We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barton Creek could be so much more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa
Ranked #55 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Our reservation agent was likable and professional, but I specifically asked if the balcony was large enough to enjoy while sitting in a chair sipping on coffee. When we got there (we paid for a balcony with a view) our balcony was just big enough for the both of us to stand, but not big enough for both of us to sit on chairs. I felt like that was a little misleading.

Keep in mind we also paid more for a view. While the view was nice, it was also right above the service entrance to the hotel. Not bad, but not ideal.

The room was very nice overall. The high ceiling is a quality touch that provides a feeling of spaciousness. They appear to have updated the rooms within the last couple of years. The sink outside the bathroom is a nice touch providing flexibility for two people to get ready at the same time without crowding over a single vanity. Had our daughters been with us we would have used the pull out bed/love seat. Also a nice touch providing more flexibility to guests.

The breakfast buffet is of a high quality, but we were slightly surprised when our bill for two lattes was $12. Lattes are not included in the buffet nor did we expect them to be, but $6 each makes even Starbucks look like a bargain.

The cheeseburger I had at 8212 was delicious! My wife's entree (fish tacos) was also very good. We did not have appetizers or dessert and our total bill came to just under $80! Just be prepared.

The pool (which, to no fault of the resort, we were unable to enjoy for very long due to inclement weather) was on the small side and had a few issues. More than one umbrella was broken and left out poolside in stands (why not just remove them?). The seating area around the pool was narrow so that once a lounge was situated, the room to walk around the pool was limited. The overall size of the pool is too small for a resort of this size. Although I can appreciate children enjoying the water, the size of the pool made it feel as though there were kids everywhere when there were only 4-5 around the pool.

Once the rains came, we sought shelter in the fitness center. The fitness center is designed well. Plenty of cardio machines, a weight room (or two), and varied methods to workout (including cycles and kettle bells). However, the kids that were outside are now inside at the indoor pool and the sounds they're making are echoing throughout. Just good to know if you're concerned about sound levels while working out. That's why God made ipods, right?

We have stayed at other resorts and feel it's only fair to rate this along the lines of what we would consider world class resorts. This is not the same quality of Four Seasons Maui, El Dorado Royale Mexico, or even Westin La Catera. Although it IS nice, it just doesn't have the finishing touches of a RESORT. It definitely feels like a country club that has opened its doors to the public. We would still recommend the resort. Especially if you can take advantage of the beautiful golf courses (which we didn't).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2010

We appreciated all the great feedback provided in this review of the resort as it was very well thought out as it relates to the writers observations and items that were of benefit to them. The resort continues to look at ways to add additional chaise lounge spaces at the pool and was glad that our guests enjoyed the new fitness center. The recent wet weather continues to remind us on the playing conditions enjoyed by our friends across the Atlantic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,012 - 2,016 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2010

First room- DIRTY.OUTDATED. stained furniture Would NOT walk on carpet without shoes-dirty soiled stained and WORMS CRAWLING ON CARPET AND WALLS. 2nd room appeared better until the softball sized cockroach appeared. Sheets on bed not changed when requested

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank petuniablossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2010

Resort management was delighted to have worked with this past guest in May when some of our outside friends tried to welcome our out of state guests to the resort. We were happy to extend complimentary accommadations for three out of their five day visit and are disappointed that we obviously failed to handle an appropriate apology at the time of occurrence. An additional future stay has been offered. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

- rooms were clean, comfortable, great size, and quiet
- Hill Country Dinning was good but over priced
- location was perfect
only stayed two nights and i would love to go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney_paige_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfcwalsh, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

We appreciate the very favorable feedback from this past guest and are delighted to welcome so many more guests back this summer. Golf Course conditions are perfect along with the new "Tranquility" room at Three Springs Spa. Come and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We booked a 3 night stay based on several recommendations. The level of service and value did not live up to the recommendations. Having to pay for water at a spa resort where you are encouraged to hydrate seems to be anathema.

The $20 daily resort fee and $25 valet charge or a $10 self-parking charge in addition to the upcharge for the scenic view room with balcony was not worth it. The food was good but not worth the rates they charge.
The hotel also experienced 2 extended power outages during our stay. I called to inquire about how long it would be out but the front desk didn't answer even after 15 rings.
Checkout was equally challenging as we had an early appointment and the front desk failed to have our bill ready or to send up the bellman. When I finally did get the bill, they had overcharged us by more than $250.
We will go to the Lake Austin Spa next time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UTornsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walshaust, General Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2010

I am always appreciative when our past guests communicate on areas of the resort where we can improve upon and am sorry that we did not meet the high expectations of this past guest. We are also glad that everyone was very understanding when the local electric company had an a recent unplanned temporary power outage at the resort. Looking forward to receiving them back to Austin on a future return visit when we can take special care of their visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My husband and I arrived at this resort on Friday at 7:30 to celebrate our 23rd wedding annuversary. I had made reservations in advance and was told I had to give three days notice to cancel or I would be charged for the first nights hotel. I agreed to this and made spa reservations - again prepaid - and restaurant reservations. When we arrived, we were told that our room had been given away because a guest wished to extend his stay. We were told that the hotel had arranged a room at the Renaissance in a neighboring shopping center - not the 23rd anniversary I had planned. I have bever before had a hotel disregard a prepaid reservation in deference to a guest wishing to extend his stay and I certainly would not expect this of a four diamond resort. We drove four hours in traffic to celebrate an important date but obviously guests are not a high priority to Barton Creek. The resort did not even have the courtesy to call us so that we could avoid navigating traffic all the way through downtown where we eventually ended up returning to stay! Do yourself a favor and DO NOT risk a reservation at this resort!! There is no guarantee you will actually get to stay here EVEN if you pay for it!!!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Winspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walshaust, Manager at Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2010

The resort has extended it's sincere apologies for what occurred to the above couple on their anniversary and has invited them to return on another occasion for a complimentary stay. We worked very hard to make the situation as positive as possible given the unforseen circumstances. Looking forward to seeing them for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Hotel Granduca Austin
#8 of 201 in Austin
345 reviews
The Driskill
#29 of 201 in Austin
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Hyatt Regency Austin
#15 of 201 in Austin
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa

Address: 8212 Barton Club Dr, Austin, TX 78735-1406
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Austin
#20 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
#41 Family Hotel in Austin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range: ₹ 9,062 - ₹ 23,173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the stunning Hill Country that embraces our luxury resort hotel, Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa is revered for its distinctive blend of peaceful beauty and gracious warmth. From the very moment you arrive, the natural ambiance of the landscape and our welcoming staff will invite you to unwind and immerse yourself in a unique collection of desirable amenities.Framed within 4,000 secluded acres of rolling hills of Austin, Texas, you’ll be pleased to discover our full-service Three Springs Spa, four spectacular championship golf courses, award-winning conference and meeting facilities, four extraordinary dining options, numerous recreational activities and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Barton Creek Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barton Creek Hotel Austin
Barton Creek Resort And Spa
Barton Creek Resort Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing