We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Gateway Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Arlington
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
166 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Flew in Sat got a great rate that included breakfast. Once the conference started room rates more than doubled. Great location to the airport and subway. Lots of places to eat. Just a fabulous location. Must take subway to tourist sights but so easy to do. Would stay there again at weekend rate but weekday rate was way too high.
Shuttle available to and from the airport at no cost

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelisfun2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    537
    172
    47
    32
See reviews for
301
182
92
603
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I arrived at 10 pm, and despite a supposedly "confirmed" reservation was told they had no room, but "conveniently" they had found a room at the Marriott Residence Inn a mile away. That's a $99 night hotel, and barely worth that. Do they overbook just to drive traffic to another property? I would say they should have put me in a place at least comparable to the Crystal Gateway, of which there are plenty in the area, not downgraded me (and doesn't Marriott own Ritz Carlton, of which there are 4 in the area?). At 10 pm. After a long day traveling. A woman traveling alone. They promised a room the next day and early checkin, but when I called at 10 am, I was told, "no, you have to call back after 2 pm", and you're on your own to arrange late check-out from the Residence Inn. (Note: the Crystal Gateway rooms overlooking the highway are very noisy. You can hear every truck driving by).

Room Tip: Although the hotel is situated right between two highways, one is a major and noisy highway, and wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the Crystal City Gateway for a long weekend and this was a return trip (although the prior stays were at least 10 years ago). The room was fine...bed was great and it was very quiet. Only noise you could hear from the hall were people talking as they passed by. Our room didn't have refrigerator or nightly turn down service as others have mentioned. The package came with free breakfast and that was a great option. Very nice buffet that ran until 1 pm on the weekends (which was great timing for us) and 10:30 during the week. The garage was very convenient and while $22 is a lot for parking, I think it's in line with the area. My only complaint is about computer access. I hate that they charge $12 something/night to use in the room (while you can use in public areas for free) and that the charge for the PC in the business center was around $7.50 for 15 minutes. I did see a computer/printer behind the concierge for printing boarding passes, but really don't like it when hotels play that game. For me, the location and ease of getting to DC outweighed this challenge and I would stay again.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank na07950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our organization held its 25th Annual conference at the Marriott. Proximity to Washington D.C. was important to our agenda. So were the reasonable room rates. With 650 attendees, the facility enabled all travelers to stay here. Ballrooms and meeting rooms were broken down and set up on schedule. Food was good. Staff was very attentive. Wi-Fi was critical to our operation and was reliable at all locations, including sleeping rooms. King bed was better than home. Mini-refrigerator, coffee/tea brewing in room. Maid service was fastidious. Good workout facility on second level open 24 hours was a bonus to hard-working staff and attendees.
The extensive underground dining/shopping under Crystal City is...well, really extensive. Be prepared to spend some time once you're down there. Don't forget a map if it's your first time in the underground complex!

Room Tip: Get room above 3rd floor level to avoid convention noise. Either tower is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great location! This hotel is conveniently located to the Metro. Metro stop is located right downstairs, never even have to go outside. The hotel is adjacent to a mall and there are several good restaurants close by. The rooms are nice, thick walls so they are quiet, towels are plush, beds comfortable and they have nightly turn-down service with chocolates on your pillow. They run deals on a regular basis for the weekends, some deals include the breakfast buffet. Buffet choices are extensive, food at the Mez restaurant is very good. The bar makes a lovely Cosmo (they call it something else but whatever the name it is yummy)! However it is the hotel and restaurant staff, that make the experience special. From the front desk to the bellman the staff welcomes you with a smile. When you call for something they are delighted to assist and treat you like they are happy you came to visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christineo_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arlington hotels
0.2 km away
The Westin Crystal City
The Westin Crystal City
#13 of 51 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reagan National Airport
0.3 km away
Crystal City Marriott at Reagan National Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Crystal City - National Airport
0.7 km away
Residence Inn Arlington Pentagon City
1.3 km away
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Gateway Marriott? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Gateway Marriott

Property: Crystal Gateway Marriott
Address: 1700 Jefferson Davis Highway, Arlington, VA 22202
Region: United States > Virginia > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Arlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arlington
#11 Family Hotel in Arlington
#13 Business Hotel in Arlington
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,426 - ₹ 32,558
Hotel Class:4 star — Crystal Gateway Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 697
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Crystal Gateway Marriott, located minutes from downtown Washington, D.C. And less than 1 mile from Reagan National Airport. Explore the entire Washington, D.C. Area via the Metro which is connected to our Arlington hotel. Step into our spacious hotel lobby here in the heart of Crystal City, VA, and enjoy complimentary wireless Internet access. Settle into one of our nearly 700 well appointed rooms and suites, each offering plush bedding, flat-screen TVs, and Marriott's unique Plug-In technology panels. Dine onsite at The Atrium or Restaurant Mez or grab a quick bite at Einstein's Bagels shop. Hosting an event in the Washington, DC area? Explore our hotel's 35,000 square feet of versatile and sophisticated venue space, and enjoy our prime location near Washington Reagan Airport (DCA). With the Crystal City Metro at our hotel doorstep, discovering the many attractions of Arlington, VA and downtown DC has never been easier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Crystal Gateway Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Crystal Gateway Hotel Arlington
Marriott Hotel Crystal Gateway
Marriott Arlington
Arlington Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing