We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Otsego
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Close to restaurants, shopping, metro system and much more. For location, price not bad. Room very nice and spacious and comfortable. Staff very friendly, professional and more than willing to assist with your needs. Can't say enough about this location.

Room Tip: Our room was close to elevator and we could not hear elevator. Very solid hotel and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garbo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    223
    68
    10
    5
See reviews for
286
174
39
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level Contributor
257 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had our friend from Montana with us and wanted a good location to stay for 4 days and 3 nights and this place wins hands down. You are only two blocks from the Metro (to DC and othe places) and two blocks from the King Street Trolley (free trolley in Alexandria). The service in the hotel was unbelievable; the staff behind the desk and those in the food area all worked to see that every client received personal attention. Josh greeted us with a warm welcome and answered all our questions in a most pleasant manner....that's always a good start. Our rooms were spacious and very clean! They offer a free breakfast (both hot and cold) with lots of choices. We had a kitchen in our suites and they will even do your grocery shopping. We didn't need this service, but saw the staff bringing in food from Whole Foods for the clients. And, from Monday thru Thursday, they offer a free dinner (salad and entree and beverages, which include wine and beer). The food is prepared by the LaPorta's (upscale restaurant next door) and is superb. How great is all that? We ate at the hotel one night and it was very, very good. Then, we walked next door to LaPorta's for after dinner drinks and dessert. We ate at other restaurants the other nights. All three of us felt this was the best hotel ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelexplorer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were in town for a visit to the sites in Washington DC and decided on this hotel as a great option for our family - 2 adults, 4 children and a baby. We had a great two bedroom, two bath suite with a full kitchen, including a stove and oven. Worked out great as there is a Whole Foods right nearby. Truly appreciated the morning breakfast buffet as well as the weeknight light dinner. Kids enjoyed the pool and we did also make use of the laundry facilities which we found to be very clean and well kept. Some of the furniture in our suite was starting to show some wear, but we found everything to be clean and comfortable. My parents also stayed at the hotel and had a very nice two bedroom suite--their suite though did not have an oven--just a two burner cooktop, so if the oven is important to you, be sure to check in with the hotel on that when you book your room. We walked daily to and from the King Street metro station. I believe there is a shuttle, but we found the walk to be quite manageable. If we are ever back in the area, this would be our choice of hotels. The staff was all very friendly and welcoming after being out touring for a long day.

Room Tip: Ask about the kitchen facilities to ensure you get what you are looking for and know what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HavekKidsWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We just returned from 4 night stay.
This was a long planned vacation to DC from NC.
This hotel was perfect for us.
We had a 1 bedroom suite looking out over Old Town.
One caution - there is a $18 daily day valet charge if you drive your car. But after reviewing all of the other options we felt this was acceptable.
Easy access to Metro station one block away. Many other hotels we considered required some form of bus ride to get to a metro station. This would have easily added 30 minutes each way.
We had a super easy ride to our tours of the Capital, Supreme Court and Library of Congress - a simple 24 minute train ride.
8 miles from Mt. Vernon. A must-see if you are going to DC area for vacation.
The hotal had the best "free" breakfast we have ever had at any hotel.
Mon-Thurs the hotel had free happy hour and buffet. They did not call the buffet dinner but it could certainly qualify if you did not wish to explore any of the excellent restaurenats in walking distance.
Walking distance to several very nice restaurants. We tried Joe Theisman's one night - one block away - and had a great meal.
There was a free trolley car ride if you wanted to go further down towards the wharf area restaurants - .5 to .8 miles away. We walked it one evening.
If you want to eat in - there was a Whole Foods one block away. We did this our last night - got take-out from Whole Foods hot bar and ate in our suite which ahd a full kitchen and dining table.
Hotel staff was very nice - helped with hints and tips. We accidentally dropped our camera in the elevator on the way to check out. Realized it 2 hours and 100 miles later. Called front desk and after describing the camera the said they had it and would send it to our home. rec'd it 2 days later. They were great.
Overall - Great location, wonderful property, very helpful staff.

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings - ask for front building with street view. Back building may only provide vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank My-opinion-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomar, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Alexandria in itself is worth the visit and the hotel just made it perfect. I walked in without a reservation and got a beautiful big room with big double bed and (comfortable) sofa bed for our son for 129$:). On Thursday evening there was a complimentary social event: free drinks (wine or beer, 2 per adult) and nachos, salad bar. Great.
Hot breakfast was more than sufficient as it was also complimentary:eggs , bacon, porridge, bagels,waffles, fresh fruit and yoghurt, delicious coffee; perfect despite that the hotel was fuly booked
The weather was so good that we did not even get the occasion to use the pool or the shuttle.
Staff were extremely helpful; at breakfast we were not allowed to clean the tables ourselves, the staff was so adequate and friendly, one lady litterally said ' You are new guest, welcome!'....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,368 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,227 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,012 - ₹ 21,645
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing