We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$ 171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 234/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 186
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Staybridge Suites Austin Airport(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
US$ 109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Staybridge Suites Austin Arboretum(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$ 132
US$ 110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Austin at The Domain(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$ 240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
HYATT house Austin / Arboretum(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
US$ 124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

W Austin(Austin)
US$ 263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 377/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 75
US$ 71
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 152
US$ 147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 105
US$ 84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
259
57
21
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
57
21
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe no seapple tvbunk roomlobby baraesop toiletriesavocado toastconcrete ceilingace hotelcool shopsgreat boutiquestylish hotelpoor lightingstreet noisecontinental clubhappy hourfantastic hotelrooftop pool
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

We traveled to Austin with our best friends as couples and spent an afternoon and evening at the South Congress Hotel. Funky is the best word to describe the atmosphere and rooms. It's definitely a different experience from a "run-of-the-mill" hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is good for walking to nearby restaurants and bars and for browsing street vendors' wares. We did have difficulty sleeping during the night because of the street noise...motorcycles roaring past at all hours, so would request a room facing away from the street if we stay again in the future. Overall, it's a hip place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the street; windows not soundproofed enough for street noise at night.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at South Congress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you for choosing South Congress Hotel. We have a wide variety of rooms, some of which overlook South Congress Avenue. To some, the view of the city and hills beyond is a perk, but we certainly understand the need for a good night's sleep. When you return, request a Heights or River City room for a more quiet, interior-facing room. I'm glad you had the opportunity to explore the neighborhood: the best place to wander about in Austin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very trendy but also has very attentive staff who go out of there way to chat & help. Located in the quirky SoCo area with lots to take in. It is also only a 5 min walk to the Bat bridge.
We would definitely staff here again when in Austin next.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason B, Manager at South Congress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write kind words about our team. Please reach out to us directly when you return; we love taking care of our repeat guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Very clean, quiet & chic. Fun area around the neighborhood. No sign of valet, doorman or bell hop. Great drinks in the adjoining bar. If you don't mind having your roommate/partner watch you take a shower, you'll probably think this hotel is very cool.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank 604Lorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

Thank you Lorri for choosing South Congress Hotel! We appreciate your comments about the ambiance of our property as well as the detail of our housekeeping team. We are happy our South Congress location offered you the variety you desired to enjoy your recent visit to Austin. Did you have drinks in the Lobby Bar or at Central Standard? While we do offer 24 hour valet and bell service, I'm so sorry they weren't there to assist with your arrival or departure. That is both uncommon and unacceptable. Please reach out to us directly prior to your next trip to town, and we will ensure your next stay exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

My sis and I stayed at this hotel to test it out before renting out a block of rooms for an event next year. The design/furnishings/aesthetics -- the California king bed, leather seating bench, and modern bathroom fixtures -- are really nice. And it was clean! That's a rarity these days. We brought cleaning supplies to test the maids' cleanliness and djd the infamous white glove test. All surfaces were clean -- including the bathroom sink and toilet!!! Save some overly exuberant guests, the hotel was relatively quiet. Of course, we had a room overlooking the courtyard -- which may have helped with the noise. The hotel is also located in the heart of activity and restaurants which makes it perfect for those looking for things to do. There was an awful smell in the hallways (like several people had walked all over the carpet straight from the pool and dropped chlorine everywhere). However our praises for the hotel waned for 2 reasons: horrible internet connection and subpar food.

The internet crawled and often crashed. For people who use devices having a good internet connection is important.

As for the food, we were disappointed. We ordered freshly squeezed orange juice and 2 dishes for breakfast from the hotel's Café No Sé.: the Egg and Cheese on a Roll and the Granola & Yogurt. The egg and cheese on a roll came with sausage on it and was served with diced potatoes on the side. For starters the food was not hot. The eggs, which had carmelized onions were liquidy (our own made up word) and had a seasoning that did not blend well with the aged cheddar or with the sausage. Plus the sausage had a weird seasoning. The potatoes were cold, had no salt and were greasy. Instead of finishing it, we decided to try the granola & yogurt. This was also disappointing. The granola tasted like it had some sort of spicy seasoning on it which did not taste good with the tartness of the berries and didn't taste good with the vanilla honey Greek yogurt. I never thought this dish could be ruined, but it was. There were too many flavors competing in one dish. It would've been better to have served plain Greek yogurt with plain granola, fresh fruit and some fresh honey on the side. Finally we tasted the orange juice. While my sis liked it, I felt it tasted like a blend of orange juice with some lemon squeezed in it. At any rate, the food wasn't the best.

All in all a nice hotel; but you might want to eat elsewhere. And be prepared to pay $32/night for valet parking which gives you in and out privileges. Otherwise there are no in and out privileges if you park your own vehicle.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Texas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Thank you for staying with us at South Congress Hotel. While thrilled to hear you enjoyed the design elements of the property as well as the cleanliness of the rooms, we are disappointed to hear you had a subpar food and beverage experience. With three restaurants on property and four others around town, we certainly strive to provide a superlative dining experience to anyone that enters one of our doors. So sorry things did not work out this time. If you would like to discuss the breakfast in further detail, please reach out to either me or Karla Zarate, our Food & Beverage Director. We would love to learn more about whether it was an In Room Dining experience or actually in the cafe so we may make corrections for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We spent the first night of a bachelorette party at South Congress Hotel and absolutely loved it. We were upgraded to a suite, which was super nice of the front desk. The pool we extremely chill and exactly what we were looking for. The location is perfect and super close to downtown. The staff was incredible and the design is clean and very "Austin". The lobby bar and Mediterranean restaurant were excellent! We would come back time and time again!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Thank you so much for choosing South Congress Hotel for your recent bachelorette party. We host quite a few of "girl's weekends", and we love the energy groups such as yours bring to our property. Happy to hear you managed to spend time at the pool, lobby bar, and one of our restaurants. Please do come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews