We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Wish I Could Move In”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Congress Hotel
Ranked #14 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

The pool was heavenly, the decor--dreamy, the bed-- comfy. The staff were sweet, down-to-earth and welcoming. The room was quiet and the coffee shop's golden milk special--spot on. The shops were funky and quaint, the food options--plentiful and the culture--captivating. The lighting in the rooms could be improved, and some sort of natural light in the gym would be welcome. A yoga mat or two would be a nice touch as well. I was sad to leave and hope to have the chance to return to Austin if only so I can stay again. Thank you, South Congress Hotel for a wonderful upgraded stay.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Gail68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at South Congress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing South Congress Hotel. We are very excited to hear what a nice stay you had, and we appreciate your time spent sharing your thoughts online. It sounds as though you were able to experience quite a few of our amenities, including both dining and shopping options. I'll definitely go bring some extra yoga mats up to the fitness center; they tend to disappear from time to time. Thanks for the heads up. If you'd like to reach out to the hotel directly for your next stay, we can certainly arrange for additional lighting to be installed prior to your arrival. Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

We traveled to Austin with our best friends as couples and spent an afternoon and evening at the South Congress Hotel. Funky is the best word to describe the atmosphere and rooms. It's definitely a different experience from a "run-of-the-mill" hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is good for walking to nearby restaurants and bars and for browsing street vendors' wares. We did have difficulty sleeping during the night because of the street noise...motorcycles roaring past at all hours, so would request a room facing away from the street if we stay again in the future. Overall, it's a hip place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the street; windows not soundproofed enough for street noise at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at South Congress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for choosing South Congress Hotel. We have a wide variety of rooms, some of which overlook South Congress Avenue. To some, the view of the city and hills beyond is a perk, but we certainly understand the need for a good night's sleep. When you return, request a Heights or River City room for a more quiet, interior-facing room. I'm glad you had the opportunity to explore the neighborhood: the best place to wander about in Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very trendy but also has very attentive staff who go out of there way to chat & help. Located in the quirky SoCo area with lots to take in. It is also only a 5 min walk to the Bat bridge.
We would definitely staff here again when in Austin next.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at South Congress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write kind words about our team. Please reach out to us directly when you return; we love taking care of our repeat guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Very clean, quiet & chic. Fun area around the neighborhood. No sign of valet, doorman or bell hop. Great drinks in the adjoining bar. If you don't mind having your roommate/partner watch you take a shower, you'll probably think this hotel is very cool.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank 604Lorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Thank you Lorri for choosing South Congress Hotel! We appreciate your comments about the ambiance of our property as well as the detail of our housekeeping team. We are happy our South Congress location offered you the variety you desired to enjoy your recent visit to Austin. Did you have drinks in the Lobby Bar or at Central Standard? While we do offer 24 hour valet and bell service, I'm so sorry they weren't there to assist with your arrival or departure. That is both uncommon and unacceptable. Please reach out to us directly prior to your next trip to town, and we will ensure your next stay exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

My sis and I stayed at this hotel to test it out before renting out a block of rooms for an event next year. The design/furnishings/aesthetics -- the California king bed, leather seating bench, and modern bathroom fixtures -- are really nice. And it was clean! That's a rarity these days. We brought cleaning supplies to test the maids' cleanliness and djd the infamous white glove test. All surfaces were clean -- including the bathroom sink and toilet!!! Save some overly exuberant guests, the hotel was relatively quiet. Of course, we had a room overlooking the courtyard -- which may have helped with the noise. The hotel is also located in the heart of activity and restaurants which makes it perfect for those looking for things to do. There was an awful smell in the hallways (like several people had walked all over the carpet straight from the pool and dropped chlorine everywhere). However our praises for the hotel waned for 2 reasons: horrible internet connection and subpar food.

The internet crawled and often crashed. For people who use devices having a good internet connection is important.

As for the food, we were disappointed. We ordered freshly squeezed orange juice and 2 dishes for breakfast from the hotel's Café No Sé.: the Egg and Cheese on a Roll and the Granola & Yogurt. The egg and cheese on a roll came with sausage on it and was served with diced potatoes on the side. For starters the food was not hot. The eggs, which had carmelized onions were liquidy (our own made up word) and had a seasoning that did not blend well with the aged cheddar or with the sausage. Plus the sausage had a weird seasoning. The potatoes were cold, had no salt and were greasy. Instead of finishing it, we decided to try the granola & yogurt. This was also disappointing. The granola tasted like it had some sort of spicy seasoning on it which did not taste good with the tartness of the berries and didn't taste good with the vanilla honey Greek yogurt. I never thought this dish could be ruined, but it was. There were too many flavors competing in one dish. It would've been better to have served plain Greek yogurt with plain granola, fresh fruit and some fresh honey on the side. Finally we tasted the orange juice. While my sis liked it, I felt it tasted like a blend of orange juice with some lemon squeezed in it. At any rate, the food wasn't the best.

All in all a nice hotel; but you might want to eat elsewhere. And be prepared to pay $32/night for valet parking which gives you in and out privileges. Otherwise there are no in and out privileges if you park your own vehicle.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Texas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us at South Congress Hotel. While thrilled to hear you enjoyed the design elements of the property as well as the cleanliness of the rooms, we are disappointed to hear you had a subpar food and beverage experience. With three restaurants on property and four others around town, we certainly strive to provide a superlative dining experience to anyone that enters one of our doors. So sorry things did not work out this time. If you would like to discuss the breakfast in further detail, please reach out to either me or Karla Zarate, our Food & Beverage Director. We would love to learn more about whether it was an In Room Dining experience or actually in the cafe so we may make corrections for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.8 km away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#18 of 201 in Austin
711 reviews
17.5 km away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 201 in Austin
495 reviews
2.5 km away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel San Jose
Hotel San Jose
#69 of 201 in Austin
375 reviews
2.1 km away
W Austin
W Austin
#20 of 201 in Austin
1,227 reviews
2.5 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Congress Hotel

Address: 1603 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2475
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: ₹ 13,963 - ₹ 35,654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Congress Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Congress Hotel is a boutique hotel located in the heart of Austin’s iconic South Congress shopping, dining, and entertainment district. It is a thoughtful, local collaboration, designed as a hub of activity for the community, making it a destination for both Austin residents and travelers alike. In addition to the 83 rooms and suites that feature custom designer furnishings, a state of the art in-room entertainment system that offers Google Chrome Cast and Apple TV, and C.O. Bigelow bath and body products. The hotel also has three restaurants, Cafe No Se, an all-day cafe, Central Standard, an American bar and grill, and Otoko, a 12-seat Japanese omakase restaurant. South Congress Hotel also features Manana, a coffee, juice & bakeshop, pool and lobby bars, an underground parking garage and valet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing