We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Story of Texas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bullock Texas State History Museum

Bullock Texas State History Museum
Book In Advance
US$ 42.21*
and up
Austin Sightseeing Segway Tour
Ranked #4 of 309 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
214 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Story of Texas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

If you care about the background of the area you are visiting, as I do, this museum is a must-do. It is a comprehensive history of Texas, exhaustively detailed. Right now they have a temporary exhibit about Texas Music, which is excellent.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryJane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,190
    527
    124
    33
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Texas State History Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I joined the day it opened and have renewed my membership every year. Don't miss The Story of Texas in the Texas Spirit Theater. It runs about 20 minutes with special effects. Nope, ain't tellin' ya what they are because I never want to ruin the surprise. I take all of my out of state visitors here. The cafe' on second floor serves good grub, reasonably priced.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have visited the museum numerous times. the staff is very helpful and the displays tell a chronological history of Texas. If you want movies, there are two theaters in the building. The IMAX runs wonderful releases and special documentaries. This is a great destination for families and visitors of all ages.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank BigDaddyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The great state!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Enjoyed refreshing my history of Texas and learning some new things

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SueSue2757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Texas History in One Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Bob Bullock is a gem. Don;t be in a hurry; slow down and discover Texas and it's history. Permanent exhibits are augmented by exhibits that are mounted by the museum or come from other museums. This keeps the exhibits fresh and provides a reason to visit again and again.
In the words of Bob Bullock (inscribed on a wall in the museum) "God bless Texas"

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing