We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Austin's most alive hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Austin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
W Austin
Ranked #19 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Austin's most alive hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The W staff is charming - across the board. Not a hint of attitude about working at the coolest hotel in the city. I had the best massage of my life. Beautiful linens. Perfect rain-bath shower. We'll go back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    254
    91
    36
    29
See reviews for
105
362
56
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the W in downtown Austin for 5 nights - the staff was fantastic, the party scene is great, and you get that typical cool, hip W hotel vibe. The gym is top notch and we both commented on how we probably had one of the best massages ever - and we get them often. Recommend you get as high a floor as possible given that bars stay open late, every night, with live music. Our room was clean and very comfortable (see photos). You must check out south Congress area, Perla restaurant for amazing seafood (go figure - in Austin), 6th street & Rainey st. for bars/drinking/bands, etc., and of course the amazing food truck scene.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank machine1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Had a GREAT stay at the W! Service was impeccable from the minute we drove up to the minute we left. called room service a couple of times and they were right there. Breakfast in bed was amazing! Delicious food. Ambiance of the room is very Austin-chic but not overdone. Very modern and comfortable. Would stay here again in a heartbeat....and plan to soon.

Congrats W on an amazing hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haggis1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was so excited to stay at a W hotel for my birthday and me and my friends had built up a lot of hype maybe in our heads. However the staff has a bit of a snotty air and internet is not free in your rooms. The room also had a broken bathroom door which i didn't think was acceptable for that class of hotel, however they fixed it once i brought it to their attention. The layout of the hotel is really cool and the bar staff was great to us! I would go back but i wouldn't pay the $400.00 i did for an upgraded room with no apparent upgrade features.

Room Tip: Dont' worry about getting an upgraded room. not really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

I have stayed in a few W hotels and my visit in Austin was even better than others that I have stayed. They really invested a lot into their gym facility and the space had a lot of windows overlooking the city. The meeting space was unique and the common areas are hip and what I come to expect as a great place to network after the day is over. Service was top notch and they even shipped back some items that I left in my room that I had forgetten. Great Job W, I will be back.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is a bad room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ETinSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.3 km away
JW Marriott Austin
JW Marriott Austin
#16 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.6 km away
The Westin Austin Downtown
0.6 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Driskill
The Driskill
#27 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.6 km away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.9 km away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#18 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Property: W Austin
Address: 200 Lavaca St, Austin, TX 78701-3928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#4 Spa Hotel in Austin
#7 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#11 Business Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,619 - ₹ 51,342
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Starwood so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing