We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I've come to realize that what irritates me most are those hotels that pretend to be what they are not, but charge a room rate commensurate with their pretensions. GMD is a happy exception. They were upfront when I booked the room noting that GMD was "just a ski lodge." That sounded great to me. Location was a perfect 100' from the base Collins lift at Alta. But it is GMD's staff that really makes this place shine. From the greeting at check-in, to the early morning departure, the tone is authentic and friendly. There's a busy end-of-day bar crowd, and upstairs from 4-6pm there are free snacks and tea/coffee for guests -- which suited me, with my 18yr old son, just fine. Dinner and breakfast also are included in the room rate. Dinner runs 4 courses with meat and potatos my son attacked with gusto, crisp vegetables and varied-lettuce (thankfully none of those garden weeds served back east) salads that would have pleased my wife. The food was excellent and the waiters were pleasant and attentive. The February weekend crowd we saw was mostly serious skiers, with an occasional family thrown in. GMD facilities are perfectly adequate. Our room had an adjustable thermostat which controlled the electric heat. There was plenty of storage area in the room for ski equipment. The bathroom was ample, as was the hot water. If I were to quibble, there was some plumbing noise, and now and then we heard a neighbor. My biggest gripe was with the bed mattress, which sagged with age. But, except for the effect of altitude, I would have been sound asleep the moment I hit the pillow -- as I suspect most serious skiers who stay at GMD are. On price, GMD is not inexpensive. But the quick research I did placed it in line with the local competition. And the meals were excellent and included. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disappskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    34
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
24
11
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

IThe beauty of Alta and its skiing is Legendary. The GMD has been a legend at Alta since Jim & Elfrieda Shane built the place to lodge the true skier's of the day.

You will always find great Storyteller's in the Bar at the end of the day. The GMD will make you feel like family the very first time you stay. The staff is the most gracious around. My pick will always be the GMD, I found my family there back when Jim & Elfrieda had the place, and my Soul will never leave;

The GMD is a Keeper.......

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This lodge is only 100 feet from the chair lift. It has a rustic feel to it.. One big dining room surrounded by windows to look out. One bar.

For $250 a night you get a room and breakfast and dinner are included. Its a good deal.

of course you must remember,Alta's motto is "its all about the skiing." The people at this lodge are serious skiers and salt of the earth outdoors types. There is no disco and no french restaurant here , folks!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the chair lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olney, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stay at Goldminers whenever we go to Alta which is almost every year. Rooms are so-so but the staff, restaruant and location more than make up for those shortcomings. Ski in/ski out, ski shop, gift shop, cafe, bar, afternoon tea, gourmet restaurant, game room, hot tub, spa for massages and mani/pedi's! Fireplace and free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webbunny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosaritobeach
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Amazing location. Very good snow. Basic clean facilities. Great massage therapist on site. Food basic and good. This is a food included hotel. Can make special requests, ie large salads. This type of resort is an old school resort. run by ski bums. Support the small ind businesses !!! No reason to rent a car. Take shuttle from airport. Kids can go to ski school or there is on site child care available. Go and have a blast. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: req upper floor, facing slope, not parking lot/ road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosaritobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
11.2 km away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#2 of 60 in Park City
845 reviews
13.2 km away
Hotel Park City, Autograph Collection
12.5 km away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#6 of 60 in Park City
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Marriott's MountainSide
Marriott's MountainSide
#11 of 60 in Park City
586 reviews
33.7 km away
Airport Inn Hotel
Airport Inn Hotel
#55 of 75 in Salt Lake City
442 reviews
38.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Salt Lake City Airport
Rodeway Inn Salt Lake City Airpo...
#51 of 75 in Salt Lake City
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldminer's Daughter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldminer's Daughter Lodge

Property: Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
Address: 10160 E State Highway 210, Alta, UT 84092-9509
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,984 - ₹ 32,086
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldminer's Daughter Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goldminer’s Daughter Lodge provides a welcoming, friendly staff with comfortable lodging in an unbeatable location. Steps from the base of Alta Ski Area's Collins and Wildcat lifts, we are home to one of Alta's only true ski-in, ski-out experiences. It is hard to compete with our location combined with our comfortable lodging, impeccable service, full breakfast and a four-course dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goldminer`s Daughter Hotel Alta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing