We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Start to a Great Trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Austin's Cosmic Cowboy Tour

Austin's Cosmic Cowboy Tour
Ranked #40 of 87 Tours in Austin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come savor an evening that taps into Austin’s funky side! Tour downtown, splash into Lake Austin, dine on tasty food, and sip on refreshing drinks, all the while enjoying live music and tales of Austin's cultural heritage. Enjoy an authentic experience that takes you straight to the heart of what makes Austin so wonderfully "weird".
Useful Information: Stairs / lift
White Lake, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Start to a Great Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

I would recommend doing to Cosmic Cowboy tour early in your visit to Austin. Greg was very helpful in recommending other not-so-touristy places for us to check out...and great local food joints! We got a great feel for the heart and soul of Austin on this tour...the musical entertainment was amazing and Gregs personality fit really well with our group. Thanks for a great tour!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank LHeistad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome tour of Austin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We chartered the bus for our group which included children 8-20 and adults. We thoroughly enjoyed the great music, food, and stories and the drinks. Greg and Shelly King were fantastic hosts. I highly recommend this experience. I think it could get a little rowdie for kids if not on a chartered tour, but it worked great for us. Thank you Greg!!!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank ladpetrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

This was a great evening event. Conference I attended booked this as evening entertainment and it was spot on. Greg was funny, food provided was damn good, and the drinks kept flowing. This is a fun time for experiencing Austin at night without having to worry about parking or where the next cocktail is going to come from.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank diami03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
real_Austin_musican
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A REAL Austin Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

The Austin Cosmic Cowboy Tour is a big slice of what makes Austin so groovy. Our group climbed aboard a "Duck" which is an amphibious vehicle that turns from a sight seeing bus into sightseeing boat. We cruised through downtown and got a brief low-down on the historic sights with and emphasis on the music and the famous musicians who have made Austin their home. Then we stopped at a local restaurant and were treated to some yummy food that was brought on board for us to enjoy. We cruised around listening to live music right there on the duck. An Austin musician serenaded us while we enjoyed our dinner and sipped adult beverages from local distilleries and breweries. then we hit the lake. That was the most fun! The whole group counted down and we "splashed in" all the while continuing to enjoy our cocktails. We floated around on beautiful lake Austin, took in the sunset, and enjoyed the entertainment provided on board. After the sunset, the boat turned back into a bus and took us to a really hip little bar that I wouldn't have known about otherwise. It's so nice to have the Austin Cosmic Cowboy Tour show us a slice of the REAL Austin...not the chains but the real local stuff-the good stuff. I feel like we got to see a part of Austin that most folks don't get to see unless they live in Austin and know about it. What a treat! Super laid back and loads of fun! The is a MUST if you are planning a meeting in Austin and have a group to entertain. Skip the same old same old and do something uniquely Austin. Austin Cosmic Cowboy Tour is AWESOME! Thanks to the staff for making our visit so memorable! FUN! FUN! FUN! And we got to enjoy music from a real Austin musician up close and personal. Too cool!

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank real_Austin_musician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally Austin!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

You haven't truly experienced Austin until you've seen it through the eyes of the duck on the Cosmic Cowboy tour. It's awesome! You're chauffeured through the open air while taking in the sights of Austin, with a guitar player on board, a Fireman's 4 (one of the best beers in Texas) in hand, a delicious dinner, and then watching the sunset while floating on lake Austin, and all of this followed by a stop at the Mean Eyed Cat - one of Austin's best dives! We had the extreme pleasure of experiencing ALL of this during a single outing on Austin's Cosmic Cowboy tour. I can't think of a better way to see Austin, whether visiting for the first time or having lived here for years as my husband and I have. Greg runs the show and couldn't be a better host! Thank you for a perfect Austin evening!

Visited April 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Austin's Cosmic Cowboy Tour also viewed

 

Been to Austin's Cosmic Cowboy Tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing