We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, but well worth it!”
Review of Hotel Stebbins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Algoma
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Stebbins
Ranked #1 of 3 Algoma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Making an overnight stop in Algoma, we were advised to seek out this restaurant by our little hotel owner. The restaurant was super, sort of a "supper club" of atmosphere. The bar staff was very friendly and outgoing with the cherry drinks wonderful and refreshing!! The wait staff were young, but very attentive. The salad bar and soup were include with our entree , stuffed shrimp-delicious. The fish night special looked inviting, but again buffets are not our usual choice. We would have loved to book a jhotel reservation here, but did not find the hotel in time as were looking for lodging, Advertise!!! A bit of the past but needs to attract more than local folk . The hotel reminded of the lodging available in Deadwood , South Dakota

Room Tip: Only used the restaurant portion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lani474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiertraveling, Owner at Hotel Stebbins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your time and that my staff did what they were suppose to do in treating you well and with extra care! The "assistant waitstaff" are indeed young and provide extra support for our more seasoned staff members who truly running the dining room. We love mentoring our people from the ground up here at the Hotel and I am glad to hear the young ones are getting the picture and taking good care of you. We are proud to do that and make a nice evening for you and your friends/family with sincerity! Yes, I am sorry you did not find us in time to stay with us! Maybe next time:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2016

This was my second trip to the hotel and this time I stayed in a smaller room but the bed again was so restful. Each of the rooms are different with a special theme. I was not on the street side so the room was really quiet at night. All the furnishings were old style but very nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Pick any of the rooms for a nice view, front or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank unclegut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiertraveling, Owner at Hotel Stebbins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Thank you for your repeat business! It's always so great to see faces return and is truly our chance for us to get to know you better and take even better care of you on each and every return. As the owner, I am a bit selfish when it comes to getting a good nights rest and I want my guests to as well so I am glad you have found the beds we have invested in super comfy! Very important to me...see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Food was ok. It was a buffet so I don't expect perfection. Popcorn shrimp, red fish, and the seafood chowder were good. Everyone at the table had a second cup. There were two burgers ordered also they both said they were good. Wait staff was very attentive and hotel was kept up well.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank NatChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiertraveling, Owner at Hotel Stebbins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

The Fish & Shrimp Buffet is a very popular chose fro sure during our Friday dinner hour. Thank you for dining with us ~ we truly appreciate your patronage and I am happy to hear your service was great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

I did not know what to expect when I booked a night in the Old World room at Hotel Stebbins for my niece's wedding. Thankfully, it was great. The staff was incredibly welcoming and informative. Since it is in the heart of Algoma, the hotel is within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and other distractions. With a bar and restaurant on the ground floor, I was a little concerned about noise, but our room turned out to be very quiet. Perhaps next time we'll be able to check out that restaurant.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mhuguet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiertraveling, Owner at Hotel Stebbins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

So excited to see our local wedding traffic and there families growing here in Algoma the past couple years! What a beautiful spot to make lasting memories for the bride and her family and friends. Thank you for the great review! I agree Algoma is a gem and Hotel Stebbins is a lasting piece of history and a gem within a phenomenal town! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

On motorcycles and wanted somewhere we could park and walk around. Perfect location. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The cook helped us check in!
Room tastefully decorated, large bathroom, mini fridge, most comfortable bed we have ever slept in.
Bar open from 4-9pm. Great drinks (but they don't muddle the old fashioneds), good bartenders.
Restaurant has same hours. Extensive menu, daily specials, and an amazing salad bar. Understand the Friday fish buffet is unbeatable.
We loved the ambience and staff

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank cshaw049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happiertraveling, Owner at Hotel Stebbins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

You hit the right spot for parking with no need to get back on the bike (or in a vehicle hypothetically) until you leave the Hotel! Algoma is the most walkable town and the Hotel is the most centrally located spot within the town to lodge in order to do exactly that! Love that you enjoyed your motorcycle tour in and around our area. Ericka, the cook, btw is so much more then just a cook...like all of us here at Hotel Stebbins. She has been and will continue to work towards learning anything and everything necessary to make this little world within the walls of Hotel Stebbins go round. We are innkeepers with many hats and multi-talented with the ultimate underlying desire to make our customers super happy. Thank you for staying with us and yes sir/ma'am its "understood" and I happen to agree that the Friday fish buffet is unbeatable! Kristine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algoma hotels
1.1 km away
Algoma Beach Motel
Algoma Beach Motel
#2 of 3 in Algoma
105 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbor Inn Motel
Harbor Inn Motel
#3 of 3 in Algoma
21 reviews
3.1 km away
at the Waters Edge
at the Waters Edge
#2 of 3 in Algoma
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Harbor View Condos
Harbor View Condos
#1 of 2 in Algoma
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stebbins? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stebbins

Address: 201 Steele St, Algoma, WI 54201-1264
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Algoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Algoma
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing