We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THEY CARE ABOUT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND PREFERENCES ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Ranked #18 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

5 stars across the board. They really try to accommodate and make your stay special. I stayed in room 1503 and the customer service is 5 stars. This will be our go to hotel in Austin. They really try hard to honor every customer preference.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank ILUV2TRAVEL99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

ILUV2TRAVEL99999;

Thanks for sharing your great feedback!
We appreciate the kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

If you're looking for a hotel close to the action in downtown Austin look no further than here, Right next to the many bars and restaurants on Rainey Street, within walking distance of Metro's downtown rail service and Iron Works BBQ. Throw in Kimpton's signature wine, beer, margarita social hour and you be glad you booked here. If you can get a room on a higher floor overlooking Lady Bird Lake.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hal T;

Thanks for staying with us. Great to read you had such a great stay and loved our location. We look forward to see you again soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

This hotel is very stylish and accommodating with a very welcoming staff.
My wife had just build sunflower seeds in the floorboard of our car and when we returned to use our car and short time later the valleys had removed all of the seeds from the floorboard without being asked.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Brent S;

Glad you had a great stay. We are fortunate to have such a great group of people working at the VZ glad you noticed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My third stay at a Kimpton (previously stayed in SF and Boston hotels), this was my first bad experience. Our room was not ready for nearly 2 hours and no one seemed terribly concerned. My time is the most valuable commodity I own and if you don't care about wasting it, that's a big problem for me.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jerry M;

Thank you for staying with us. I was disappointed to read we did not live up to our standards in this was your first dissatisfied stay.
Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy this time around. I do hope you give us another shot so you can experience what you have in the past.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I was expecting this to be a nice hotel but it turns out I expected too much. We arrived the 1st day of the ACL fest and got to the hotel about 1pm. The check in employee did not smile as she offered to help. I asked about early check in options and she unpleasantly said I had two options, 1) to upgrade to the same room type with a different view for $50 extra per night and it was available now, or 2) I could check my bag and then wait up until 4pm to check in and we would receive a text message when the room's ready. I took the 2nd option. We left the hotel and 25 minutes later I received a text that the room was ready. I'm not sure but it sure seems like a blatant grab for an extra $50 night by getting people to agree to an earlier room. I checked in and was asked about my bag and was told it was being sent up to the room. We arrived at the room, no bag, waited 20 minutes, tried to call front desk and no answer after letting it ring at least 20 times. I went back to the check in counter and my bag was right there next to the original unfriendly staff member. I grabbed it and went back to the room.
The rest of the stay was uneventful and we were out of the room most of the time. Nothing special about the room, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was nice and clean.
On the morning of checkout I tried calling the front desk to get the checkout time and again I let it ring at least 20 times with no answer. I was able to find it online, we checked out, I said to email the receipt.
When I got home and checked my email receipt the next day (today, Monday) I found I was charged for 3 nights of parking at $43/night, even though we checked in Friday and left Sunday and only stayed 2 nights. I haven't called yet today to get it fixed so we'll see how that experience goes.
The hotel was expensive due to ACL fest and the hotel's reputation, but I could have stayed somewhere for quite a bit less with just as good a location or better, and especially with a better customer experience. I won't stay at this hotel again. I do like the Kimpton hotels I've visited in other cities.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank jeffsapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

jeffsapita;

Thank you for checking us out. I am sorry for the challenges you experienced and do hope you give us another shot. Please know we take this feedback very seriously and will use it to further improve our services. If you have any issues with your bill that are not resolved please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
15.9 km away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 201 in Austin
498 reviews
0.6 km away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#13 of 201 in Austin
1,492 reviews
1.0 km away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
W Austin
W Austin
#20 of 201 in Austin
1,228 reviews
1.0 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.4 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt

Address: 605 Davis St, Austin, TX 78701-4212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: ₹ 14,525 - ₹ 33,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt is a true Texas charmer that's a refined riff on Austin's world-famous music scene. You'll find Hotel Van Zandt a cool and comfortable gateway to the best experiences in Austin. We'll have signature happenings and exclusive hideouts geared especially for music tastemakers. And because Hotel Van Zandt is from Kimpton, we also have a shot of creativity and a hot streak of independence roped in. That means you'll find plenty of custom Kimpton experiences that set this boutique hotel apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing