We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pretty good spot in Austin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Ranked #59 of 200 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pretty good spot in Austin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The Courtyard is in a good location - you can walk to restaurants and clubs and even to businesses. The hotel itself is clean and well functioning. Rooms are a bit small but not for a city hotel. Restaurant is well run and food is pretty good.
Staff was very nice and helpful. Lobby area is a bit tight as is the parking garage.
Only reall knock is the pool and fitness area - you have to walk a very convoluted path to get there and its a bit disappointing once you do.
I would definately stay there again when in Austin.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
We are looking forward to showing you our new lobby after our April lobby renovation.
Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Austin Downtown Convention Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    170
    53
    13
    8
See reviews for
44
73
23
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Was very impressed. Nice room, nice lobby, excellent location, reasonable price. Utilize convention center parking garages for a less expensive parking option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markm55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for taking time to reveiw. We look forward to entertaining in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I liked this hotel, it wasent life changing but Marriots are pretty reliable. I would say for the price you pay the rooms are on the small side. And if you are expecting any extras in your room you will be dissapointed. But the location is great and the valet and check in was fast. All the hotels in the area are priced the same. So next time I might try something new. I try to stay at Marriots becasue Im a rewards member.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Valarie,

Thank you for your review. Our room renovation will begin in April and you will be able to enjoy Refreshing new concept that we are excited to show off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed here for two nights over the New Year weekend. The hotel staff were clearly unprepared to deal with the situation that weekend. My first mistake was valet parking the car. The staff in valet parking NEVER responded to telephone calls requesting the vehicle. When I went down in person to get the car, I waited about 20 minutes. This happened twice. New Years eve night, I was locked out of my room. Door mechanism did not recognize my key and it took them an hour to get me into my room. I had to be monitoring and following up every few minutes. One staff would tell another to take take of the problem. Of course, it wasn't and I was neglected. This is unacceptable. I'm a Marriott Rewards member and have stayed at many of their properties in three countries. Until now, it has been very good. This experience, however, has soured me on Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aru90015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
aru,
We are turely sorry for the lack of efficiency at the valet and your door problem. We were certainly not ready for the 2011-2012 change that happend with our Key Coding Computers but have learned from the challenges we faced this year. You will also be happy to know we have worked hard with our valet team and as many recent reviews have stated they have been on point. We look forward to the chance to show you the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We were here for a night last week. The hotel is located right in the middle of downtown Austin, which is an absolute positive. We had a high floor room with wonderful views of the city. Walked to Cafe Crepe for breakfast the next morning. Another great plus- there's a Starbucks in the lobby...And plenty of paid parking in the garage downstairs. Couldn't ask for more on a stopover.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the last floor of the hotel...there was some generator-like sound which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pony101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottAustinDT, Manager at Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us while you were in Austin. We are pleased you were able to enjoy the hotel and Austin. Our Rennovation is now complete and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.0 km away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.1 km away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
0.4 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center

Property: Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Address: 300 E 4th St, Austin, TX 78701-3612
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Austin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#49 Business Hotel in Austin
#58 Family Hotel in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,331 - ₹ 24,384
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention center is conveniently located in the heart of downtown, adjacent to the Austin Convention Center. Guests will love this ideal location within walking distance of many of Austin’s favorites, such as the 6th St. music scene, the State Capitol, the University of Texas, The Austin Interactive and Music Festivals, and the trendy Warehouse District. The brand new lobby is highlighted by free WiFi, private media pod work stations, and the touch-screen GoBoard that highlights all the local events, weather, and traffic conditions. The renovated Guest Rooms offer the perfect balance of productivity with large work station with ergonomic chairs and relaxation with luxury bedding and flat-screen TVs with premium cable and free HBO. Try out our indoor pool and 24-hr fitness center to get your workout on the road. Onsite dining options include Champions Sports Bar featuring 24 HD TVs and 25 Draft Beers, and also the Starbucks Coffee Shop offering delicious pastries and their signature coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Austin Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin Downtown/ Hotel Austin
Austin Courtyard
Austin Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing