We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and beer...awesome staff and love music!”

BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown
Ranked #89 of 4,242 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 19
Cuisines: American, Irish, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Come visit and experience the true feel of Ireland and the "Craic"(Fellowship and Fun) of your own local Irish Pub, in the heart of Austin's 6th Street Entertainment District. B.D. Riley's is not part of some national chain-for almost 15 years we've been a locally-owned, friendly, neighborhood pub restaurant serving a wide variety of award-winning foods, perfect pints of your favorite brews, great live music and the kind of crowd that always ensures a good time. C'mon in to the pub-make some new friends! If you are looking for a pub to call your own, look no further. The "formula" is pretty simple: serve good food and perfect pints in a traditional pub environment with a friendly staff, and season the mix with a healthy measure of cool live music featuring exclusively local Austin Artists. The result is a classic, classy neighborhood Pub. It's your own little patch of Irish comfort-on 6th Street! We'd really like to be your local pub on 6th Street. The Pub itself is a showplace (and our history is impressive). Every day is a good day to visit-we're open 365 days a year. Our Calendar always has the latest news and events, like televised sports, our prize-filled Pub Quiz trivia night, Live Music 7 nights a week with no cover charge, including each Wednesday after Trivia, a Sunday Irish Tune Session, and much more. Check out the additional pages linked above to learn more about the Pub, take a "tour," view our offerings, and learn about upcoming activities
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Arrived in Austin starving and found this little Irish pub. Great beer selection! The mac and cheese with bacon and shrimp is fantastic. Perfect service, friendly bartenders and a super talented musician! Definitely recommend.

Thank jmkOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thx much jmk for the 5 Star review and compliments. We host many out of town guests, and take pride in knowing we enhanced your visit to our city. When your travels bring you this way again, please drop by.
Slainte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Loved it! Casual and relaxed. Good food! Irish authenticity in downtown Austin. Had the blackened tuna and it was delicious!

Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Janet
Thx for taking time to review our little locally owned Pub.We appreciate your visit and support.
Drop by to see us again when next our way.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

BD Riley's Irish Pub is a popular place to relax and spend time with friends over a Guiness. The decor and wood craftsmanship are superb and enhance the experience. I especially liked the huge, oversized outdoor ceiling fan which provides a gentle, refreshing breeze on those hot summer Texas nights.

Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thx John for the 4 stars.
And thanks for noticing the quality work of the Irish craftsmen in Dundalk, Ireland responsible for that work.We appreciate your review.
Slainte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

We stopped in on a Sunday afternoon and they had a nice one man band playing oldies. He was pretty good. The Live Oak Hefeweisen was really one of the best.

Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thx Steve for visiting and reviewing. Glad you enjoyed your Sunday with us. Will pas along your kind words to the musician, “Tornado Joe Gee”
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

I’ve never had fish and chips as good as this place. We ate there three times during this years SXSW.

Thank 73glennk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnnyBDR, Owner at BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thx much Glenn for the kind words and review. Our hard working kitchen crew will be proud to hear the compliment. Drop by again soon when next our way.
Slainte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to BD Riley's Irish Pub Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing