We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints”

Vaso's Mediterranean Bistro
Ranked #5 of 879 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

I love this restaurant. The food is so fresh and delicious. I love being friends and clients here as it never disappoints

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank maryb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018

This Greek restaurant is the second establishment this owner opened. It is a good addition to the Old Town culinary scene. Their crab salad is excellent, giros and other Greek specialties are well prepared and tasty. They should do something about the atmosphere...maybe add music?

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Renata2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Last week my wife and I wanted to take our son to a restaurant for his Birthday. Since our family has a Greek heritage, we wanted to find a good Greek restaurant with authentic Greek cuisine. After reading several reviews, we decided to try Vasos’ Greek restaurant in Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. When we arrived for lunch we were greeted by a courteous wait staff that helped us decide on our drinks. The lunch menu was minimal, but it included the basic Greek dishes. I ordered the moussaka, my wife ordered the Greek sampler and our son ordered the Greek salad. We were presented with some bread and olive oil dip while we waited for the main courses. When the food arrived we shared portions between us so we could all experience the taste and quality of the various offerings. We tasted, Greek olives wrapped with anchovies, feta cheese, keftedes, spanakopitas, and tzatziki and spicy feta based dips with pita bread. Everything was perfectly prepared and tasted exactly as it should have tasted, authentic Greek cuisine at its best. We were told that all foods were freshly prepared by the master cook “mom.” We didn’t have the opportunity to personally meet “mom”, but we did appreciate all the great Greek food she prepared for us. Kudos to “mom!” To celebrate our son’s birthday the staff presented our son with a portion of galataburico with a lit candle in the middle. A nice ending to complete our wonderful dining experience. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant again.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Wonderfully delicious food with outstanding service! A welcoming restaurant with terrific ambience. We are regular returning customers.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank valph2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

We were a party of four. We ordered the calamari fritti and baked oysters on the half shell. Both were delicious, although I prefer my calamari a lot crisper. However it was very tender. For main course we had lamb shank and branzini fish. The lamb shank was absolutely delicious but the fish was a bit disappointing. Overall it was a great night and food was quite acceptable, although not outstanding. Even the standard bread and olive oil was a bit below par. The bread could have been heated up even just a little. Service, however was excellent and our waitress, Gulas worked hard and was very accommodating. For dessert we shared one tiramisu and I couldn't fault that at all!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vaso's Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Vaso's Mediterranean Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing