We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST PLACE TO STAY IN AUSTIN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn University / Downtown
Ranked #174 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 21 April 2015

I stayed in this hotel in Feb, I would not recommend anybody. You can get a better hotel at the same price.The rooms were dirty even after changing two rooms we felt that it is of no use. The owner of the hotel is an extremely rude and impudent person.He used to calculate no of muffins people take and ask people not to take more during breakfast, this sound really crazy but its true. This hotel is not advised for family as whole night people were screaming and shouting, even after complaining the hotel staff din't help. I vacated the hotel in the very next day though i have booked it for 3 night.

Room Tip: Hotel Days Inn is 200 mtrs away from this hotel, people can get better stay at the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hemen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2015 via mobile

First I arrived at midnight and thr receptionist was nice. We got our room and the door wouldn't. Missplaced bolt...they changed rooms. Then in te new one the air extractor's vent was half off the ceiling. The Remote didn'work and when they came to check it a "new box" they had recently installed in very old very big analogue televisions didn't receive a proper signal. So very bad TV. And to place a cherry on the cake the day recpectionist was upset and rude becasue I spoke to her in spanish. I don't understand why. Will NEVER EVER com back to thia hotel.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Lore E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

This hotel is on the lower end of the spectrum - not a place you would take your wife or girlfriend. It is a bare bones, low budget accommodation -- no frills, just a room with basic amenities (bed, tv, restroom, etc.) it is fine if you just need a place to sleep at a reasonable price; if you are looking for a high-toned hotel, this is not for you. I'm not saying it was dirty or unsafe, just a basic room with basic amenities. It is right on Interstate 35, so it's easy to hop on the highway and get where you need to go. And the room prices will not break your budget.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room farther away from the Interstate to lessen road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

I had a reservation months in advance. I was called the week of arrival and told they would not honor It, but I could have a room for $50 more--take it or leave it. When I arrived there after a 14 hr drive, I gave them my original reservation. I was again told it would not be honored. When I told the manager he was being unprofessional and using poor business practices but that I needed a room, he took my paperwork and went to a back room 15 minutes later he returned and angrily told me he did not have a room for me anymore. He also refused to give me back my reservation as he had trashed it. At the same time, he removed all business cards from the desk and refused to give me his name. Two other desk personnel refused to even speak to me. I am filing complaints with both Choice Hotels and the BBB. Stay far away from this place

Room Tip: Never consider this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Peg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

I made a reservation in this hotel for 5 nights, but did my check out after staying the first one, it was awful , smells so bad, needs a lot o maintenance, very old, noisy because is very close to the highway. Don't stay there.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank luisgmolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
#151 of 201 in Austin
60 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn
#159 of 201 in Austin
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn University / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn University / Downtown

Address: 2900 North I-35, Austin, TX 78705-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: ₹ 4,186 - ₹ 8,896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn University / Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn University / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn University / Downtown Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing