We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Ranked #50 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Mineral Wells
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had friends visiting us from Nevada who had never been to Texas. We took them on a short tour of central Texas and stayed at the Doubletree Austin-University Area. It was splendid. The beds were comfortable and the Crabtree & Evelyn amenities are the best. The hotel is close to the University and to downtown so it was both convenient and comfortable. We will definitely be going back.

The staff is excellent and could not have been more gracious. Thank you all for showing our friends wonderful Texas hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaMcDonell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was happy to read of your excellent experience at our hotel. Your positive comments will be
displayed for all team members to read. We look forward to your return to our hotel the next time you are in Austin.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    288
    172
    94
    43
See reviews for
209
155
57
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Great staff, location, and service. Every staff member engaged me in pleasant conversation. My room had a great view of The University of Texas which is across the street. Within walking distance are UFCU Disch-Falk Field, Erwin Center and DKR-Texas Memorial Stadium for college sports/concert fans. This is my preferred hotel when I'm in Austin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the kind comments regarding the hotel and the service provided. We look forward to your return.

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I had stayed at this hotel previously and had a good experience. However, this time we had a bad experience. We were spending one night at the hotel and meeting up with family members for the Lone Star Roundup. We checked in around 6:00pm and dropped off our bags in the room. We went out for evening and returned around 12:00pm. and were tired. We could not sleep for all the traffic noises on I-35. The noise is constant and never lets up! To top it off, we had no hot water in the morning for a shower. Needless to say my start for the day was not pleasant with no sleep and no hot water. We checked out by 8:00am and will not stay at this location again.

Room Tip: Ask desk clerck to make sure your room is away from the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunAndSun57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We’re very sorry for the noise issue you encountered during your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton™ Austin – University Area. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Your review will help us correct similar issues with noise and water temperature in the future. We hope that the next time you’re in Austin you’ll consider staying with us again.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Austin hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Chwcked in at 10pm for a 5-day Conf. Stayed here for convenience not charm but ended up in a dark room with loud I-35 traffic noise, dimly lit bathroom and no hot water (it was tepid at best). Complained in the morning and took my suitcase down to the front desk- was switched to a much better room by thw time i returned to the hotel later that day: better lit, no car noise, light-up vanity mirror in bathroom helped quite a bit, and (most impr) hot water galore. Don't expect much in terms of food (too $$ bkfst for mostly instant and packaged items), but ok. Hotel gym was small but 3 of 4 machines worked and they had free weights.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zdoctorsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. I was glad to hear that we responded appropriately and were able to turn your stay around. Your feedback is extremelly important to our success and can assure you that we review all feedback received to help us improve moving forward. Thank you for choosing our hotel while in Austin and we look forward to your return.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed here for three days earlier this month. We are Hilton Gold but we kept having to ask for our benefits (breakfast, internet and bottles of water). The Hotel staff were always quick with their service. On our last day we had no hot water and they refused to consider crediting us part of our last day's stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnk317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonRTPGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. As a Hilton HHonors Gold member your loyalty is extremelly important to our success. Your feedback will help us improve our customer experience moving forward. I can certainly understand your frustration and share your concern with regards to the hot water opportunity and will use your feedback to continue to develop and empower our team to ensure customer satisfaction. Thank you for choosing our hotel while in Austin and we look forward to your return.

In the Spirit to Serve,

Bryan Heintz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
1.3 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton - Austin
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin at The University/Capitol
1.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Austin Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sheraton Austin at the Capitol
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Downtown - University
1.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Austin Downtown - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Address: 1617 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 197 Hotels in Austin
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,651 - ₹ 18,639
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Austin - University Area provides a homelike warmth, less than a mile from downtown Austin. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Texas and the Frank Erwin Center. The most centrally located hotel in Austin, we're only four blocks from the Texas State Capitol and within easy reach of many Austin attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Doubletree Hotel Austin
Doubletree University Area

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing