourist for a budget tour??? i have lot of copy of the email and im sure what i sell for all my guests. ... I give free pick up during the day time but not during the night time."

This review isn't meant to be a disgruntled ranting about Amazing Tours and the Jungle Hostel, rather a guide to help you avoid making the same mistake we did. I am more than happy to provide copies of the e-mail exchanges between myself (----------) and Leonardo, the owner of Amazing Tours, to show how his bait-and-switch operation works.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ja228299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Thanks to the tripadvisor guide, as I found the Manaus Jungle Hostel from here. The reviews her are very informative and useful.

I am young-spirit African adventurer and stayed 5 days in the hostel. Leonardo is really nice and easy-going person. I become very pleased about my decision with them.
The local hostel guides are so friendly and approachable, you quickly build up a friendship. These "Caboclos" are so knowledgeable to the jungle such as the types of birds, floral, plants. Not only they are born in Jungle, but also they study hard, read lots of books to enhance their knowledge to make them professional. After one day activities, we always stayed in the lodge canteen to chat with them, listen to their jungle story, especially about Jaguar. The most exciting thing is fishing piranha and then cook them. We felt very satisfaction to catch lots of piranha. The five days passed so quickly but every second, every minute, every hour spent in the Jungle is so irregretable. An the Manaus Jungle Hostel is in the middle of all this green adventure, no need to waste time in one of the city hostels.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Very nice hotel, nice place, nice service. just to recommend, i sure will visit this place again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

This hostel is a good value at 285 BRL (at the time of writing, 166 USD) for a single room for three days and two nights. Pickup and return to the airport or boat docks in Manaus are included, as are meals and activities. The location is on a quiet island in the Rio Negro. Activities include going out in the waters near the hostel for piranha fishing, sleeping one night in the jungle in a hammock with a knowledgeable guide, walking around the jungle, and just relaxing by the water. I was able to see piranhas, a porcupine (flushed out by my energetic guide Roni, who climbed the tree) , a howler monkey, squirrel monkeys, a crocodile and lots of fascinating birds and insects. I also saw jaguar tracks. At night the jungle had an amazing symphony of tropical sounds, including howler monkeys, cicadas, toucans, and other unidentifiable birds and animals.

The food was satisfying and simple (fried fish, beans and rice) and the the grilled fish prepared by the Roni during the night in the jungle was particularly delicious. The staff at the hostel were friendly, hard-working and helpful.

This is a good place, but be aware that it is rustic, and there is no electricity (there are candles provided for lighting at night\). There is running water for provided by a very noisy gasoline powered pump which runs several times a day. Beer and bottled water are available for purchase at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdrianLesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews