We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, not so nice price....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #63 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, not so nice price....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

We got a last minute invitation for dinner, and since we live an hour and a half away, decided to spend the night in town. Not wanting to drink and drive, we started searching for a hotel downtown with walking distance of Ruth Chris. Most were booked up since it was Saturday night, but we found a room at the Courtyard.
Booked it through Hotels.com, and had no problem checking in. A warning about parking...self parking costs $21 and valet $27 a night. We opted to self park, and since they were having issues with the automatic system, actually didn't have to pay at all. Yay, us!!
The room was very clean, comfortable, and had been recently remodeled. They are working on the hotel complex, but we had no issues with the remodeling going on.
I guess my main problem with downtown Austin hotels in general is the exhorbitant prices they are now charging on weekends. It used to be that they only hiked the prices for special events. Now it seems to be the norm. This is the only room we could find downtown, and it was $349 night, plus taxes. If it was up to me, I would have figured something else out, but my spouse said, "book 'em, Dano!"so we did.
Thank goodness our dinner was covered!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsnorklng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review. We are extremly excited about wrapping up all of the construction and showing off the completed product. We keep the construction noise to a minimum and always make sure we have secondary options for any area that is under renovation. Like most Cities, Austin downtown parking is very limited. At $21 we are able to offer one of the better rates ($3 lower than uncovered meter parking) to our guest. Again, thank you for your review and for spending a weekend in Austin...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    182
    58
    15
    9
See reviews for
46
78
24
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

Standard Marriott Courtyard - decent bed, sizable room, standard breakfast. Great location in the heart of downtown Austin. The lobby areas are being refurbished, which caused some noise, but only during the day.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ammatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. Our new lobby is almost complete and will be ready for your next visit. We do keep all of our construction activity to the day time while everyone is out enjoying the great weather in Austin. I look forward to meeting on your next visit to town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

very convenient, great bed but noisy neighbors. it seemed as though their noise was being piped into our room through vents. As soon as we called the front desk they were quieted. Thanks!

Room Tip: Try for a high floor to lessen the street noise and possibly get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
We are sorry about your rude neighbors but I am glad you phoned so we could help your nights sleep. Being located at 6th Street Austin is great but it often brings a few guests that try to bring the party inside. Like you did a phone call to our team is all that is needed for us to jump into action. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My 2Q corner room, 6th floor, was spacious, quiet, well maintained, with a nice view, free wifi in the room and lobby, free coffee in the room and lobby, reasonably priced breakeast buffets at Champions, Convention Center is across the street and nearby downtown restaurants include Ironworks for great bbq and La Traviata for excellent Italian. Bus stops on corner at Trinity or 3 blocks on Congress.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th street side on weekends when the nise from 6th street bars, 3 blocks away,could come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
artnuvo,

Thank you for staying with us while you were here in Austin. We agree, the resturants you visited are top notch!

We will see you on your next round thru Ausin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
314 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed during SXSW Festival.

Pros:
* Located across from convention center and within walking distance to all parts of SXSW.
* Comfortable beds and pillows.
* Working A/C (although I had a hard time finding how to turn it off - light switch behind the drapes did the trick)
* Good shower
* Full restaurant and Starbucks on site
* Parking garage underground
* Computer with internet in lounge area
* Friendly valet guys

Cons:
* Charge for parking
* Unable to park trailer due to underground lot, but we knew this beforehand (it is stated on their website); We found a lot near the capitol and he gave us a discounted rate (charged for only two spaces, although we took up more) and he allowed us to leave it overnight, although the lot was only open until 3 AM.
* Inflated rates during SXSW

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarfishandSeashells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for sharing...We look forward to entertaining for SX next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 km away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
0.5 km away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Austin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#49 Business Hotel in Austin
#58 Family Hotel in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,177 - ₹ 32,027
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing