We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very funky, cool oasis”
Review of Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Jose
Ranked #74 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very funky, cool oasis”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Great boutique hotel...makes you feel like you're in a green paradise right of the main strip in SoCo. I can see how it could be noisy if it was an active weekend night. The wine bar was quite expensive, but everything in Austin seems to be pretty high priced. I enjoyed my clean room and very comfortable bed....especially the sheets! Nice pool area. And a dog friendly hotel although I wasn't able to have my dog with me on this trip.

Room Tip: I'd try to get a room on an upper floor and on a corner. The floors are concrete and noise does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roamingretriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    96
    38
    16
    18
See reviews for
27
140
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed last night not realizing the intensity of the hod rod festival going on. When we made the reservation, we were told hotel parking would be for classic cars only and we would have to park on the street. Fine. But we had no idea of the number of cars and people. Nick, the parking guy was kind enough to give us 30 minutes in the parking lot to take a shower and get ready. However, the front desk was lackadaisical and seemed to think that it was OUR privilege to stay with them. We got ready in the allotted time and Nick directed traffic enough to get us on our way to the burlesque festival (THAT'S another review!). By the time we came back (around 1AM) there was a space on the street in front if the hotel.
The room was cool(important in Austin), clean and welcoming with several personal touches that made it stand out. Lotion, shampoo and conditioner that were earth and people friendly. There was a free bottle of Rainwater (local Austin water) to try. There was a box with everything you might need: sewing kit, first aid and intimacy kits. Simple touches that meant alot to a traveler. There was also a small fridge.
Even though there was alot of noise with the event, our room was quiet and comfy until the morning when there was a constant singing noise that woke me. Pipes?
We wanted to eat breakfast there in the quaint courtyard, but it was not open, so we went to our old standby, Magnolia Cafe. There is room service available as well.
Rooms are tucked into a maze of cement, wood and plants. You feel like you're a kid in a secret place...an Austin jewel if they can warm up a bit. May have been the event wearing on their nerves, but staff need to remember that the customers are why they have jobs....
We will come back for another stay soon. It's pricey, but you're paying for the ambiance, not the amenities.
Furnishings are very simple, but they have everything you need.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmendeznp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great boutique hotel where everything is done right. Even their snack bar is not the usual crap you get but done with thought. The staff were great and the fact that they have bikes for rent is a bonus in Austin. It is well situated near bars and restaurants and it also has a night vibe of it's own with an outdoor bar/sitting area and DJ - very cool vibe and people. It has a small pool which is nice. The air con is perfect which is a must for Austin. The room while not large was perfectly adequate, well decorated and the bathroom was really cool and funky.

Room Tip: The rooms are scattered throughout the property so if you want a more private room further from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakebeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Austin for a long weekend of BBQ, live music and relaxation. My co-worker (originally from Austin) recommended we stay at the Hotel San Jose.. or at a minimum, pop in for a drink at night. We ended up staying at the Hotel and we are both so glad we did. The hotel is super charming and nicely tucked away - offering a serene getaway from the busy S. Congress. The rooms are very cool (we stayed in two different rooms due to availability) and they were all decorated and stocked with the hippest textiles, posters and mini bar items. We loved the tree-top room with a balcony, and wished we could have stayed there all week! The staff were really friendly and the room service (we ordered breakfast in bed all three days) was delicious and presented perfectly! Obviously the location is outstanding - but it's the overall atmosphere of the place that will make your stay in Austin extra special and fun. If you can, spring for the tree-top suites, because room awesomeness does vary.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I and one year old stayed for three nights in a petite suite. The location of this property is excellent, right on S. Congress. Lots of shopping and food choices within a few blocks radius. Room itself was minimal in content but was very well designed. The courtyard is nice while the pool area is minimal (more for the aesthetics than anything). We enjoyed sitting out on our patio, listening to the music/chatter during the evenings - traveling with a little one does have some restrictions!

Free parking and wi-fi is nice, as was the free pack and play provided, complete with linens.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 km away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#20 of 203 in Austin
265 reviews
1.5 km away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
585 reviews
0.7 km away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
1.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 203 in Austin
2,045 reviews
0.1 km away
Austin Motel
Austin Motel
#89 of 203 in Austin
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Property: Hotel San Jose
Address: 1316 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#54 Business Hotel in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,424 - ₹ 28,967
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Jose is located on South Congress Avenue, a few blocks south of where the Colorado River runs through downtown Austin. Originally built in 1939 as an "ultramodern motor court," the San Jose has since been transformed into a secluded urban bungalow-style hotel in the heart of one of the city's most beloved neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Austin
Hotel San Jose Austin
San Jose Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing