We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Decent Hotel, Awesome Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Ranked #150 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Awesome Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My boyfriend & I totally enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was relatively inexpensive and in a prime location. Will definitely be staying here again. Only downside was the air conditioner was hard to figure out. We couldn't get it to turn on.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience at Extended Stay America Austin - Downtown - 6th St.. I know how committed we are to satisfying our guests, which is why it gave me great pleasure to read your kind words about our staff. Given this commitment, it was with great concern that I read the rest of your account. You have my most sincere apologies that your stay wasn't totally enjoyable.

Despite our high quality control measures, I understand that you were given a room with an air conditioner that did not function properly. I have acted to prevent the recurrence of such an incident by retraining our staff on how to monitor the condition of our a.c. units during routine inspections. We would never intentionally make a room available when it does not have a functioning air conditioner, so we are grateful that you brought this issue to our attention.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    78
    78
    34
    50
See reviews for
24
91
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

This hotel was about half the price of the next alternative near 6th street. Its in a perfect location right near all the bars. Rooms were ok with big semi-comfortable beds but the hotel was slightly run down. The woman at the desk was helpful but goes home at 11pm so theres no one around to check you in (dont turn up too late!!!). Given it 4*'s on value and location compared to its competitors.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
277 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is my second review for this motel.

For the last 4 years I have been staying here 3 to 4 times a year. This hotel has been going downhill lately.

The carpet was very worn and stained. The sheets on the bed had holes. The box springs looked like someone threw up on it. There was a towel taped on the bed frame so it did not bang against the wall while moving. And grapes and other trash was found under the bed.

Also one of the nights had a group of three thugs hanging out in front of the main entrance making snide comments to people that were coming and going.

The staff is helpful and friendly. The location is great. The price is also very good.

As I mentioned, I have been coming here for year. I will give it another chance because of the staff and location but if it gets any worse I'm going elsewhere.

Room Tip: When asking for a room as that it IS NOT along 6th Street. All rooms along 6th Street are very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

as above, great location, low price for the city and really helpful reception service when we checked in. staff even rang a friend to get the name and location of a bar we wanted to visit.
check out staff the next morning not so helpful and rather rude.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Did you know that Extended Stay means you can extend your stay as long as you want, screw whoever made a reservation after you? It does not mean stay for an extended period of time if you have reserved it in advance.

After booking my hotel stay at the Extended Stay in October and traveling over 1,000 miles in February, I was told by Yosinda, the least helpful front desk employee, that she was, "sorry, but we do not have your room available. Guests extended their stay and your room is unavailable." So now what? She offered to put us up in another Extended Stay location, 20 minutes away on the highway, but since we didn't have a rental car, that wasn't a reasonable alternative. That was all she offered. Not to help us find another hotel, no apology, nothing. We ended up finding another, better hotel, La Quinta on 11th Street and San Jacinto. I will never EVER stay at an Extended Stay. They are dead to me.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AEN0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
0.8 km away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
0.7 km away
Residence Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
0.4 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.8 km away
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

Property: Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Address: 600 Guadalupe St, Austin, TX 78701-2926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,686 - ₹ 21,574
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Extended Stay and Agoda so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America Austin
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing