We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“¡Excelente!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloria's Latin Cuisine

Gloria's Latin Cuisine
Ranked #112 of 3,668 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish, Central American, Salvadoran, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gloria's Latin Cuisine is the best place in Austin for Latin food. From our Salvadorian and Mexican favorites, to our award winning margaritas and black bean dip, there's plenty for all palettes.
Van Alstyne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“¡Excelente!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Fantastic restaurant. One of the best chains around. Super location and quick, friendly service.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuperKitty109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    83
    28
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
572 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex with an El Savadoran bonus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Went here for lunch with family, assuning it to be another upscale Mexican restaurant. I took a quick glance at the dinner menu and noticed some very interesting Central American specialities; far more interesting and rare for the area, and it turned out to be a good choice. Why must every Latin-American cuisine compete in the same space in this town? 90% of the menu is devoted to pretty much the same food as can be found anywhere.

That being said, the quality of everything we tried was quite good. The Churrasco steak was really nice- with great Plantains and Moros rice. The Tres Leches cake was amazing. Good atmosphere, good service, with some real gems on the menu.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JrMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
264 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Eat here every trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I frequently travel to Austin and eat here at least once every trip. The food is extremely fresh the margaritas are great and the hips and salsa or black bean dip is addictive

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Just like South of the border, we had camarones de la plancha. They were fantastic and the service was unbelievably good. We will be back!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank littleem318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty food - loud dining room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

My wife and I went to Gloria's on a tip from our hotel for some quality TexMex. The menu was quite varied with not only the usual suspects but also some more adventurous choices. We had a variety of items and really enjoyed the food.

As for the restaurant, this seems to be a very popular place where people come to see and be seen. It's a large, open dining room with primarily hard surfaces. We were fortunate to be sat along one of the walls and that helped us to be able to converse. If we'd been sitting in the middle of the room, I believe we would've had to almost shout to be heard.

So...the food is upscale and tasty and if you enjoy a very lively atmosphere with lots of beautiful people, this would be a good choice. If you're looking for a quiet, romantic dinner, keep looking.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gloria's Latin Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing