We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We enjoyed a weekend getaway at the Hotel Indigo. The hotel is new and very pretty, with nice design touches throughout. Staff was friendly and eager to help, from valet to front desk to the excellent bar and hostess staff in their restaurant, Hummingbird.

Just a couple of things that I wanted to mention as possible issues when considering where to book: parking here is $35 a day, with in and out privileges and a great valet staff. However, directly across the street is a parking garage charging $7 flat rate per day. So if you are parking once and walking around Old Town for your stay, that may be worth checking out.

Secondly, we paid extra for a river view room. And we could indeed see the river, which was pretty. As long as we stood back from the window and looked straight ahead, the view was worth it. However, the up close view looks down on very ugly construction parking and excavation, and at eye level is a large set of utility lines and eyesore transformers. So unless you truly hate to look at brick buildings or trees, I would say not worth the extra charge.

Finally, when you first walk in, the Hotel Indigo smells wonderful. Over time, you either don't notice the scent at all anymore (I would guess this is most people) or if you are scent-sensitive, you realize they diffuse it everywhere. It is especially strong in the elevators, but also noticeable in the guest room, mostly in the bathroom. This is the only reason I would hesitate to stay here again. Strong fragrance tends to set off my sinuses, and I know others are sensitive as well, so I am mentioning it.

More good things - the Hotel is set away from the busy tourist areas, but is only a five minute walk to everything. It was nice and quiet without being too far away. It happened to be freezing the weekend we were there, but I could see that it would be lovely to sit out on the deck area in nicer weather. Housekeeping was great - the room was super clean and the bed had a new pillow-top Sealy mattress that was very comfortable.

Room Tip: "River view" is also "construction view" and "power pole view", so may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank luuucee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear luuucee, Thank you for the feedback about your stay. We think our staff are pretty great too, and we're glad to look in to the items you mentioned. If we can do anything for you before your next visit, please let us know! Best, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

We had a terrific stay at the Hotel Indigo. The location cannot be beat! We had a room with a view of the river. The bed was super comfy and the room was immaculate. It was also very quiet. We found the staff to be very friendly. Our room was on the smaller side and it did not have a fridge but that was no problem for us. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear catsepoo, Thank you for the excellent review! We still can't get over the view and are glad to have your recommendation now, too! Best, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This hotel is less than a year old and is on the waterfront in Alexandria. Only two blocks from King Street it is very central to shopping, sightseeing and restaurants. Everything in the hotel is new, well appointed and stylishly designed. Only one complaint: Our room on 3 was immediately above the industrial trash compactor which is very loud (at night). I didn't have time to move rooms but I did ask on the second night for a promise not to turn the machine on over night which they were able to do.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the loading dock and trash compactor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPC2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear MPC2020, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're always happy to help, and appreciate that you let us know how we did! Best, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Well, it's clean and well maintained for opening 7 months ago. The rooms are spacious and immaculate. No microwave or mini-fridge here. Staff was conscientious and gregarious. The attached Hummingbird restaurant is high priced for the menu items. You can go out the back patio door, down the steps, to the left and go to Chadwick's for beer and dishes half the price of what Hummingbird charges. I'd stay here again. I just wouldn't eat here. Noisy and pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Jim O, You fit right in! Our gregarious staff love to make local recommendations, and Chadwick's is near the top of the list! We'll look forward to seeing you there soon. Best, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

It was a nice hotel. However, we stayed when I am sure it wasn't totally booked and we were given a room with no view. I am sure that they could have put us in one a little nicer. The front desk staff were superb, though! When I called to see if we could get the parking fee reimbursed, I was disappointed. Not sure I would stay here again. There was an issue with the heat/air staying on in our room and the water took FOREVER to get hot.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 328. Water took forever to get hot and we had heat/air issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate E, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Heather, Thanks for sharing your story with us. We have many room options, and always want to help find the right fit for everyone, so please let us know what you like! If there is still something outstanding, please contact me directly so I can help. Best, Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,358 reviews
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria

Address: 220 S Union St, Alexandria, VA 22314-3326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: ₹ 8,549 - ₹ 18,199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each Hotel Indigo® property is uniquely designed to reflect the culture, character and history of the surrounding neighborhood. Nestled on the shores of one of the busiest ports in America, Hotel Indigo® Old Town Alexandria is a charming enclave of colonial treasures and historic waterfront architecture. Between Old Town’s iconic cobblestones to the north and the Potomac’s storied banks to the east, our boutique hotel showcases the neighborhood’s dynamic allure. Traces of Alexandria’s colonial past are evident throughout the hotel, but the story got subterranean when crews unearthed a 50-foot vessel during construction. According to archaeologists, the ship was abandoned in the late 18th century and served as a crucial part of the process responsible for extending the waterfront. Take in views of the river from our guest rooms or from the restaurant overlooking the water, then head out to explore the quaint streets of Alexandria, once home to George Washington, Robert E. Lee and Jim Morrison. Just minutes away from the Ronald Reagan National Airport and the Interstate-495, the Hotel Indigo® Old Town Alexandria is in the center of all the local action while still featuring convenient access to D.C. and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Indigo Old Town Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing