We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ever for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best ever for families!”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Amazing free breakfast, friendly staff, great location- short walk to metro.
Mon-Thursday free dinner with drinks!
Gave the kids teddy bears- just steps from whole foods- this place is fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisadee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    223
    68
    10
    5
See reviews for
286
174
39
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

First of all, the place is great! Very clean, spacious, comfortable, accommodations. The staff is friendly, caring, and professional. We recently stayed there for a relative's wedding. The wedding venue was in Maryland, about 15 minutes away with no public transportation. We were running behind and at the last minute the hotel's general manager, Mike Wilson, offered to drive us to the event in his personal car! I have never been treated with such sincere friendliness and hospitality anywhere in the world! This gesture was a lifesaver and saved the day. Thank you again, Mike, for being such a good guy. Your karma is definitely happening.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merkincrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel has so much going for it: courteous and professional staff; excellent location; clean rooms; indoor pool; nice breakfast; complementary light evening meals; and great proximity to old town and the Metro. The big negative here was that, in our room, you could hear the elevator machinery going all night.

We had five people in a 2 bedroom unit. We use these units frequently at Residence Inns as they are perfect for us. When they first assigned us to room 505 I asked for a different room because 505 was right next to a powerful fan that cooled the hallway. They then assigned us to room 715. All was well until we went to sleep. All night long, you could hear the winding of the elevator motor and the clicking and clacking when it came to rest. This went on all night and I got very little sleep. My wife is a very heavy sleeper and was also awakened by the noise.

The next day I asked if we could have a quieter room, and they assigned us back to room 505. Although it was somewhat quieter at night, we could still hear the elevators. I did adapt to it after a couple of nights but it did disturb my wife's sleep periodically. This hotel appears to be newer and I'm surprised that the insulation was not better. My advice? Ask for a room on the perimeter of the building where you'll be on the opposite side of the hall from the elevator shaft.

Although the sleep situation was a negative, I have to say that overall we enjoyed our 7 nights here. It's any easy walk to old town and the King Street Metro. The staff is very courteous and helpful, and surprisingly, they had a light evening meal on Monday through Thursday that easily served as our dinner for 2 of our nights. Our kids used the indoor pool and I did make use of the underground garage for 1 night ($18.00 charge).

Overall a good stay but light sleepers beware.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in which the door is on the wall that is opposite the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We have stayed here twice over two different school vacations and each time we received good service. The location to the metro is excellent and is in a very reasonable walking distance. The hotel also provides both drop off and pick up. Just get your driver's card and you can call to be picked up right at the metro. This is a great service when the weather is bad or if you are just too tired from walking the DC area throughout the day. We loved having a kitchen so we could spend more of our vacation time sight seeing and not trying to locate food. We simply walked or drove to the Whole Foods around the corner and were set for the week.

I would also like to mention that one time, after having already made our reservation, we read quite a poor review on TA and we were concerned about visiting so we chose to contact the hotel directly. The staff addressed each of our questions in a kind, non defensive, professional manner and went above and beyond to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. Quality hotel with quality staff. Would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: The city view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pab34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review for our hotel. We are glad you came back for another vacation. I am happy to see you had such a positive experience and memorable interaction with the staff. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is above average has good service clean rooms and nice Breakfast in the mornings. A great location near Old Town Alexandria

Room Tip: Expect a $18 a night for parking and upon arrival home expect a surprise charge on your credit card...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbond00796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for your review! We will share your comments with the staff, particularly housekeeping...they will be excited to hear your comments!

M. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,229 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,009 - ₹ 21,444
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing