We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
77
161
58
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
161
58
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tempura buffet breakfast and dinner gift shop tatami room hot bath japanese style sleeping onsen
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2017

We stayed here with two small children and 3 adults. Were were lucky enough to have three tatami rooms in our room,so we all had our own space. It also came with a full bathroom and extra toilet which was good.

The rooms are neat and tidy, with lovely views. We were provided with yukata and jackets, which was to be expected.

There is a gift shop and several restaurants attached to the large hotel. The onsen is spacious.

We had buffet breakfast and dinner included with our stay and there was a good variety of food available.

Very reasonably priced for what we received - I would like to return!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beedzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Pros
Location
Big bath
Buffet style dinner and breakfast
Show for the children

Cons
Strong tobacco smell in the room (including the bed) and corridor
no wifi in the room (there is wifi in the lobby but it's very difficult to connect )

Room Tip: Ask for no smoking room and check if the room is OK Pay the onsen tax when you check out
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zbujenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Stay at Hotel Sakurai for one night during our self-drive trip in Gunma prefecture. Hotel itself is a big typical Japanese onsen hotel, catered for large group of Japanese guests both for leisure and business convention.

Good part for this hotel is its location, 7-11 just in front of the hotel entrance, a 5-minute walk to a nearby supermarket and bus station, while the Yubatake is about 10-minute walk up and down small streets.

For our room, we stayed in a Western-style twin room in the old wing, 'Western' simply means room equipping with beds, while other decos are exactly the same with the Japanese room. Room is quite typical and dated, nothing much to write home about. The worst thing about our room is, though we booked for a non-smoking room, but other Japanese guests in rooms nearby left their doors open while drinking and smoking inside. All the smoke just floated around on the whole floor. I managed to ask the front-desk staff to do something about it, and they successfully requested those guests to shut their doors.

Hotel facilities are well maintained to accommodate large groups of guests, hot-spring facility is average with nice quality hot-spring water compare to those we had in Fuji-mountain area during this same trip. Buffet breakfast and dinner are set-up in a large ballroom-like hall, good quality and varieties of food and beverages.

Overall, staff service is good, hotel facilities are old but well-maintained, not recommend for couples or family who are looking for relaxing and peaceful stay.

Room Tip: book a standard room
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dispong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Hotel Sakurai is 5-minute walk from kusatu bus terminal. With 15- story new building you can't miss it. Entering the hotel you will be surprised the vast lobby and ornamentation. Even an artificial Yubatake (origin of spa) and a tower for a featival with Japanese drums are there. I recommend cheapest Japanese style rooms. They are a bit old but enough space for sleeping and you can use all the public facility and have buffet dinner and breakfast. Buffet dinner includes Sushi, Sashimi, Tempura, beef steak, soba noodles and many other things. The public bath is the biggest I've ever seen. It was a bit too hot for me but the bath outside (rotenburo) was very comfortable. All these come for just 12000 yen. Isn't that tempting?

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Travel814302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

The Hotel Sakurai is probably the biggest establishment in Kusatsu. It receives a lot of tour groups. The tall wing has 16 floors. The onsen is not crowded in such a big place. Food quality in the restaurant can be better, but acceptable.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank eymwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews