We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #41 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a quick weekend getaway and found the location and staff to be exceptional. The hotel is currently undergoing construction so there was a little noise. Exactly as expected. Would stay here again the next time we're Austin.

Room Tip: While under construction, the breakfast is in the restaurant next door. Very confusing set-up so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for staying at our hotel! Our entire team is excited for our renovations to be complete. We are glad you had took the oppertunity to spend you getaway with our brand and look forward to building that relationship everywhere you travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    159
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
74
94
25
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Loved the location- walked to the Capitol, 6th street, bat bridge and so co- everything Austin offers right there..we stayed in the one bedroom suite- small, but good amenities. Valet staff is friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the small indoor pool- with an attached sun deck. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Leesh,
Thank you for recognizing our Valet team. We will be sure to celebrate with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
na
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Lets start with the positives - it has a good location and the staff is friendly. As for the negatives, ive stayed in a lot of Residence Inns and these " suites" are miniscule. My 10 year old step daughter said " I thought we were getting a suite" when she walked in. It's s a room and a poorly laid out one. The bathroom opens to the head of the bed and has no fan. There is 1 Tv. The pull out love seat is basically at the end of the bed. It was at least comfortable. The "real" bed was AWFUL. Every time my husband moved I did too. I could feel the springs in my back. They were doing construction in the lobby. I got an email the day before our arrival telling us there would be no problems. Well, if you don't count a different route to breakfast everyday and no 12 th floor terrace and no self parking then I guess there weren't any problems due to construction. The breakfast buffet was weak- Homewood Suites level at best. The pool is tiny and indoors. The exercise equipment was very nice.
All in all I felt like I had been given a plain room with a crappy old bed and ammenities more suited to a Courtyard or Fairfield but charged suite prices.
We wont be back.

Room Tip: If you must stay here stay on the Courtyard side. The scuttlebutt at breakfast was that they're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nisajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
joydasca,

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback from your visit. We are please to know that our staff was very friendly, as we always strive to be the most friendly and accomodating staff.

I do appologies for the inconvieneince that our conststruction caused durring your stay even though it was only in the Courtyard Lobby and not the Residence Inn. There was one day we did not have self parking but we did offererd the valet service at the same price as the self parking. Also, for your safety we did have to change the route to breakfast and Starbucks slightly for a couple of days while we removed and reset the tile in the Courtyard lobby. We did get lots of great compliments, like yours, about our friendly associates that were greeting on the route to breakfast.

There is a 12th floor Terrace that is used for receptions and dinners. It is not a everyday use space in the hotel but a catering location.

We hope you visit us on your next trip and see our newly remodeled suits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
concord,nc,usa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Spent 2 nights on business. Front desk most helpful. Usually stay at Starwood, but local Sheraton had a dumb up front payment policy. Glad I stayed here. Free breakfast, and happy hour. Shellie at Champions was like a concierge, recomending a couple of great local joints.
Room was clean, bed was the only reason this didn't get 5 stars, needs upgrading!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for the weekend. The location of the hotel is wonderful. You're just a block away from 6th Street and everything else that's happening around the city. The hotel is also dog-friendly with a $100 charge. There is a park nearby where you can walk your dog and meet other dog owners.

The hotel room was clean and simple. One thing is that the hotel is located very close to a fire station and the fire trucks were blaring every night, but hey, it's their job, right? So it can be noisy when the fire trucks are going up and down the street. Also, the a/c seemed to get really cold then it would calm down, but get really cold again, so just make sure you get the blankets out when you sleep.

The cleaning ladies were very nice and helpful.

There is garage parking below I believe at $21/night.

This hotel gets the job done.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room or a room that doesn't face a main street for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eva0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for enjoying the weekend with us. Come back to see the Live Music Capital soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 km away
Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 km away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.5 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.4 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Austin
#23 Business Hotel in Austin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#33 Family Hotel in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,458 - ₹ 37,301
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-remodeled Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention center is in the heart of downtown adjacent to the Convention center and within walking distance of the famed 6th Street and Warehouse Entertainment District. Guests love this ideal location with easy access to all of Austin’s favorite destinations including the State Capitol and the University of Texas. The remodeled lobby features trendy designs and comfortable seating areas in the Gatehouse that are perfect to catch up with family and friends. Guests also love the onsite dining options including Champions Sports Bar & Restaurants serving over 25 draft beers as you watch the big game on their 24 HD TVs, and also the Starbucks Café which offers delicious sandwiches, pastries, and their signature coffee. The renovated, apartment-stryle Guest rooms are 50% larger than a standard hotel guest room and offer luxury Queen beds, flat-screen TVs, separate living and dining areas, and full kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, and microwaves. Guests enjoy free WiFi, an indoor pool, and rooftop terrace offering stunning downtown Austin views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Austin Downtown / Hotel Austin
Austin Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing