We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Funky cool madena!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Jose
Ranked #68 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Funky cool madena!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great boutique hotel where everything is done right. Even their snack bar is not the usual crap you get but done with thought. The staff were great and the fact that they have bikes for rent is a bonus in Austin. It is well situated near bars and restaurants and it also has a night vibe of it's own with an outdoor bar/sitting area and DJ - very cool vibe and people. It has a small pool which is nice. The air con is perfect which is a must for Austin. The room while not large was perfectly adequate, well decorated and the bathroom was really cool and funky.

Room Tip: The rooms are scattered throughout the property so if you want a more private room further from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakebeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    96
    36
    15
    17
See reviews for
23
134
41
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to go to Austin for a long weekend of BBQ, live music and relaxation. My co-worker (originally from Austin) recommended we stay at the Hotel San Jose.. or at a minimum, pop in for a drink at night. We ended up staying at the Hotel and we are both so glad we did. The hotel is super charming and nicely tucked away - offering a serene getaway from the busy S. Congress. The rooms are very cool (we stayed in two different rooms due to availability) and they were all decorated and stocked with the hippest textiles, posters and mini bar items. We loved the tree-top room with a balcony, and wished we could have stayed there all week! The staff were really friendly and the room service (we ordered breakfast in bed all three days) was delicious and presented perfectly! Obviously the location is outstanding - but it's the overall atmosphere of the place that will make your stay in Austin extra special and fun. If you can, spring for the tree-top suites, because room awesomeness does vary.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I and one year old stayed for three nights in a petite suite. The location of this property is excellent, right on S. Congress. Lots of shopping and food choices within a few blocks radius. Room itself was minimal in content but was very well designed. The courtyard is nice while the pool area is minimal (more for the aesthetics than anything). We enjoyed sitting out on our patio, listening to the music/chatter during the evenings - traveling with a little one does have some restrictions!

Free parking and wi-fi is nice, as was the free pack and play provided, complete with linens.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Easy, convenient parking. Room was small, but clean. Gravel walkway to room, no hallways. Hip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBoys1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

My friends and I spontaneously decided to descend upon Austin, which boasts a reputation for great music, culture, architecture and bbq. We chose Hotel San Jose because it seemed to represent the best balance of authenticity, location and because it had the european style suite which the four of us could share at a reasonable cost.

I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find the hotel location, style and accommodations exceeded what was portrayed on their poorly designed, flash-heavy website. It was funky, authentic, had a great cafe and was located in easy walking distance to all the stuff along S.Congress including downtown. My bed in our 3-room "Sweet" (suite) was very comfortable, the bathroom expansive and inviting, and the in-room concession items were well selected and tasty. I would highly recommend this suite at this property for any friends or couples looking for an authentic, friendly and affordable Austin experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Congress Hotel
#21 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Hotel Saint Cecilia
#69 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#18 of 197 in Austin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Kimber Modern Hotel
Kimber Modern Hotel
#2 of 37 in Austin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Property: Hotel San Jose
Address: 1316 S Congress, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#54 Business Hotel in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,839 - ₹ 36,799
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Jose is located on South Congress Avenue, a few blocks south of where the Colorado River runs through downtown Austin. Originally built in 1939 as an "ultramodern motor court," the San Jose has since been transformed into a secluded urban bungalow-style hotel in the heart of one of the city's most beloved neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Austin
Hotel San Jose Austin
San Jose Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing