We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location!”
Review of Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Jose
Ranked #67 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't beat the location!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My wife and I and one year old stayed for three nights in a petite suite. The location of this property is excellent, right on S. Congress. Lots of shopping and food choices within a few blocks radius. Room itself was minimal in content but was very well designed. The courtyard is nice while the pool area is minimal (more for the aesthetics than anything). We enjoyed sitting out on our patio, listening to the music/chatter during the evenings - traveling with a little one does have some restrictions!

Free parking and wi-fi is nice, as was the free pack and play provided, complete with linens.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    96
    38
    16
    17
See reviews for
27
140
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Easy, convenient parking. Room was small, but clean. Gravel walkway to room, no hallways. Hip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBoys1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My friends and I spontaneously decided to descend upon Austin, which boasts a reputation for great music, culture, architecture and bbq. We chose Hotel San Jose because it seemed to represent the best balance of authenticity, location and because it had the european style suite which the four of us could share at a reasonable cost.

I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived to find the hotel location, style and accommodations exceeded what was portrayed on their poorly designed, flash-heavy website. It was funky, authentic, had a great cafe and was located in easy walking distance to all the stuff along S.Congress including downtown. My bed in our 3-room "Sweet" (suite) was very comfortable, the bathroom expansive and inviting, and the in-room concession items were well selected and tasty. I would highly recommend this suite at this property for any friends or couples looking for an authentic, friendly and affordable Austin experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I absolutely adore this hotel! Beautifully transformed by Lake Flato Architects into a sleek, modern oasis in the heart of the city. The rooms are minimal and comfortable. The courtyard and landscaping is artfully done and very inviting.Great retail and restaurants of South Congress in walking distance. Hope to stay again soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Yes, we are here right now! When we found out that we had to get a hotel in Austin due to a change in plans, we were scrambling for a place to stay. I had another, more traditionally upscale place in mind, but my son, and Austin resident, said he and his wife have always dreamed of staying here. They said it was right in the middle of a very cool part of the city, and that it was PERFECTLY representative of the funky cool aspect of Austin. I confess I grimaced when I heard the description. I didn't want to stay in a noisy, funky neighborhood and be kept up all night by the noise of loud music and the constant noise of Austin nightlife. Was I ever surprised! The place is Zen-like in its peacefulness. We're in a suite, minimalist in feel, furnished in iconic Mid-Century style, and impossibly endearing. In the bathroom we found a page of Yeats poetry stuck to the wall-Yeats' "The Second Coming". Ahh, those college poetry days. The hotel bathrobes are soft cotton Navajo prints, the beds are covered in "hippie blankets," those endearing wood block-printed spreads we used as bed covers or room dividers during our own college days. The place is a treasure, and yes, it is within walking distance of the activities of South Congress (we cruised the nearby food trailers for an unforgettable dining experience!), but is quiet indeed, with rooms opening to courtyards away from the hustle and bustle I'm loving it here. I hope to come back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 32, a large space with extra room for our UT college student to join us for the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Verukah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.4 km away
South Congress Hotel
South Congress Hotel
#25 of 203 in Austin
254 reviews
1.5 km away
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
Kimpton Hotel Van Zandt
#19 of 203 in Austin
549 reviews
0.7 km away
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Downtown/Town Lake
1.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#17 of 203 in Austin
1,986 reviews
0.1 km away
Austin Motel
Austin Motel
#87 of 203 in Austin
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Jose

Property: Hotel San Jose
Address: 1316 S Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78704-2433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#54 Business Hotel in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,533 - ₹ 27,064
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Jose is located on South Congress Avenue, a few blocks south of where the Colorado River runs through downtown Austin. Originally built in 1939 as an "ultramodern motor court," the San Jose has since been transformed into a secluded urban bungalow-style hotel in the heart of one of the city's most beloved neighborhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Jose Austin
Hotel San Jose Austin
San Jose Hotel Austin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing