We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rock-About Rocks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock-About Climbing Adventures

Rock-About Climbing Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Rock-About Has been providing Austin tours since 2001 and our AMGA certified guides have a perfect safety record. Your having a great time is our mission and we have a ton of reviews that reflect our ability. Join us right in the middle of Austin for a great climbing adventure. We've been a Certificate of Excellence winner 3 times and can't thank our clients and TripAdvisor enough for this honor. Please note: You must pre-register through our website. The location listed is one of the places we work and not an office.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rock-About Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Our boy scout troop just climbed with Rock On this weekend, and they were fantastic. Adam and crew were accessible, friendly, and converted a bunch of neophyte 11-14 year olds (not to mention their dads) into climbers for the day. They have great attitudes and come highly recommended.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank coylepeninsula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock-About-Climbing, Owner at Rock-About Climbing Adventures, responded to this review, 1 October 2016
We sure appreciate the scouts. You guys were a lot of fun. Thanks for the review and for going climbing with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic adventure experience in Urban Austin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Our family was traveling to Austin for a weekend soccer tournament and we were looking for fun things to do. We discovered Rock-About Climbing Adventures on Tripadvisor and thought it would be a fresh and exciting twist in our trip to Austin.

We booked a private climbing session with the owner and instructor, Adam, and he was very professional and enthusiastic in his teaching of the basics of rock climbing such as learning the different knots and belaying techniques. Our two children, 14 & 12, had so much fun learning how to climb and pushing themselves both mentally and physically.

I would definitely recommend Adam and his company, Rock-About Climbing Adventures to anyone who is looking for an exciting and compelling adventure in Austin! We will definitely be going back to join him on his climbing adventures at Enchanted Rock!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock-About-Climbing, Owner at Rock-About Climbing Adventures, responded to this review, 1 October 2016
Thanks for taking your family climbing with us. I had a blast as well. If you're here again for soccer look us up at one of our other locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great beginning climber experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Our family (12 and 16 year old kids) had a great time learning to climb and even trying some pretty steep walls. We were taught the safety basics - knots, harnesses, signals, then a beautiful 1 mile hike to the rock walls.

The staff was very friendly and attentive and made for a great family day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TJH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock-About-Climbing, Owner at Rock-About Climbing Adventures, responded to this review, 1 October 2016
Climbing is awesome for families. I'm glad yall had fun. We did too. Com see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing day of rock climbing @ Enchanted Rock State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I would definitely reccommend that you take one of these climbing classes! Today was my first time rock climbing and it was awesome! Its something you will never forget and will always want to go back to do again....

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bayoucanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock-About-Climbing, Owner at Rock-About Climbing Adventures, responded to this review, 1 October 2016
Hey well lets do it again. I'm glad you had fun on your first day climbing with us. Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convinced me to get serious about this sport.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have always LOVED to climb, but the people at Enchanted Rock State Park made me want to take action into becoming a more professional rock climber. THANKS Adam, "Bird" and Tyler!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock-About-Climbing, Owner at Rock-About Climbing Adventures, responded to this review, 1 October 2016
I hope you really do gert serious. It's awesome when people catch the climbing bug! Climb on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock-About Climbing Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Rock-About Climbing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing