We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monaco Alexandria, VA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our first time in a Kimpton Hotel. We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was gracious, friendly and most accommodating. The Monaco is a great place to stay if you're visiting Alexandria area. We loved the wine hour in the afternoon, free coffee in the morning, and free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_BStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear B_BStone,

Thank you for trying us out, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay so much! Hopefully we will see you again the next time your travels bring you back down this way!

Have a great day,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,820)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,191 - 1,195 of 1,820 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We absolutely love Kimpton hotels!! They are great all the way around. We love the "Yappy Hour". We have switched to trying to stay with them exclusively. I wish they were in more cities. They provide great service by happy employees in beautiful location - Alexandria is a great case in point. The location is good. The shopping is everywhere and very diverse. The room was spacious and the bathroom was huge with a walk-in shower and soaking tub!! Love it!

Room Tip: Try to achieve Inner Circle status lots of perks - better than any other hotel chain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Kimberly M,

We've got the 'Dog Friendly' thing down, don't we?! Thanks so much for your business, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Take care,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great luck as I found the Hoterl Monaco available and at a good price in between the spring break tourists and the Cherry Blossom tourists. Happened to have a good deal of business going in Arlington and Alexandria and a quick night at a Wizards game at the Verizon so the Hotel Monaco was quickly taken as a reservation.

Great stay, great experience and I'm starting to fall in love w/ Old Town Alexandria after being a Georgetown resident and insider visitor over many years. Came in late so realized I might not get one of the prime rooms but I had a back room which in the morn had a LOT of light and it was as quiet as could be (on the 5th floor). Front desk staff was great and gave me a few hints on my typical 5 or 6 questions as I checked in. I was driving so I left my car on the street parked as was late and simply moved it into a garage before 8am and the meter maids start up. I had read another Tripadvisor traveler report and I too found a garage right across the street (side) street that only cost me $14 for a day and a half vs. the valet at $25.

Room was perfectly clean, great plugs for computers on the desk, a small but really nice bathroom w/ solid french door , a super comfortable king size bed, a nice size flat screen TV and plenty of quiet.....

Enjoyed the free coffee both mornings, I managed to barely make it back from the King Street Metro (a 15 minute walk) one night in the light rain at 5:55pm.... right before the close of the wine and the waiter was SO nice to pour me 2 glasses before they closed up. After being on the metro at 3 different locastions, it was a little thing but it meant a lot to me.

Came back from the Verizon Center one night late and it only took me @ 12 minutes to get to the hotel so very commutable, but again, in an off hour. Shower was hot, lots of people to speak to at the one wine hour I made, had breakfast at their restaurant, Jackson 20, which was terririfc so again... the love affairs w/ the Kimpton Hotels continues. Ate at the bar at Landini Bros. on King Street, @ a 3 minute walk and it was also terrific so a really, really good business trip.

Room Tip: My 5th floor back room was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MysticKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerMattHurlburt, General Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear MysticKid,

Thanks for your feedback, and I'm not just saying that because it was so positive! We appreciate your business and hope that we will become your new home away from home when your travels bring you back down here to the D.C. area!

Take care,

Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Hotel Monaco was a wonderful experience. From the gracious and attentive staff to the inviting and lovely rooms, my family was beyond pleased with our experience. The rooms are lovely and well cared for... from the doorman to the front desk to the Jackson 20 rest.... perfect to the tee. My husband and 10 year old enjoyed our stay immensely and highly recommend this lovely boutique hotel to anyone visiting the DC area... just a quick 10 minute ride to the city and then back to the lovely town of Alexandria for a change of pace each day. Thank you Hotel Monaco for making our trip just the right getaway!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkwmarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerKateEllis, Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear jkwmarketing,

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your getaway in Old Town! Our staff loves hearing such great comments about the time our guests spend with us, it just makes our day! Please come back and see us again soon.

Best,
Kate
Hotel Monaco Alexandria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Very nice experience. Big size rooms with nice marble bathrooms. Pleasant Doormen and Receptionist. Very friendly. Nice smell as you step in the lobby. One big defect.... The individual air conditioning are extremely noisy. They can wake you up as they automatically start. Why such a nice hotel does not fix this problem. The 3 eggs for 2 breakfast with fresh orange juice is very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side specially the low floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My-Ooops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerKateEllis, Manager at The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear My-Ooops,

Thanks for the great feedback. We did do an oops when this great weather caught us off guard. We are still ramping up our air conditioning units for summer usage. Promise they will be better next time you stay!

Best,
Kate
Hotel Monaco Alexandria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,309 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection

Address: 480 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria)
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#4 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: ₹ 9,319 - ₹ 22,780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection, in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, is a luxury boutique hotel with rich design. Discerning travelers will appreciate the sumptuous décor, top-notch service and eclectic sensibility that our impeccable Alexandria, VA hotel provides. Stay with us and revel in our historically rich surroundings and contemporary comforts that provide for a memorable stay near Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon and all of Washington DC's many attractions. Conveniently adjacent to our hotel is the exceptional Jackson 20 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Prestigia, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Alexandria Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing