We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying Korean BBQ buffet.”
Review of Hee Been

Hee Been
Ranked #190 of 878 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Barbecue, Japanese, Korean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

This is our first visit to Hee Been, and we found this place upon a Google search for Korean BBQ buffets. The food is very good, and the lunch buffet prices are reasonable. I wish they offered a larger selection of cold and hot items in the buffet, though the sushi selection was good. We have a favorable impression of Heebeen.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Hudsonmccraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

When you see this place from the outside, it's nothing to impress. However, when you walk in the ambiance is great. The other aspect is the variety. You can get Korean, some Chinese and some pretty good sushi. It's not the cheapest place in town but it's worth it. Each table has it's own small grill and you go pick the meat you want, bring it back to your table and then while you go back to get the rest of your food, the servers put the meat on to cook. You pull the meat off the grill as you eat. It was my first experience here but it definitely won't be my last. You won't do it on the cheap, though, so plan for it. However, the all you can eat buffet aspect helps curb the expense.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Flew in and went to dinner with a friend. Her and her husband used to live in Korea and took me to Hee Been. Wow....all of my favorites out on the buffet. Meat grilled at the table with as many other things you desire. Many soups to pick from and a variety of sushi as well. I ate.....a lot....and enjoyed every bite.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Mistoffole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We went for lunch, I for the first time. It takes a little bit getting used to. It is serve yourself. There are a few American salads, A selection of sushi (but it is not great sushi) Korean salads, soups, sauces, raw proteins, selections of Korean Bakery cakes, fresh fruit and some other type of liquid.
You are Seated at a table of four with a BBQ in the center.
You order your beverage, go to the buffet islands, and search out your edibles. At the "Raw Bar," you will need a separate plate to add your selections of pork, chicken, beef or shrimp with several in marinades. You bring those back to your table and put them on the BBQ that has already been turned on for you. Your server will check back, cut the pieces into bite size morsels and will let you know when they are done. Then you go back and forth for more food and more tastings. At the end there is a soft serve ice cream machine in the corner, so have at it. The cost of lunch $13.99 insane. Parking is free. You can talk to your companions. The place is immaculate. The servers and cooks are friendly, this is dining in DC?. Enjoy and go often.
Dinner is a little different. This was the lunch experience.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

This place is a wonderful experience for anyone wanting to try Korean. The buffet is great with over 10 different entrees that can be cooked at your table. Sides are plentiful with a large selection of items. Desserts were typical Korean and included cakes, fruits and soft ice cream. The place is modern and clean, although the shopping center is in need of revitalization.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank L7256FTmarkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hee Been? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing