We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is above average has good service clean rooms and nice Breakfast in the mornings. A great location near Old Town Alexandria

Room Tip: Expect a $18 a night for parking and upon arrival home expect a surprise charge on your credit card...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesbond00796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for your review! We will share your comments with the staff, particularly housekeeping...they will be excited to hear your comments!

M. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    221
    67
    10
    5
See reviews for
282
174
39
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicagoland area
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Arrived at 2am on a Friday to find that the garage was filled and I would need to park a block away. Mike the only Front Desk Clerk on duty took the initiative to go move his car, so we could park at the hotel.....a great start to the trip. They do a nice job cleaning the rooms. We were in a two-bedroom suite on the 15th floor and it was very quite. All interaction were very positive. The only knock was the chairs in the rooms were looking a little worn. The hotel is about 4 years old, so everything else looks new.

Room Tip: The metro is next to the building, we did not hear it but you may want to ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delmov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexandriaHotelMgt, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We apologize you had a parking challenge and pleased that our associate went above and beyond to assist. We appreciate you staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel room has nice amenities for families. The kitchen and large fridge is useful for families.

The sofa bed which we needed to use to accommodate our family of 4 in the room, was old and uncomfortable. My back can feel the metal parts quite uncomfortably.

Breakfast fare was larger than most continental breakfast including eggs and waffle irons.

Staff was friendly in every way.

The $18 per nite parking was a surprise. So include that when comparing total costs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyGuy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel was a short walk from the center of Old Town. The hotel was very clean and the rooms very spacious. Breakfast was much larger than your standard continental fare and included many healthy choices. And the staff was genuinely friendly, helpful. Over all, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaBandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn in Alexandria the last weekend in March for a long weekend. We stayed in a 1-bedroom Queen suite.

PROS:
Nice sized "living area" space with a full size fridge, dishware and dishwasher. Couch was comfortable for watching TV, good lighting for reading
Room towards back was quiet and curtains kept room dark for sleeping
Proximity to King Street for Metro and lots of restaurant options and a Whole Foods up the street for snacks, beer and wine
Breakfast option available

CONS:
Uncomfortable, small bedroom area, with poor mattress, pillow and linen quality.
Unreliable hot water - sometimes scorching, sometimes lukewarm; thin bathroom towels
Breakfast was a zoo with too many people trying to eat in too small an area. We went out for breakfast every morning even though it was included in our room rate because it was so crowded

I've stayed at both the Hilton and Embassy Suites which are closer to the metro and offer better quality and more options for a similar price - wouldn't recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sailorgirlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#8 of 54 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Property: Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Address: 1456 Duke St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3403
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,405 - ₹ 23,846
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing