We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveller rating
431
378
131
60
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
378
131
60
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenapartment buildingseparate kitchenthe iwo jima memorialgas stovefree pizzadc arealiving roomthe rosslyn metro stationminute walkshuttle serviceoutdoor poolgrocery storefree shuttlefront desk staffcontinental breakfastlaundry room
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

My wife and I stay at the Virginian at least one week per year, sometimes two, and I'm sure we'll be back.

The positives:

1. Large, comfortable suites.
2. Comfortable beds.
3. Full kitchen, furnished.
4. Friendly, helpful staff.
5. Large televisions in good working order.
6. Fully functional heat and air conditioning.
7. Laundry facilities available (coin operated).
8. Free WiFi.
9. Free pizza on Wednesdays.
10. The price is very good for an impressive suite in a good location.

The negatives:

1. WiFi cuts out sometimes.
2. WiFi requires guests to sign in every 24-hours.
3. $14 per day parking fee, with no assigned parking space.
4. Breakfasts are not free, nor are they particularly good.

Room Tip: full kitchen
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank magiccity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017


Dear Magiccity,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed our nice service and large suites! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Anastasia Pinkston
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Wonderful, attentive staff, very accommodating. They are friendly and helpful, with extensive knowledge of the surrounding area. Beautiful rooms, good lighting, comfortable beds. Complementary coffee and tea pretty much always. Kitchen is nice. Overall quality time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ylm1314159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017


Dear Ylm1314159,
Thank you for the 5-Star Review and thank you for sharing you experience with us! We are very pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us due to our friendly staff, beautiful rooms and other great on-site amenities! We hope to see you again in the future.

Safe Travels!

Anastasia Pinkston
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Lovely surprise opening the door to our room and finding so much space! Great location for us. Big comfy beds. Bathroom was not in proportion to the rest of the room though, it was quite small also needed a bit of tlc the plug was coming out of the wall. Nice big lobby and the free coffee in the lobby was a nice touch. Breakfast was ok, there was fresh fruit which i appreciated. Would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Holly M,
Thank you for your excellent review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's location, the size of our suites, complimentary coffee service and many other on-site amenities. We strive to maintain an exceptionally clean, inviting and relaxing atmosphere and environment inside our lobby areas and guest rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Safe travels,

Anastasia Pinkston
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

The Virginian Suites accomodates both short- and long-term visitors with comfortable well-equipped rooms and weekday shuttle rides to the nearby Metro station, an easy walk if you don't want to wait 15 minutes for the next shuttle run. Essentially next door to the Arlington National Cemetery and close to a lot of Arlington's best restaurants and bars. Friendly, helpful staff, and very good value for the DC area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fom_vsa, Front Office Manager at Virginian Suites Arlington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Jimmy Joe H,

Please accept our thanks for taking the time to post such wonderful feedback about your stay at the Virginian Suites Hotel! It's nice to see that our guest room and shuttle transportation worked well for you and made your time with us even better. We also love that you could enjoy our friendly service and wonderful location! We cannot wait to welcome you back! Thanks again!

Best Regards,

Anastasia Pinkston
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I thought charging $14 a night for parking was a sneaky "after the fact" added charge. This is the only hotel I've ever stayed at in my life that charged a fee for parking.

I asked the guy at the front desk when I checked in why and was told if the hotel didn't charge people a parking fee, locals would be using their parking lot as free public parking. This makes absolutely no sense to me. Wouldn't the piece of paper that was given to me to place on the dashboard of my car be proof enough?

The hotel I stayed at in DC two years ago did not charge for parking. So I know this can't possibly be a standard hotel practice in the DC area.

Maybe allot of tourists take a taxi, walk or take the subway so not everybody actually drives into DC? To be honest, driving in DC is a nightmare so I can understand why nobody would want to drive there. Local drivers are very rude when it comes to tourists trying to navigate an unfamiliar city in a car.

The hotel was clean but was laid out weird like it used to be an apartment complex at one time. NOTE: They offer a breakfast but they have no restaurant for lunch or dinner. However there are restaurants in the general area within walking distance and some will deliver to your room. Someone from La Bettola slipped a menu under our door and was able to order out without having to walk half a mile for a meal. BTW, the food from La Bettola was excellent and reasonable. On other other hand, there is a restaurant within 1/4 mile called the Quarterdeck. They had good food but was very expensive.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Turbo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews