We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good room for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Austin Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Austin Central
Ranked #117 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Plano, Texas
1 review
“Good room for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights. The room was not fancy or luxury, but it was functional and pretty clean. I was pleasantly surprised by a few items that were better than what I expected, like Wolfgang Puck's coffee, white ginger soap bar (smells good), body lotion (not all hotels provide this), and manager's reception in the evening (chips & salsa, soft drink, and wine/beer I think).
I need to say that the room is not big (both the bedroom area and the bathroom). For 1 or 2 people it would be OK, but for 4 people it will be crowded. The hotel location was good for me as it was easy to get to UT Austin from there - which was where I needed to go. Near the hotel there are several restaurants. Overall, for the $60/night that I paid, the hotel is a very good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RSt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    244
    145
    91
    80
See reviews for
212
119
82
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

For at least 1/3 of the price of fancier hotels, their ammenities are very comparable. From the weekday Happy Hour to the delicious full breakfast, this hotel has gone above and beyond to spoil their customers. The staff was very hospitable and genuinely concerned about providing outstanding customer service. Even though I wasn't as close to the venue as I could have been, it was worth the short drive for this amazing value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laury G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here ACL weekend, and thought that the hotel was nice enough. About 24 hours after leaving the hotel, we both started itching all over. Soon, raised red bumps appeared all over our bodies, probably 15-20 total each. After doing some research, we found that they were indeed BEDBUG bites.

We contacted Ramada corporate, who told us to speak with the manager, Sam Wilson. A few days later, we received a letter from Mr. Wilson basically passing the buck. He stated that others had stayed in the room after us and had not reported bedbugs. He offered no sort of refund, grievance or apology other than a weak "thank you for staying with us and we trust you otherwise enjoyed your stay".

I spoke with him recently, and he remained in denial about the situation simply stating that there must be some other reason that we developed begbug bites. He even admitted that they had a bedbug infestation 6 months ago which he said "had been dealt with"!

I cannot fathom where else we could have developed bedbugs that weekend other than the hotel we slept in. Ramada's refusal to right the situation has led me to post my review on various sites so that others can be made aware of their lackluster customer service.

Beware of the bedbugs!

Room Tip: Not room 412!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

San_Diego
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Easy to get to...once you learn the I-35. Nice room, no hassles. I did not find any of the problems mentioned in previous review. Also I checked in quite late...after midnight and they were still quite helpful. Room seemed plenty big, and very workable. This is not a resort, so whether or not the pool was available was not my concern. Very easy to downtown from here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank San_Diego2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights Took my grand daughters to Austin to visit my daughter. Made my reservations through hotel.com I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
1. my grand daughters were looking forward to swimming in the pool. The pool was beyond filthy, it was disgusting and closed for our entire stay. Needs professionals to come in and clean it up.
2. Two buckets set out in the lobby to collect water and pieces of ceiling tiles that were dripping from the ceiling.
3.The room ac never adequately cooled the room. It was difficult sleeping in such a hot stuffy room.
4. Requested extra towels and wash cloths when we checked in at 4pm. They were not forthcoming. Found out later they could only be given when housekeeping was on duty. Daughter gave us extra towels and washcloths so we could all bathe that night and wrap our hair and still have towels and wash cloths for the morning.
5. Room and bathroom area is crowded and too small.
6. Water temp when showering was constantly changing from what it was set on to cold.
7. Had to request cleaning service for the room while we were there. It was not provided unless it was requested.
8. Non smoking room but smelled of smoke.

The breakfast was very good but the lay out was confusing and the eating area was small.
It was not a comfortable stay.
I have stayed at other Ramada's and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. This was one of my worst experiences with a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee56891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RACOwner, General Manager at Best Western Plus Austin Central, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Yes, the pool was closed. We did make arrangements for our guests to use the neighboring hotel's pool. The other comments are misunderstandings or gross exagerations. Extra towels are available at the Front Desk 24 hours, but we do not have bell staff to deliver them to the rooms. The rooms are standard hotel size - nothing fancy, but not economy lodging either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Austin Midtown
0.5 km away
The Highlander Austin
The Highlander Austin
#123 of 197 in Austin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Austin
Crowne Plaza Austin
#29 of 197 in Austin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#158 of 197 in Austin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Austin Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Austin Central

Property: Best Western Plus Austin Central
Address: 919 E Koenig Ln, Austin, TX 78751-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,071 - ₹ 22,785
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Austin Central 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus Austin Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Austin Central Hotel Austin
Austin Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing