We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service is Up & Alittle Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Customer Service is Up & Alittle Down”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stay here often for business.

The Upsides of this property:

Rooms are EXCELLENT! When I enter the room, I always feel that I am in a much higher class of hotel. Cleanliness is TOPS in the main rooms and bathrooms. Mini-Fridges and in-room safes are appreciated!

Location is excellent. Close to running and biking trails. A Harris Teeter Grocery Store and the Mall is just down the street. Plenty of restaurants, too.

Staff: The majority of staff is excellent. From Valet and bell staff to front desk personnel and room attendants. All exhibit great customer service and friendly faces of people who enjoy their jobs. Just one particular situation warrants notice (See Downsides below).

Special Recognition to Mohamed from the Bell Staff who has been instrumental in going above and beyond to take care of my needs. From giving directions and providing advice about the area, to handling and storing of luggage, hailing taxi-cabs and running the shuttle for short trips. Give this guy a raise! he is worth every penny of it.

Downsides:

Hallways and common areas - I noticed wallpaper peeling and heavily worn carpeting throughout.

The workout facility - While I'm thankful that there is one here, it's just abit too small and limited.

Shuttle Service - This is limited and only goes 1 mile from the property. While I wouldn't expect this shuttle to travel for airport pick-ups; it would be nice if the range were extended to say "up to 3 miles" so guests could take advantage of some of the other Arlington attractions and restaurants.

Staffing: Whether the night auditor or other front office staff; in the later hours (usually 10:30 p.m. to 1:30 a.m.), I often have a hard time reaching someone to register for a wake up call. This is an added convenience that I really appreciate. Yet, I'm often left disappointed as no one seems to be answering the phones at these later hours.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne B, Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Tony F
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. I have shared you kind comments to our staff and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I have addressed the staffing issues noted in your review and we are scheduled to renovate our hallway this year. We had to reduce the amount of equipment in our fitness center to meet federal requirement but do offer a $12 pass to a local gym. We limit our shuttle distance to avoid guest experiencing long wait times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    227
    79
    26
    9
See reviews for
125
55
44
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N New England
Level Contributor
228 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Handy location just off I-66 and walk to Ballston Metro. An older property lacking in character or charm, but quite serviceable for a business trip. $12 Valet parking was prompt and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldwoodboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear oldwoodboats,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Very good to Excellent. Please see my review below.

Room Tip: I usually come to Arlington for some meeting especillay with Govt. Agencies. I have been using this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I travel to Arlington, Va several times a year for business and stay at the Holiday Inn at Ballston. The staff is always friendly, they remember me, the rooms are well decorated and comfortable. Two nights ago I ate at the restaurant late in the evening and the food was terrific.A good place to stay for business.

Room Tip: Join the Holiday Inn Priority Club, it helps get the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Came to D.C. for bussines and brough my family with me.Even we stay at Holiday Inn Ballston area for one night,the people in the Front desk gave us a very pleasant welcome,that make us feel we are part of their family.Janet is just great on what she is doing at the desk,everybody who encouter her at the might fall inlove with her very friendly smile and her always willing to help other.She is always pleasant not only with us but noticed that she always acknowledge other guest too.

Restaurant people was so great with us too,Thank you to Martha,Belmer.Room was great and and all in all we will come back and stay here!!!

Room Tip: Embassy row is very near,metro station is two blocks away,shopping mall within walking distance ,res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.5 km away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#24 of 51 in Arlington
440 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Arlington
Hilton Arlington
#13 of 51 in Arlington
991 reviews
0.3 km away
The Westin Arlington Gateway
The Westin Arlington Gateway
#26 of 51 in Arlington
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Residence Inn Arlington Ballston
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rosslyn @ Key Bridge
2.8 km away
Hyatt Place Arlington/Courthouse Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston

Property: Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston
Address: 4610 Fairfax Dr, Arlington, VA 22203-1538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Arlington
#23 Family Hotel in Arlington
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,517 - ₹ 19,357
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring into value! The Holiday Inn Arlington hotel, conveniently located off I-66 East, is just 4 miles from Washington, DC (6 from DCA) in the thriving Ballston neighborhood of North Arlington. You ll find the National Science Foundation, the Nature Conservancy, AES, CACI, Global Knowledge, Accenture, and ESI within several blocks of the hotel, along with many restaurants, shopping, Macy s, and the Kettler Capitals IcePlex. It s easy to access the White House, Smithsonian museums, Zoo and the National Mall via the Metro, just 3 blocks from the Holiday Inn Arlington. Our friendly shuttle drivers will whisk you to any location within a 1-mile radius of the hotel. All guest rooms have one king or two queen beds, free high-speed Internet (wired), free refrigerators, and free coffee. We also offer a fitness center, gift shop, free business services, an outdoor pool, and a spacious parking lot with reasonable prices. Dine in our restaurant, pamper yourself with room service, or experience our airy, contemporary lounge with free Wi-Fi and plasma TVs. Our 5,000 sf of attractive function space is perfect for weddings and meetings from 10 to 300 guests.This hotel in Arlington, VA is near Georgetown, Tysons Corner, Pentagon City, Old Town Alexandria, and Arlington National Cemetery. We re also a straight shot from Dulles Airport (IAD).The Holiday Inn Arlington -- a great value for visitors to DC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Arlington At Ballston Hotel Arlington
Holiday Inn Ballston
Arlington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing