We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of BRABO Restaurant

BRABO Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
BRABO Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 832 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Harvard St
Transit: Metro one block, free trolley
Description: Named for a statue in of Antwerp, Belgium, BRABO Restaurant is as legendary and longstanding as its namesake hero. The award-winning talents of Chef Sebastien Rondier create unforgettable dining at BRABO Restaurant. The comfortable dining room's stylish details like a custom hammered copper bar reflect our historic Old Town location, topped off with an oversized antique map above the bar. The Brasserie up front features a lively atmosphere and hearty portions accompanied by a comprehensive cocktail list. Tucked away in the Formal Dining Room guests enjoy a leisurely paced meal of several courses in a Tasting Menu format. BRABO is dedicated to relationships with local farms and passionate artisans and is proud to feature local and regional products. Check in with one of our teammates for great recommendations of what to see and do around town- they love to share!
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This was third trip to Brabo and something has happened to this once lovely restaurant.
First, it was a Saturday night and there was a large party in the hotel.
Regardless, it took around 45 minutes to get our drinks for a table of eight-the same with dinner.All we got were excuses that the bar was late and nothing about the tardiness of the dinner.
Our waiter would disappear for long periods of time.
Management should have employed more help if they knew it was a busy night.
The food was average -unlike on our previous trips when it was quite good.
The noise level was so high it was impossible to speak to one across from you
Overall, presently it is not worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luckywashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 September 2017

Hello,

It seems like you did not receive our best. We appreciate all feedback, and I will be sure to share this with our team. I would like to invite you back for a proper Brabo experience. Please feel free to reach out directly: philip.lucas@braborestaurant.com

Respectfully,

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

I had the pleasure of hosting a dinner for 9 at BRABO recently. I was a bit worried that we would be crowded into a corner and hurried along. I needn't have worried. OUr table was perfectly placed along a lovely wall--we weren't crowded in any sense.

Service was great. Our server timed every interaction perfectly so that we were able to order easily and keep our attention to our networking at hand.

The food was excellent. We dined a la cart. Most of us got the halibut which was sitting on a complex sauce with a tad of truffle oil. Delicious! The portion size is exactly what I would serve at home, about 6 oz.

My guests felt pampered and spoiled and kept talking about their lovely evening the entire next day.

And one more thing, the wine list is great . Lots to choose from old and new world. Reasonable price point options in addition to those outstanding library wines.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MBiblis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 September 2017

Thank you for sharing the kind feedback! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Had dinner in the Brasserie, which is adjacent to the bar. Noise level made conversation all but impossible. Dinner was overpriced and underwhelming. Hanger steak was tough and had an odd, off flavor. Cod was tasty but not particularly memorable. Neither entrée had enough vegetable matter, a pet peeve. Salad and desserts were unremarkable. Dinner for two - two glasses of wine, shared salad, two entrees, two desserts and coffee - came to $145 (without tip). I would expect MUCH better for that price. Sadly disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NJTraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking to improve, so I will share this with the team. We would love the opportunity to have you back for a true Brabo experience. Please reach out directly if you would like to make a reservation: philip.lucas@braborestaurant.com

Respectfully,

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We have been to Brabo's Tasting Room on many occasions, since it is a somewhat less expensive and more informal restaurant than the main dining room. But every once in a while we go to the main dining room as we recently did for Restaurant Week. We were not disappointed. The menu was quite limited but incredibly delicious. The watermelon and tomato gazpacho was great, if you like gazpacho. The romaine and spinach salad had obviously been made hours earlier and needed new dressing. But when added, that was great as well. We both had the NC Trout and loved it. And the warm chocolate waffle dessert was also scrumptious. Service was first rate, as always (thanks Valerie). This is a great place for special occasions and we will undoubtedly be back since we live close by.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2017

Thank you for the kind words, David! We hope to see you soon -- in either restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

A true dining experience! A cut above the rest and we recomend it for those who know what "fine" in fine dining truly means.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2017

Thanks (again) Paul! Can't wait to have you in again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BRABO Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to BRABO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing