We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well staffed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Very clean and extremely friendly staff. The shuttle was available 24/7 to the metro station or Old Town district. OnlY downside was there was no place to walk to get a meal or drink. AC in our room very loud...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SamiSushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,113)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 976 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

It's one of the older Hampton's, not yet remodeled. The price for the area was average, as was the staff. If traveling with kids, be aware that the pool is outside. Enjoyed Springhill Suites about a 1/2 mile down the road quite a bit better and the price was better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with our hotel. I am sorry you did not get to see the new lobby project we just completed. The project consisted of new flooring, furniture, wall covering and decor. The completed project has given the hotel a fresh new look and we have received many positive comments from our guests. Photos will be posted soon.

The outdoor pool is open Memorial Day through Labor Day weekend and offers a spacious deck area where our guests can enjoy the sun and fresh air.

I hope when you return to the area, you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This is a good hotel near Alexandria and Reagan National Airport. They offer free shuttle service to the airport and metro station (Huntington station). They also offer shuttle service to Alexandria's restaurant district too. The hotel also offers free breakfast and internet. The rooms are spacious and well maintained and include refrigerator and microwave oven. The people at the reception are all very courteous. There are a few downsides to this property too. One is that the housekeeping service was very slow. The other is that if you are the person, who prefers to walk and go to a store/restaurant nearby - then you will be disappointed since there are no convenient ones located close to the property.

Other than that, this is a good hotel for a leisure DC trip.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 5th/6th floors
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lodget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel. There is a pedestrian walk way in front of the hotel that allows access to Washington Street and a few restaurants. Most of our guests prefer the shuttle service that will take them to Market Square which is centrally located to many shops and restuarants. I hope you enjoyed the new look of our lobby and breakfast area. Please visit with us again when you find you way back to this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel! We had a family group of 7 stay in three rooms this past week. The breakfast, free shuttle, rooms, front desk, all great. It is perfect for traveling into DC because they take you to the metro 24hrs a/day! The price for what we received was also fabulous. I would recommend this hotel and I'm very picky.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

It was very nice to read about your stay at our hotel. We will share your comments with the rest of the staff to let them know they are doing a great job. Please visit with us again. New pictures of our wonderful lobby will be posted soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed 2 nights in May 2012. Very friendly staff. Had freshly baked cookies on the counter which were sooooooo good! People actually came down again and asked for another one :-). Nice relaxing (free) breakfast room. Loved the waffles you can make yourself. Free shuttle service to Huntington Metro Station blue line (so not King Street yellow line, so in order to go to Smithsonian you do have to transfer but with the sub it's not that bad), King Street City Hall and Ronald Reagan Airport. Shuttle runs on request at the reception. Had to wait 5-10 minutes tops. Drivers are very well informed, easy to talk to and full with information about the area. Since it's on request, for the return to the hotel you do have to call them. They have business cards at the reception and in the car. However being from Holland, I didn't feel like it to make an expensive call over here. Driver advised me to let the restaurant call, and yes no problem! Second day we had our trip to DC. When returning to Hunting Station we were lucky to see the shuttle alreay been pulled over, so we could hop right on. Otherwise we would have used a pay phone I think.

I found the beds a bit less since the mattresses are not firm enough for me. I'm not a big person at all but like a firm mattress to support my back. But rest was good. Was not bothered by any highway noises.

Was very happy to stay here. After reading a lot of reviews on Tripadvisor on hotels in DC, I feld kinda anctious to stay in DC itself. Mostly about the safety issues. This was a good choice since DC is easy to reach due to the free shuttle and then the subway. Comfortable hotel where you feel easy at home.

Overall: good service, free breakfast, free WIFI and free shuttle.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mijora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel. We strive to make all of our guests happy and comfortable and feedback from our guests helps us in working towards our goals. I will forward your comments to the rest of the staff and please stay with us again when returning to the area.

If you return to the area, please stay with us again and enjoy our new lobby.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: ₹ 7,549 - ₹ 17,766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing