We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not to thrilled!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Austin Hotel
Ranked #56 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to thrilled!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in two rooms at this property on 3/29/12 and we not impressed at all. The looks of the hotel is nice but what they don't tell you is that with everything being located in the atrium all the noise echoes into the sleeping area. A convention was going on while we were there and it was very loud in our room late into the night. We used the pool and hot tub and I developed swimmers ear. My mom also forgot a couple of swim suites in her room and it took 5 days and several calls to the hotel to finally track it down, it was mislabeled with the wrong room. I would not stay here again when you have a Spring Hill Suites not far away that is in my opinion a much better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10sweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    302
    114
    62
    29
See reviews for
107
149
31
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one week (4/16/12 - 4/20/12) for a business conference. The hotel is clean and the staff was very friendly. The bathrooms could use updating, as pink tile went out a log time ago! We used both the indoor and outdoor pool, the sauna and the gym and all were in great shape. Within walking distance to shops and restaurants. I would stay here again for business, but probably not for pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here with several of my family members for Friday and Saturday nights over Easter weekend 2012. The rooms were clean, check-in was easy. One of our rooms seemed large (great for a large group), but there was no seating in the room other than a desk chair. Seemed a bit odd. The bedding in the rooms consists of a down comforter and a sheet. Since this is central Texas it should go without saying that the down comforter was too warm, but without it, one is left with only a sheet which isn't quite enough. A lightweight blanket or coverlet is really all that is needed in central Texas for most of the year. We cranked the AC down to about 60 but it was still a restless night, alternating between too hot and too cold. We went to the pool on Saturday, which was clean and lovely, but there is no pool-side service unless you use the house phone inside and order room service - which we did. On that day there also was no adult beverages available until 3 PM. On Sunday, we wanted to eat breakfast but since they were serving only Easter brunch, we couldn't be seated because we didn't have an advance reservation. One of my sisters did express concern about this, and we were given a table in the atrium (which was nice of them) but we had to order quickly so that the kitchen could get back to their Easter Brunch plans. We were surprised that we hadn't been hipped to this when we checked in. If we had known, we would have made a reservation when we arrived on Friday afternoon. Overall, the stay was acceptable, but not exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockyfordfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel is a bit dated but nice toiletries (Aveda products).

Far from downtown but has some walkable stores around it. Gap, Saks Fifth Avenue, Sephora, TJ Maxx.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlegirlracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent a weekend in Austin with our college kids and literally every hotel we tried downtown was booked. We were disappointed to have to stay outside of town and found the Renaissance online...and it sounded like a reasonable alternative. We were surprised and delighted to find the hotel to be better than we'd expected. Pretty lobby with good and friendly service; nice, big rooms; a small but nice bar with a pretty patio overlooking the pool and grounds; the breakfast in the restaurant was very good as well. The kids used the pool (not big, but clean and good area to catch some sun). We didn't eat dinner there, so can't comment on that, but this was really a nice, well-run hotel in an upscale area with lots of shopping and a local restaurants. Access to downtown was not bad either -- maybe 20 minutes. Good value, too! We were all really pleased.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Northwest Austin
The Westin Austin at The Domain
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 200 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Northwest Austin
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Lone Star Court
Lone Star Court
#7 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Hotel Granduca Austin
#6 of 200 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Austin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Austin Hotel

Property: Renaissance Austin Hotel
Address: 9721 Arboretum Blvd, Austin, TX 78759
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#44 Family Hotel in Austin
#56 Business Hotel in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,793 - ₹ 28,547
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Austin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 433
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Austin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing