We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$ 233
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$ 236
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$ 242
US$ 230
View deal
SAVE US$ 12
Free cancellation until 12/04/21
Hyatt.comUS$ 236
Hotels.comUS$ 233
Prestigia.comUS$ 242
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,849)
Filter reviews
2,849 results
Traveller rating
1,678
615
277
160
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,678
615
277
160
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful historic hotel driskill bar mezzanine level cafe bakery live music beautiful lobby downtown austin sixth street hotel bar valet parking valet service texas haunted lbj elevator concierge capital
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 2,849 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2021

What a shame , been staying here 20 years !
The value of the hotel has been destroyed, bad in almost every way.
Don’t open up if your not ready.
I’ve traveled to other cities and states over past six months. No worse experience than at the Driskill.

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank scottducoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2021

I attended a rare in-person conference event at the hotel. The staff did a great job to accommodate all guests in a clean and safe environment. The food service was exceptional. Not only was the food outstanding but it was also served safely. I felt 100% comfortable at the hotel and at the conference.

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 496RachelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2021

We have stayed at Driskill many times and this was the worst experience ever. Concierge reached out for special requests before we came, we made a few; upon arrival none were granted.

Parking is outrageous -- $49.00 per night -- horrible, unless they are tucking your car in a bed with a chocolate on the pillow. Breakfast in cafe (2 coffees, 2 juices, bagels and lox; avocado toast ) -- well prepared, but order taken by a sullen cashier and the cost -- $61.00! It ain't New York!

Room was dark; appliances unplugged when we arrived, one did not work. Had to turn in a remote because it stopped working.

But the worst was the area -- so very sad. 6th Street used to rival say "Broadway" in Nashville or even the brighter side of Bourbon Street -- now, most all of the stores, bars and good old restaurants (remember "Maggie Mae's?") are boarded up with sprayed graffiti; dozens of homeless lying in the street, approaching asking for money, cigarettes. One fellow, not too far from Driskill, at 2:30 p.m. decided to openly "relieve" himself in front of passers by. We gave it one last try our last night... walked about two blocks looking for music -- only a few bars open, mostly one guy at a microphone and a few patrons -- like something out of a dystopian novel... very sad, we no longer felt safe, wrapped up at 6:30 p.m. and back to the room for the snacks we brought, because the restaurant was no longer open and there was no room service. Hate it... used to love this place and this street. But not going back.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Rusty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2021

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.The art work all around the Hotel is amazing. The room was nice, the bed cozy and the sheets divine. Can't wait to stay here again. I hope to come back sometime for pleasure.

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank micheleparker14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2021

It's got a cool history and weird cattle baron motif. But the lighting varies all over the building, the wayfinding needs improvement and maintenance on the little items could be better. The F&B operational mods for COVID protocols were not well thought out. The bed was very comfy, quiet, and clean. The internet is really slow, the prices were really high. If you're looking to pay top dollar for a unique "cowhide upholstery with guns on the wall" experience, and mediocre luxury, then this is your place. Not really a four star experience in my opinion.

If I hadn't already had to move out of one hotel due to broken water lines, I probably would have moved out of this one. But at least I can say I stayed at the Driskill.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank brucecolony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews