We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A convenient place to stay when visiting D.C.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Ranked #23 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Kansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A convenient place to stay when visiting D.C.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel is a convenient and affordable place to stay while visiting Washington D.C. It is located close to Washington National Airport, and the Huntington Metro Station is only a mile away.

The hotel appears very clean and well maintained. The front desk staff was very welcoming when we checked in, and they gave us recommendations on how to best use the metro, sightseeing, etc ... This was all helpful and much appreciated. The rooms were quiet, and we heard very little outside noise the entire stay. The complimentary breakfast selection offered was typical for a Holiday Inn Express, and the serving / eating area was very clean and well stocked. There was not a charge for parking here; most other hotels in the area do charge a nightly fee.

My only issue would involve the safety of the area. I was only at the hotel for one night, so perhaps that is not long enough to evaluate the neighborhood. We walked three blocks after dark to eat at Five Guys Burger, which we did only because traffic in the area was very heavy at the time. I was walking with quite a few others, but had there been only 2 or 3 of us I don't think I would have felt safe doing this. When we returned from eating, two police cars were in the hotel parking lot with lights on and three people were in handcuffs. The police were searching two cars that were at the Holiday Inn. I know this is not the responsibility of the hotel, but I mentioned it only because it did impact my opinion of the neighborhood.

I would definitely stay here again if visiting D.C. as I have nothing but positive comments about the hotel itself and the employees. As is probably true in any big city, though, I would use caution if staying here solo.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KSU-Cat-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    106
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
159
62
12
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

The hotel was very clean and nice, but the bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows were as flat as pancakes. Overall, it was a nice stay. The front desk staff was very accommodating.
NO bed bugs is always a PLUS!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sweetplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to write a nice review about our hotel. I will look into different options for pillows, I do apologize that they were not as comfortable as you would have liked. We hope that when you travel back to the Alexandria area you will choose our hotel once again.

Thanks.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumsteadville, PA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here in November 2011. This is right on the Richmond Hwy which is an excellent location for getting back and forth to the DC Metro Station at Huntingdon. The Hotel offers a free shuttle ride to and from the Station. GREAT shuttle driver (Fred) was very personable, most accommodating. Also, the front desk (Antwan?? I know I must've spelled his name wrong!!) was extremely cordial and really helped us in every way possible.

We had a Suite which, in addition to a very comfortable bed, included a desk, sofa and tables, and a mini-kitchen with a fridge and microwave...it even had a kitchen sink.

The only thing I would change is the "unit" for heating and air conditioning. It was a little noisy.

The complimentary breakfast was pretty good, very much what you'd expect from this sort of offering. The young lady that maintains the breakfast buffet was so sweet, and really did a good job on keeping up with the task at hand.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeabodyandSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Guest

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice and detailed review. Antwane and Fred are very special to us here and we are glad to hear they made a great first impression. Thank you for talking about our ideal location for other guests to read and give us a try. We hope the next time you are in Alexandria you will come and see us again!

Have a wonderful week!

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldwell, ID
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Picked this off tripadvisor based on other people liking it. Great place to stay, clean, good breakfast. Very nice. We agree with everyone that Da'Nette was great! Get tips on nearby tourist attractions from front desk. Learned about free bus service in Old Town Alexandria. Also appreciated Nancy at breakfast, Fred on the shuttle car and Edric at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Guest

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. Also glad to hear you decided to stay with us due to reading our trip advisor reviews. We strive everyday to make our guests feel welcome and somewhere you can be "You", please stay with us again if you are in the Alexandria area.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Roads, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I have no hesitation in recommending the Holiday Inn Express in Alexandria for stays around the Washington, DC area. The hotel is easy to find and access from the Interstate. Da'Nette, the front desk receptionist, was enthusiastic and helpful upon our arrival and was available for any and all issues and questions. The room itself was large and cozy, and I can't say enough good of the comfortable bed and pillows. I certainly got a good night's sleep after a long day of walking around the DC area!

The bathroom was exceptionally clean and roomy, and although we didn't use it during our short stay, the kitchenette is a definite bonus for longer visits and included a small refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast provided the next morning was well done and includes all of the usual Holiday Inn Express items. I will certainly use this hotel if I ever find myself in northern Virginia/Washington, DC again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turkeysammich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, 22 November 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words. Glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay. Please keep us in mind the next time you are traveling to Alexandria.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#18 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
9.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 53 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
9.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Alexandria at Carlyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Address: 6055 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-2101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,025 - ₹ 19,235
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing