We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian food in an unexpected place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dishes of India

Dishes of India
Ranked #57 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in an unexpected place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Wonderful regional Indian cuisine. A little expensive but very good. Lunch buffet is a great deal. Restaurant is in a basement space in a shopping center. Not great decor but they do their best and the food makes up for it. Enjoy!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoneDivingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    49
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Indian at a Great Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

A long time favorite of mine, it consistently delivers high quality food with excellent service at a fair price.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sail2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
302 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“My Favorite Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This restaurant has the best Indian food. There are others that have fancier decor, but this is a quiet, charming place with lovely service and most importantly fantastic food. Dishes of India has spoiled me, because no other restaurant I've been to is as good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
333 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Still as Good as it Gets for Fine Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I have been visiting this great restaruant since it opened. The service was superb as always and the specials and newly added menu items where hits with our party. The food and service are always consistent - Excellent and it is great value.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sail2fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in Northern Virginia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have been on the look out for a good Indian restaurant in the Northern Virginia area - Dishes of India IS that restaurant! I've been eating here for the past two years.

The food tastes like it is made from the highest quality meats, vegetables, and grains. My absolute favorite dish is the Butter Chicken. I recommend the samosas (for an appetizer) and the garlic naan too. Skip the chai tea though - it is way to sweet.

The location is unassuming. The restaurant would be easy to miss if you weren't looking for it. It is the basement, next to Subway in the Belle Haven shopping area. It is a place many locals frequent, which makes it even more special when you stumble upon it. People dress casual to business casual. I love that I can go in jeans or right after work (in a suit) and not feel out of place.

The service is awesome too!

After your first visit, you can sign up for the Dishes of India email list. Every couple of months I get an email with a coupon and/or information on the restaurant's specials. I think it is worth signing up.

Dinner can be a bit on the pricey side. The lunch buffet is the best deal around though - it is under $13.00 per person for all the delicious Indian food you can eat. And don't forget the rice pudding for dessert!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dishes of India also viewed

 

Been to Dishes of India? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing