We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC from arrival to departure!”
Review of The Driskill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Driskill
Ranked #28 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC from arrival to departure!”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Recently stayed at the Driskill for a 3 day anniversary weekend and really enjoyed our stay! Picture-perfect historical building with a Texas flare. 1886 Cafe downstairs was great for dessert and coffee late night as well as full breakfast and brunch in the morning. Great bar/lounge on site was nice to hang out in even for people who don't drink much. Loads of restaurants, bars, and entertainment venues within walking distance. Rooms were nicely decorated and the beds and bedding were very comfortable. (Wanted to take the sheets home with me!) We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Higher floors and rooms NOT facing 6th street are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3girlsmom777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your review- I'll let the team at 1886 Café & Bakery know that you enjoyed your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    462
    187
    115
    74
See reviews for
287
781
82
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband chose this hotel and it was in a very good location and the atmosphere was really nice. We went for drinks in the bar and again ambience good. However, the actual drinks served were not very good. In fact, the margarita was one of the worst drinks I have had anywhere!! The others were acceptable. Advice: don't use the bar for cocktails!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegaDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhead GA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I am writing this review from the inlaid mahogany oval writing desk in my room (#1003) at the Driskill. What a relief it is to be in such spacious accommodations after being routinely jammed into tight hotel rooms. The ceilings are high, there is lots of space between the two queen size beds, the bedside table is huge instead of the tiny stump in most hotels. This desk has room to spread out and actually work. The leather easy chair is so comfortable. I even like the Texas-themed original oil painting and photography in the room. And the bath area is just as roomy.

If you enjoy intensely modern architecture and cookie cutter hotels, the Driskill is clearly NOT for you. It is well over 100 years old and the architecture speaks to Victorian times in the old West. But if you are tired of the same old same old, why not give the Driskill a try? It is part of the "Historic Hotels of America" group and you will be helping to preserve a little part of our country's history.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmcnally56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LH1886, Guest Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
I am so happy to hear that you are enjoying your time at our property. Because of the historic nature of The Driskill each guestroom is a little bit different, so there's definitely nothing cookie cutter about us! We strive to honor Jesse Driskill by keeping the decor distinctively Texan and reminiscent of Austin circa 1886- with modern touches on amenities, of course. We hope the duration of your stay is wonderful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The historic Driskill is a great spot to base yourself if you're looking to enjoy downtown Austin. It's convenient to lots of going out spots and tourist attractions. The staff is helpful and the rooms are comfy. We loved having cocktails in the beautiful bar. Just be warned that this is an old hotel and despite a modern makeover, some spaces aren't expansive. Our king bed didn't leave much space to maneuver in our Vintage King room. There appear to be only three small public elevators and one always seemed to be out of commission. Plus, revelers can overwhelm the hotel's public spaces if the Driskill hosts a wedding reception or other big event during your stay.

Room Tip: This is one place where it might be worth a room upgrade if you need a lot of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
638 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Located at 6th and Brazo, you cannot beat the location if you have either business in downtown or are there for the music scene. It is a relatively short and easy drive from the airport. The hotel itself is stunningly beautiful and very well taken care of. The staff were very friendly and efficient upon check-in. The room was small but you should expect that with a heritige hotel. There were all the amenities, however, and the bathroom was very modern. My only complaint was that the bed was too soft and lumpy. The fitness room is excellent. Each night we walked out of the hotel into the music scene of Austin on 6th St - amazing. Your stay will be an experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weerobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.6 km away
W Austin
W Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,187 reviews
0.2 km away
The Westin Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
0.8 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
1.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Property: The Driskill
Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3212
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#25 Family Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,657 - ₹ 28,867
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing